The lack of thyroid hormones in the final weeks of pregnancy it can lead to an irreversible mental retardation in the baby, since these are essential for the central nervous system to develop properly. In addition, they are also important for the digestive system, the reproductive system or the heart, among other organs, to function correctly. In short, for the development of the fetus is on track it is necessary that pregnant women have normal values ​​of normal thyroid hormones (which means having levels of iodo correct).

And is that hypothyroidism is estimated to affect between one and three of every hundred children. This is one of the main reasons why the Commission of Perinatal Diagnosis of the Spanish Society of Clinical Biochemistry and Molecular Pathology (SEQC) is seeking to improve the early diagnosis of this pathology, so that congenital hypothyroidism is detected with greater fast even though the little ones do not have symptoms. Something that is possible thanks to the total implantation in all the Spanish territory of the Neonatal Screening.

A timely diagnosis of hypothyroidism may allow to prevent alterations of the thyroid gland in adulthood

The tests of thyroid function that are carried out in the pediatric consultations refine more and more the diagnoses, thus allowing to initiate more effective treatments. In addition to that the false negatives are now easier to detect - as in the case of the twins - since the measurement of TSH in the capillary blood of the newborn obtained in the heel test is repeated after two weeks.

The next objective of this Commission is to improve early detection in premature babies and to better understand how transient hypothyroidism works (temporary changes in the functioning of the thyroid). According to experts, the greatest challenge remains to decipher the genetic origin of this disease. A timely diagnosis of hypothyroidism may allow to prevent alterations of the thyroid gland in adulthood.

Source: Spanish Society of Clinical Biochemistry and Molecular Pathology (SEQC)

Pediatric Thyroid Disorders: Diagnosis, management and treatment (November 2019).

Le manque de hormones thyroïdiennes au cours des dernières semaines de grossesse, il peut en résulter un retard mental irréversible chez le bébé, car ces éléments sont essentiels au bon développement du système nerveux central. En outre, ils sont également importants pour le bon fonctionnement du système digestif, du système reproducteur ou du cœur, entre autres organes. En bref, pour que le développement du fœtus soit en bonne voie, il est nécessaire que les femmes enceintes aient des valeurs normales en hormones thyroïdiennes normales (ce qui signifie des niveaux de l'iode correct).

Et on estime que l’hypothyroïdie affecte entre un et trois enfants sur cent. C’est l’une des principales raisons pour lesquelles la Commission de diagnostic périnatal de la Société espagnole de biochimie clinique et de pathologie moléculaire (SEQC) cherche à améliorer le diagnostic précoce de cette pathologie, afin que l’hypothyroïdie congénitale soit détectée plus efficacement. rapide même si les petits n'ont pas de symptômes. Ce qui est possible grâce à l'implantation totale sur tout le territoire espagnol du dépistage néonatal.

Un diagnostic opportun d'hypothyroïdie peut permettre d'éviter des altérations de la glande thyroïde à l'âge adulte

Les tests de la fonction thyroïdienne réalisés lors des consultations pédiatriques affinent de plus en plus les diagnostics, permettant ainsi d'initier des traitements plus efficaces. En plus de cela, les faux négatifs sont maintenant plus faciles à détecter - comme dans le cas des jumeaux - puisque la mesure de la TSH dans le sang capillaire du nouveau-né obtenu lors du test du talon est répétée après deux semaines.

Le prochain objectif de cette commission est d’améliorer le dépistage précoce chez les prématurés et de mieux comprendre le fonctionnement de l’hypothyroïdie transitoire (modifications temporaires du fonctionnement de la thyroïde). Selon les experts, le plus grand défi reste de déchiffrer l’origine génétique de cette maladie. Un diagnostic opportun d'hypothyroïdie peut permettre d'éviter des altérations de la glande thyroïde à l'âge adulte.

Source: Société espagnole de biochimie clinique et de pathologie moléculaire (SEQC)

Coimbra, vitamina D e patologie autoimmuni (Septembre 2019).