The cure rates of acute myeloblastic leukemia (AML) have undergone a marked improvement in recent years thanks to personalized and adapted treatment. "Acute myeloid leukemia, which was a disease with very low cure rates two or three decades ago, at present, and especially in younger patients, we are reaching figures close to 40-50%, but there is even a subtype of LAM, such as acute promyelocytic leukemia, for which cure rates can reach up to 80% of patients, "explained Dr. José Francisco Tomás, head of the Department of Hematology at MD Anderson Cancer Center Madrid, in the framework of a meeting on Review of Acute Myeloblastic Leukemia, which brought together the best Spanish experts and specialists from the MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston.

"The cure rates of acute myeloblastic leukemia are reaching figures close to 40-50%"

Acute myeloblastic leukemia (AML) is the most common acute form of leukemia in adults, with more than half of the cases appearing after 60 years of age. This disease consists of an abnormal growth in the hematopoietic cells of the bone marrow (responsible for producing blood), which makes them proliferate and stop producing red blood cells, leukocytes and platelets, key elements for the proper functioning of the organism, which causes significant anemia, leukopenia with infection and thrombocytopenia with bleeding in the patient.

"In recent years, the treatment of acute myeloid leukemia is being conducted in a more targeted, personalized and adapted to each case, since, thanks to the latest advances, today we can define much better this disease from the point of genetic and molecular view, "Dr. Tomás has indicated.

However, the complexity of the disease itself, the need for a complete and detailed diagnosis, as well as the particularity of the clinical treatments make acute myeloblastic leukemia a pathology that, according to all participants in the meeting, should be treated only in specialized centers, since being a not very common disease, the experience of health professionals is especially relevant.

Among the therapeutic advances achieved, experts gathered in Madrid highlighted the availability of new drugs, both those aimed at some of the new molecular markers like the use of chemotherapy, which is still the basis of treatment. The participants also agreed that the role of the allogeneic bone marrow transplant (one in which a compatible donor is needed) continues to be very relevant, since it is the treatment of choice in more than a third of patients.

Those attending the meeting also reviewed the techniques of transplantation and noted "the improvement in clinical outcomes that has been experienced in the last decade, mainly due to the experience of teams of specialists and better knowledge and treatment of complications of patients ", According to the specialist of the MD Anderson Cancer Center Madrid.

Source: MD Anderson Center Madrid

Linda Hall Leukemia Survivor Story (November 2019).

Les taux de guérison de la leucémie myéloblastique aiguë (LMA) ont connu une nette amélioration ces dernières années grâce à un traitement personnalisé et adapté. "La leucémie myéloïde aiguë, maladie avec un très faible taux de guérison il y a deux ou trois décennies, actuellement, et particulièrement chez les patients plus jeunes, nous atteignons des chiffres proches de 40-50%, mais il existe même un sous-type MAMA, comme la leucémie promyélocytaire aiguë, pour laquelle le taux de guérison peut atteindre 80% des patients ", a expliqué le Dr José Francisco Tomás, chef du département d'hématologie du MD Anderson Cancer Center Madrid, en le cadre d'une réunion sur l'examen de la leucémie myéloblastique aiguë, qui a réuni les meilleurs experts et spécialistes espagnols du MD Anderson Cancer Center à Houston.

"Les taux de guérison de la leucémie myéloblastique aiguë atteignent des valeurs proches de 40-50%"

La leucémie myéloblastique aiguë (LMA) est la forme de leucémie aiguë la plus répandue chez l'adulte, plus de la moitié des cas apparaissant après l'âge de 60 ans. Cette maladie consiste en une croissance anormale de la cellules hématopoïétiques de la moelle osseuse (responsable de la production de sang), ce qui les fait proliférer et cesse de produire des globules rouges, des leucocytes et des plaquettes, éléments clés du bon fonctionnement de l'organisme, provoquant une anémie importante, une leucopénie infectieuse et une thrombocytopénie hémorragique patient

"Ces dernières années, le traitement de la leucémie myéloïde aiguë est mené de manière plus ciblée, personnalisée et adaptée à chaque cas, car, grâce aux dernières avancées, nous pouvons aujourd'hui mieux définir cette maladie génétique et moléculaire ", a indiqué le Dr Tomás.

Cependant, la complexité de la maladie elle-même, la nécessité d'un diagnostic complet et détaillé, ainsi que la particularité des traitements cliniques font de la leucémie myéloblastique aiguë une pathologie qui, selon tous les participants à la réunion, devrait être traitée uniquement dans centres spécialisés, l’expérience des professionnels de la santé étant particulièrement pertinente, il s’agit d’une maladie peu courante.

Parmi les avancées thérapeutiques réalisées, les experts réunis à Madrid ont souligné la disponibilité de nouveaux médicaments, aussi bien ceux destinés à certains des nouveaux médicaments. marqueurs moléculaires comme l'utilisation de la chimiothérapie, qui est toujours la base du traitement. Les participants ont également convenu que le rôle du greffe de moelle osseuse allogénique (un donneur compatible est nécessaire) continue d’être très utile, car il s’agit du traitement de choix chez plus d’un tiers des patients.

Les participants à la réunion ont également examiné les techniques de transplantation et noté "l'amélioration des résultats cliniques observée au cours de la dernière décennie, principalement grâce à l'expérience d'équipes de spécialistes et à une meilleure connaissance et au meilleur traitement des complications des patients ", Selon le spécialiste du MD Anderson Cancer Center Madrid.

Source: MD Anderson Center Madrid

Les Ernest / Anne Vincent-Salomon : Que sont les cancers du sein ? (Août 2019).