A group of researchers belonging to the Department of Molecular Genetics of Cruces Hospital (Bilbao) have discovered that the duplication of the RPS6KA3 gene, included in the X chromosome, causes a mild intellectual disability to the children of carrier women who do not have symptoms.

The research, published this Wednesday in the magazine Pediatricsis important because although there are numerous studies on the genetic factors involved in severe intellectual disability, the genetic causes of mild intellectual disability are barely known, as explained by the research coordinator, Dr. Isabel Tejada, who adds that the results of the study will serve to improve the quality of life of the patients, to whom it will be possible to administer a more appropriate treatment, in addition to preventing other cases in the same family and thus saving healthcare expenses.

The results will serve to improve the quality of life of the patients, to whom a more appropriate treatment can be administered, in addition to preventing other cases in the same family and saving healthcare expenses.

The scientists investigated the case of a child who suffered a psychomotor delay since he was one year old, who lacked facial dysmorphism or other associated anomalies, and who was referred to the genetics laboratory for study. Two uncles of the child, brothers of their mother, presented psychomotor retardation in their childhood and did not finish primary school, although they live independently.

The patient underwent "a karyotype or chromosomal study and a molecular study of the X fragile syndrome", but as these tests did not register a positive, and due to the existence of family background, the experts decided to continue with the investigation.

Development of the study

They used a technique called MLPA (Multiplex ligation-dependent probe amplification) that contains some portions of the genome that needed to be analyzed, taking into account the three known family patients that were associated through the maternal route. The geneticist notes that they then observed a duplication of a very small region, not described, and that it contained seven genes of which only one, RPS6KA3, is related to mental retardation.

However, the alterations of this gene cause another type of syndrome that they did not find in the studied patient, reason why the researchers point out that it is a new entity and that, as in the case of other syndromes, the fact that One or several duplicated genes appear as a consequence of a pathological effect opposite or different from point mutations, and that is the over-expression of one or several proteins, and not their lack, which causes the pathology.

To conclude, the scientists checked the hypotheses obtained in the research with other complementary tests.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

How much do you know about intellectual disabilities? | Matthew Williams | TEDxVancouver (November 2019).

Un groupe de chercheurs de l’hôpital du département de génétique moléculaire de Cruces (Bilbao) a découvert que la duplication des Gène RPS6KA3, inclus dans le Chromosome X, provoque une légère déficience intellectuelle chez les enfants de femmes porteuses qui ne présentent pas de symptômes.

La recherche, publiée ce mercredi dans le magazine Pédiatrieest important car, malgré les nombreuses études sur les facteurs génétiques impliqués dans une déficience intellectuelle grave, les causes génétiques d'une déficience intellectuelle légère sont à peine connues, comme l'explique la coordinatrice de la recherche, la Dre Isabel Tejada, qui ajoute que les résultats du L’étude servira à améliorer la qualité de vie des patients, à qui il sera possible d’administrer un traitement plus approprié, en plus de prévenir d’autres cas dans la même famille et d’économiser ainsi les dépenses de santé.

Les résultats serviront à améliorer la qualité de vie des patients, à qui un traitement plus approprié peut être administré, en plus de prévenir d'autres cas dans la même famille et de réduire les dépenses de soins de santé.

Les scientifiques ont enquêté sur le cas d'un enfant souffrant d'un retard psychomoteur depuis l'âge de un an, dépourvu de dysmorphie faciale ou d'autres anomalies associées, et qui a été référé au laboratoire de génétique pour étude. Deux oncles de l'enfant, frères de leur mère, ont présenté un retard psychomoteur dans leur enfance et n'ont pas terminé leurs études primaires bien qu'ils vivent de manière autonome.

Le patient a subi "une étude caryotype ou chromosomique et une étude moléculaire de la Syndrome X-fragile", mais comme ces tests n’ont pas été positifs, et en raison de l’existence de antécédents familiaux, les experts ont décidé de poursuivre l’enquête.

Développement de l'étude

Ils ont utilisé une technique appelée MLPA (Amplification de sonde dépendante de la ligature multiplexe) contenant certaines parties du génome à analyser, en tenant compte des trois patientes connues de la famille associées par voie maternelle. Le généticien note qu'il a ensuite observé une duplication d'une très petite région, non décrite, contenant sept gènes dont un seul, RPS6KA3, est lié à un retard mental.

Cependant, les altérations de ce gène provoquent un autre type de syndrome qu’ils n’ont pas trouvé chez le patient étudié, raison pour laquelle les chercheurs soulignent qu’il s’agit d’une entité nouvelle et que, comme dans le cas des autres syndromes, le fait que Un ou plusieurs gènes dupliqués apparaissent à la suite d'un effet pathologique opposé ou différent des mutations ponctuelles. Il s’agit de la surexpression d’une ou de plusieurs protéines et non de leur absence, ce qui provoque la pathologie.

Pour conclure, les scientifiques ont vérifié les hypothèses obtenues dans la recherche avec d'autres tests complémentaires.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

Die 5 Biologischen Naturgesetze - Die Dokumentation (Août 2019).