A study by the Harvard School of Public Health in Boston (USA) that has published 'Archives of Internal Medicine', shows that depression could be both a result and a risk factor for diabetes. The data obtained also reinforce the idea that diabetes is associated with stress.

The scientists analyzed the possible association between both pathologies in a sample formed by more than 65,000 women, aged between 50 and 75 years, from 1996 to 2006. At the beginning of the study, the volunteers answered a questionnaire in which they detailed their medical history and, later, they filled out other questionnaires every two years to record their evolution.

During the ten years of follow-up, 2,844 women were diagnosed with type 2 diabetes, while 7,415 suffered from depression. Women with depression were approximately 17% more likely to develop diabetes, even taking into account other risk factors such as physical activity and body mass index. In addition, it was observed that those taking antidepressants had a 25% higher risk of suffering from diabetes than those who were not depressed.

The researchers note that patients with diabetes were 29% more likely to suffer from depression, and that in those who took insulin the risk increased up to 53%, compared to those without diabetes.

The findings also confirm the hypothesis that diabetes is related to stress. The scientists point out that the diagnosis of diabetes could cause depressive symptoms generated by the biochemical alterations caused by diabetes or its treatment, or due to stress and tension suffered by people who must live with diabetes and the consequences derived from this disease.

Source: Europa Press

Why are Diabetes and Depression Linked? | Sherita Golden, M.D., M.H.S. (November 2019).

Une étude de la Harvard School of Public Health de Boston (États-Unis), qui a publié «Archives of Internal Medicine», montre que la dépression pourrait être à la fois un résultat et un facteur de risque de diabète. Les données obtenues renforcent également l’idée que le diabète est associé au stress.

Les scientifiques ont analysé le lien possible entre les deux pathologies dans un échantillon de 1996 à 2006 composé de plus de 65 000 femmes âgées de 50 à 75 ans. Au début de l'étude, les volontaires ont répondu à un questionnaire dans lequel elles détaillaient leurs antécédents médicaux et, plus tard, ils ont rempli d'autres questionnaires tous les deux ans pour enregistrer leur évolution.

Au cours des dix années de suivi, 2844 femmes ont reçu un diagnostic de diabète de type 2, tandis que 7 415 étaient atteintes de dépression. Les femmes dépressives étaient environ 17% plus susceptibles de développer un diabète, même en tenant compte d'autres facteurs de risque tels que l'activité physique et l'indice de masse corporelle. En outre, il a été observé que les personnes sous antidépresseurs avaient 25% plus de risque de souffrir de diabète que celles qui n'étaient pas dépressives.

Les chercheurs ont noté que les patients diabétiques étaient 29% plus susceptibles de souffrir de dépression et que chez ceux qui prenaient de l'insuline, le risque augmentait jusqu'à 53%, par rapport à ceux sans diabète.

Les résultats confirment également l'hypothèse selon laquelle le diabète est lié au stress. Les scientifiques soulignent que le diagnostic de diabète pourrait causer des symptômes dépressifs générés par les altérations biochimiques causées par le diabète ou par son traitement, ou par le stress et la tension subis par les personnes qui doivent vivre avec le diabète et les conséquences de cette maladie.

Source: Europa Press

Delirium - causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment & pathology (Août 2019).