Dengue, an infectious disease transmitted by the bite of a mosquito, which is endemic in more than 100 countries spread across Africa, the Americas, Southeast Asia, the Eastern Mediterranean and the Western Pacific, could affect more than half of the world's population, according to estimates of the World Health Organization. Health (WHO), due to the increase that has experienced its incidence during the last decades, and to the new outbreaks in countries that were previously free of the disease.

Thus, in 2010 the local transmission of dengue was reported in France and Croatia, in 2012 an outbreak of the disease was detected in the islands of Madeira (Portugal), and imported cases were reported in ten other European countries. And in 2013 cases have already occurred in Florida (USA) and in China, in the province of Yunnan. In Singapore, moreover, they have seen an increase in dengue cases, and there have been new outbreaks in Laos.

One of the main routes of introduction of dengue in North America and Europe, has been the commercialization of used tires and other handicraft products from Asia that contain larvae of the transmitting mosquito

In North America and Europe, one of the main routes of introduction of the mosquito that transmits the disease - in this case the Aedes albopictus-, has been the commercialization of used tires and other handicraft products from Asia that contain larvae of the transmitting insect.

WHO warns that every year there are between 50 and 100 million cases of dengue in the world, and that severe forms of this disease are currently the leading cause of death in children in some Asian and Latin American countries.

This organization also recalls that there is no vaccine or treatment for dengue that is effective when it comes to fighting the virus, and that the therapies available only serve to alleviate the symptoms. Therefore, the only way to stop the transmission of the disease is to establish preventive measures aimed at preventing the mosquito from reproducing and, in addition, avoid its sting using repellents and mosquito nets.

What Is The Most Dangerous Drug In The World? ft. In A Nutshell (Kurzgesagt) (November 2019).

La dengue, une maladie infectieuse transmise par la piqûre d'un moustique, qui est endémique dans plus de 100 pays répartis en Afrique, dans les Amériques, en Asie du Sud-Est, en Méditerranée orientale et dans le Pacifique occidental, pourrait toucher plus de la moitié de la population mondiale, selon les estimations de l'Organisation mondiale de la santé. Santé (OMS), en raison de l’augmentation de son incidence au cours des dernières décennies et des nouveaux foyers dans des pays auparavant indemnes de la maladie.

Ainsi, en 2010, la transmission locale de la dengue a été signalée en France et en Croatie. En 2012, un foyer de la maladie a été détecté dans les îles de Madère (Portugal) et des cas importés ont été signalés dans dix autres pays européens. Et en 2013, des cas se sont déjà produits en Floride (États-Unis) et en Chine, dans la province du Yunnan. De plus, à Singapour, le nombre de cas de dengue a augmenté et de nouveaux foyers se sont déclarés au Laos.

L’une des principales voies d’introduction de la dengue en Amérique du Nord et en Europe a été la commercialisation de pneus usés et d’autres produits artisanaux originaires d’Asie contenant des larves de moustique transmetteur.

En Amérique du Nord et en Europe, l’une des principales voies d’introduction du moustique transmettant la maladie - en l’occurrence le Aedes albopictus-, a été la commercialisation de pneus usés et d’autres produits d’artisanat d’Asie contenant des larves d’insecte transmetteur.

L'OMS avertit qu'il existe chaque année entre 50 et 100 millions de cas de dengue dans le monde et que les formes graves de cette maladie sont actuellement la principale cause de décès chez les enfants dans certains pays d'Asie et d'Amérique latine.

Cet organisme rappelle également qu’il n’existe aucun vaccin ou traitement contre la dengue qui soit efficace pour lutter contre le virus et que les traitements disponibles ne servent qu’à atténuer les symptômes. Par conséquent, le seul moyen d'arrêter la transmission de la maladie est de mettre en place des mesures préventives visant à empêcher le moustique de se reproduire et, en outre, d'éviter sa piqûre avec des insectifuges et des moustiquaires.

[BioTCom] Focus sur Zika (Août 2019).