Experts estimate that diabetes will affect 300 million people around the world in the year 2025, because it is a chronic disease whose incidence is increasing. In addition, it is expected that more and more patients will develop this pathology at an early age, during childhood or adolescence, which aggravates the long-term prognosis, since diabetes is a risk factor for cardiovascular diseases.

Another problem highlighted by experts is that there are many people who suffer from diabetes without knowing it. Therefore, they point out the need to use new markers to identify the presence of the disease as soon as possible. Generally, the diagnosis is obtained with the determination of the level of glucose in blood, but the main scientific societies also endorse the use of the determination of hemoglobin A1c (HbA1c), because they consider that this marker better detects the presence and severity of the disease.

The specialists point out the need to use new markers to identify the presence of the disease as soon as possible

Dr. Roser Casamitjana, member of the Spanish Society of Clinical Biochemistry and Molecular Pathology and the Service of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics of the Hospital Clínic of Barcelona, ​​explains that there are currently several tests that allow to specify what type of diabetes is treated - type 1, type 2, or monogenic-, and also diagnose the possible presence of an insulinoma (an endocrine tumor of the pancreas that causes hypoglycemia in those affected). This expert points out that it is essential to diagnose diabetes early to start as soon as possible a treatment that allows to control the disease effectively, avoiding or delaying the risks associated with this pathology.

Thanks to the advances that have taken place in Molecular Genetic, the genes involved in the development of diabetes have been identified, and the implication of the gastroitestinal hormones in the secretion of insulin is better known, which facilitates the detection of the disease and will contribute to the development of more specific drugs in the future. In the case of neonatal diabetesFor example, one can predict how the disease will evolve with a molecular study, which is indicated when it is considered to be a permanent diabetes. Dr. Casamitjana has also stressed that it is necessary to unify the diagnostic criteria of gestational diabetes to know its true prevalence and treat the condition properly, because it has very important consequences on the health of the pregnant and the fetus.

Source: Spanish Society of Clinical Biochemistry and Molecular Pathology (SEQC)

Health Predictions: the future of healthcare (ISCF - Ageing Society) (November 2019).

Les experts estiment que le diabète affectera 300 millions de personnes dans le monde en 2025, car il s’agit d’une maladie chronique dont l’incidence augmente. De plus, on s'attend à ce que de plus en plus de patients développent cette pathologie à un âge précoce, pendant l'enfance ou l'adolescence, ce qui aggrave le pronostic à long terme, le diabète étant un facteur de risque de maladies cardiovasculaires.

Un autre problème mis en évidence par les experts est le fait que de nombreuses personnes souffrent de diabète sans le savoir. Par conséquent, ils soulignent la nécessité d'utiliser de nouveaux marqueurs pour identifier la présence de la maladie dès que possible. Généralement, le diagnostic est obtenu avec la détermination du niveau de glucose dans le sang, mais les principales sociétés scientifiques souscrivent également à l’utilisation de la détermination de l’hémoglobine A1c (HbA1c), estimant que ce marqueur permet de mieux détecter la présence et la gravité de la maladie.

Les spécialistes soulignent la nécessité d'utiliser de nouveaux marqueurs pour identifier la présence de la maladie dès que possible

Le Dr Roser Casamitjana, membre de la Société espagnole de biochimie clinique et de pathologie moléculaire et du service de biochimie et de génétique moléculaire de l'hôpital clinique de Barcelone, explique qu'il existe actuellement plusieurs tests permettant de spécifier le type de diabète traité. de type 1, de type 2 ou monogénique - et diagnostiquent également la présence possible d’un insulinome (une tumeur endocrine du pancréas qui provoque une hypoglycémie chez les personnes touchées). Cet expert souligne qu’il est essentiel de diagnostiquer le diabète à un stade précoce pour pouvoir commencer dès que possible un traitement permettant de contrôler efficacement la maladie, en évitant ou en retardant les risques associés à cette pathologie.

Grâce aux avancées réalisées dans génétique moléculaire, les gènes impliqués dans le développement du diabète ont été identifiés et l'implication des hormones gastro-intestinales dans la sécrétion d'insuline est mieux connue, ce qui facilite la détection de la maladie et contribuera au développement de médicaments plus spécifiques avenir. Dans le cas de diabète néonatalPar exemple, on peut prédire comment la maladie évoluera avec une étude moléculaire, ce qui est indiqué quand elle est considérée comme un diabète permanent. Le Dr Casamitjana a également souligné la nécessité d'unifier les critères de diagnostic du diabète gestationnel pour en connaître la prévalence réelle et traiter correctement la maladie, car elle a des conséquences très importantes sur la santé du patient. enceinte et le fœtus.

Source: Société espagnole de biochimie clinique et de pathologie moléculaire (SEQC)

Séance du Conseil d'administration du 6 février 2019. (Septembre 2019).