Diabetes affects 366 million people worldwide and kills one patient every seven seconds, according to the latest data on this disease presented at the last Congress of the European Association for the Study of Diabetes (EASD, by its initials in English), held in Lisbon (Portugal).

The majority of those affected by this disease suffer the so-called type 2 diabetes, which is related to an unbalanced diet, obesity and sedentary life. It is a problem that is spreading globally as the population of developed countries adopts more Western lifestyles.

Diabetics have inadequate blood sugar control, which can lead to serious health problems, such as blindness, heart disease, stroke, and damage to the kidneys or nerves. Deaths from this disease worldwide are around 4.6 million per year.

The latest figures on diabetes in the world speak of diabetes as a "great global challenge" and underscore the need for governments to take action urgently.

The high-level meeting that the United Nations will hold between September 19 and 20 in New York - the second that will focus on a disease after the meeting to discuss AIDS that was held in 2001 - will analyze what could be done to counteract the growing problem that the non-communicable diseases, among which diabetes is included.

Control risk factors

The annual expenses in medical care for patients with diabetes are around 465,000 million dollars (about 339,861 million euros)

The NCD Alliance, which brings together 2,000 health organizations around the world, defends that spending $ 9,000 million (about 6,579 million euros) a year to control tobacco, advertising on food and basic treatments, could prevent tens of millions of premature deaths this decade.

However, governments with liquidity problems have squandered the possibility of raising funds to fight this problem, even though the cost of not acting could be even higher, since the annual expenses in medical care for patients with diabetes are around 465,000 million dollars (about 339,861 million euros).

The new figures on the prevalence and cost of diabetes will be published in the fifth edition of the Atlas of Diabetes, the guide on this disease of the International Diabetes Federation (IDF, for its acronym in English).

The previous edition, of October 2009, put the number of patients with diabetes at 285 million for 2010. However, a study published in 'Lancet' last June has placed this figure well above the 347 million.

According to the president of the IDF, Jean Claude Mbanya, "the data of the last Atlas of IDF are proof that diabetes is a great global challenge that can not be ignored". "In 2011, a person dies of diabetes every seven seconds," he says.

Mbanya and EASD Vice President Andrew Boulto have called for more research to strengthen health systems around the world to manage the diabetes problem.

The global sales of drugs against diabetes totaled 35,000 million dollars (about 25,581 million euros) last year and could reach 48,000 million dollars (about 35,084 million euros) for 2015, according to the study company IMS Health, due to the increase in prevalence and treatments, especially in countries such as China, India, Mexico and Brazil.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

The Leading Cause of Death in 2019 | Diabetes Series| Diabetes vs The World #1 (November 2019).

Le diabète touche 366 millions de personnes dans le monde et tue un patient toutes les sept secondes, selon les dernières données sur cette maladie présentées lors du dernier congrès de l'Association européenne pour l'étude du diabète (EASD), par Anglais), tenue à Lisbonne (Portugal).

La majorité des personnes touchées par cette maladie souffrent de la soi-disant diabète de type 2, qui est liée à une alimentation déséquilibrée, à l'obésité et à la vie sédentaire. C'est un problème qui se généralise à mesure que la population des pays développés adopte des modes de vie plus occidentaux.

Les diabétiques ont un contrôle insuffisant de la glycémie, ce qui peut entraîner de graves problèmes de santé, tels que la cécité, les maladies cardiaques, les accidents vasculaires cérébraux et des lésions aux reins ou aux nerfs. Le nombre de décès dus à cette maladie dans le monde entier est d'environ 4,6 millions par an.

Les derniers chiffres sur le diabète dans le monde parlent du diabète comme d’un "grand défi mondial" et soulignent la nécessité pour les gouvernements de prendre des mesures urgentes.

La réunion de haut niveau que les Nations Unies organiseront du 19 au 20 septembre à New York - la deuxième qui se concentrera sur une maladie après la réunion sur le sida qui s'est tenue en 2001 - analysera ce qui pourrait être fait pour contrer la problème croissant que le maladies non transmissibles, parmi lesquels le diabète est inclus.

Contrôle des facteurs de risque

Les dépenses annuelles en soins médicaux pour les patients diabétiques s'élèvent à environ 465 000 millions de dollars (environ 339 861 millions d'euros).

Le Alliance NCD, qui rassemble 2 000 organisations de santé du monde entier, affirme que dépenser 9 000 millions de dollars par an (environ 6 579 millions d'euros) par an pour lutter contre le tabac, la publicité sur les aliments et les traitements de base pourrait éviter des dizaines de décès prématurés cette décennie.

Cependant, les gouvernements qui ont des problèmes de liquidités ont perdu la possibilité de collecter des fonds pour lutter contre ce problème, même si le coût de l'inaction peut être encore plus élevé, car les dépenses annuelles en soins médicaux pour les patients diabétiques sont proches. 465 milliards de dollars (environ 339,861 millions d’euros).

Les nouveaux chiffres sur la prévalence et le coût du diabète seront publiés dans la cinquième édition du Atlas du diabète, le guide sur cette maladie de la Fédération internationale du diabète (IDF, pour son acronyme en anglais).

La précédente édition, d'octobre 2009, fixait le nombre de patients diabétiques à 285 millions pour 2010. Toutefois, une étude publiée dans «Lancet» en juin dernier a placé ce chiffre bien au-dessus des 347 millions.

Selon le président de l’armée israélienne, Jean Claude Mbanya, "les données du dernier atlas de l’armée israélienne sont la preuve que le diabète est un grand défi mondial qui ne peut être ignoré". "En 2011, une personne meurt du diabète toutes les sept secondes", dit-il.

Mbanya et le vice-président de l'EASD, Andrew Boulto, ont appelé à davantage de recherches pour renforcer les systèmes de santé dans le monde entier afin de gérer le problème du diabète.

Les ventes mondiales de médicaments contre le diabète ont totalisé 35 000 millions de dollars (environ 25 581 millions d'euros) l'année dernière et pourraient atteindre 48 000 millions de dollars (environ 35 084 millions d'euros) en 2015, selon le cabinet d'études IMS Health, en raison de l’augmentation de la prévalence et des traitements, en particulier dans des pays tels que la Chine, l’Inde, le Mexique et le Brésil.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

11 Signes de Problèmes de Santé Cachés Sur Ton Visage (Août 2019).