Diabetes has entered for the first time the list of the ten leading causes of death in the world developed by the World Health Organization (WHO). The WHO has just updated this list, which includes other non-communicable diseases such as heart disease, stroke or COPD.

In the new list in which diabetes is included as a novelty, tuberculosis, an infectious disease that is still present worldwide, has disappeared, among other reasons because it has developed multiresistant strains to the drugs with which it is habitually fought, and that still causes the death of a million people a year.

The WHO has based on data from the year 2011, year in which around 55 million people died in the world, and in which the leading cause of death continued to be cardiovascular diseases, responsible for 17 million deaths (three of every ten deaths occurred as a result of this type of pathology).

Other diseases listed at the top of the WHO list are infections of the lower respiratory tract, COPD (chronic obstructive pulmonary disease), diarrheal pathologies, AIDS, and some types of cancer (trachea, bronchi, or lung). ).

Cardiovascular diseases, responsible for 17 million deaths worldwide in 2011, remain the leading cause of death

Traffic accidents - which cause the death of 1.3 million people a year worldwide - and premature births or low birth weight, are also found in the document prepared by this UN agency.

The causes of deaths, according to the WHO, differ greatly between countries. Thus, while in those with higher incomes 87% of deaths are due to non-communicable diseases, and seven out of ten deaths are more than 70 years old, in the case of poor countries infectious diseases, diarrheal diseases, malaria or Tuberculosis is responsible for one third of deaths, and almost four out of ten deaths are under 15 years old.

British Heart Foundation - Type II diabetes and heart disease (November 2019).

Le diabète est entré pour la première fois dans la liste des dix principales causes de décès dans le monde établie par l'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS). L'OMS vient de mettre à jour cette liste, qui inclut d'autres maladies non transmissibles telles que les maladies cardiaques, les accidents vasculaires cérébraux ou la MPOC.

Dans la nouvelle liste dans laquelle le diabète est une nouveauté, la tuberculose, une maladie infectieuse encore présente dans le monde entier, a disparu, entre autres parce qu'elle a développé des souches multirésistantes aux médicaments avec lesquels elle est habituellement combattue, et cela cause encore la mort d'un million de personnes par an.

L’OMS a basé sur des données de l’année 2011, année au cours de laquelle environ 55 millions de personnes sont décédées dans le monde, et dans laquelle les principales causes de décès sont restées des maladies cardiovasculaires, responsables de 17 millions de décès (trois sur quatre). tous les dix décès sont dus à ce type de pathologie).

Les autres maladies figurant en haut de la liste de l'OMS sont les infections des voies respiratoires inférieures, la MPOC (maladie pulmonaire obstructive chronique), les maladies diarrhéiques, le SIDA et certains types de cancer (trachée, bronches ou poumon). ).

Les maladies cardiovasculaires, responsables de 17 millions de décès dans le monde en 2011, restent la principale cause de décès

Les accidents de la route - qui causent la mort de 1,3 million de personnes chaque année dans le monde - et les naissances prématurées ou l’insuffisance pondérale à la naissance figurent également dans le document préparé par cette agence de l’ONU.

Selon l'OMS, les causes de décès diffèrent considérablement d'un pays à l'autre. Ainsi, alors que chez les personnes à revenu élevé, 87% des décès sont dus à des maladies non transmissibles et que sept décès sur dix ont plus de 70 ans, dans les pays pauvres, les maladies infectieuses, les maladies diarrhéiques, le paludisme La tuberculose est responsable d'un tiers des décès et près de quatre décès sur dix ont moins de 15 ans.

le diabète peut se guérir (Août 2019).