The Institute of Biomechanics of Valencia (IBV) launches a European project, 'ShopInstantShoe', Based on intelligent materials with shape memory to improve comfort and avoid the most common pathologies of the foot, such as bunions. In short, a custom shoe for every woman.

The initiative financed by the European Community through the Seventh Framework Program, aims to create high-end women's shoes that are novel, ergonomic and personalized. It also wants to prevent podiatric diseases that today pose a social problem, mainly affecting women.

"The bunion is the most common foot deformation and affects one in five women in adulthood"

From the IBV point out that the trends that mark the aesthetics and fashion in women's footwear "require a more precise adjustment to ensure the comfort and functionality of the product, but differences in the morphometry of the human foot make it very difficult to provide an adequate adjustment to each user individually and make the footwear uncomfortable and unhealthy ".

Therefore, they claim to the European footwear industry that they must continue to exploit new technologies and develop new concepts so that competitiveness continues to exist.

Project "ShopInstantShoe"

It lasts two years. It is based on creating a new leather material using as a base compounds that include alloys with shape memory. In this way, they want to be able to customize the footwear to the customer in the store.

Thus, basic measurements of the feet will be taken and in the shop the shape of the footwear will be shaped by modifying this intelligent textile located in the upper part.

With the help of a new last, it will adapt to the geometry of each woman's feet.

Six other partners participate in the project, together with the IBV, such as the Calana company from Alicante, coordinator of the project, the Valencian company Industrias del Curtido S.A. (Incusa), the French companies Texinov and Nimesis, the English company Surfgen and The UK Materials Technology Research Institute (Matri).

The Institute of Biomechanics of Valencia will be responsible for the technical coordination of the project and, among other tasks, will conduct a study to determine "which are the areas of the foot most susceptible to suffer overpressures and, therefore, the areas of the footwear cut in which we must pay more attention during the investigation to meet the objectives of the project. "

Podiatric diseases

In particular the 'hallux valgus', commonly known as bunion is the most common foot deformation and affects one in five women in adulthood. It is a deformity of the big toe or first finger that produces a lateral prominence of the bone.

Among the causes that determine its appearance, the hereditary factors are the most influential, although they can also appear due to rheumatism or other foot diseases (flat feet, cavities).

Women are more prone to bunions than men. This is explained because high heels (from 4 cm) can aggravate the bunion, as well as shoes that are too narrow in the forefoot (back of the shoe).

This pathology, along with others such as hammer toes, claw toes, metatarsalgias and ingrown toenails originate in the forefoot and are mainly caused by the prolonged use of inadequate footwear, due to the lack of correspondence between the morphometry of the foot and the footwear ".

Battling Bunions (November 2019).

L’Institut de biomécanique de Valence (IBV) lance un projet européen intitulé 'ShopInstantShoe'À base de matériaux intelligents avec mémoire de forme pour améliorer le confort et éviter les pathologies les plus courantes du pied, telles que les oignons. En bref, une chaussure sur mesure pour chaque femme.

L'initiative financée par la Communauté européenne par le biais du septième programme-cadre vise à créer des chaussures haut de gamme pour femmes, à la fois novatrices, ergonomiques et personnalisées. Elle souhaite également prévenir les maladies podiatriques qui posent aujourd'hui un problème social, touchant principalement les femmes.

"L'oignon est la déformation du pied la plus répandue et affecte une femme sur cinq à l'âge adulte"

D'après IBV, les tendances qui caractérisent l'esthétique et la mode des chaussures pour femmes "nécessitent un ajustement plus précis pour assurer le confort et la fonctionnalité du produit, mais les différences de morphométrie du pied humain rendent très difficile la fourniture de un ajustement approprié à chaque utilisateur individuellement et rendre la chaussure inconfortable et malsain ".

Par conséquent, ils prétendent au secteur européen de la chaussure qu'ils doivent continuer à exploiter les nouvelles technologies et à développer de nouveaux concepts pour que la compétitivité continue d'exister.

Projet "ShopInstantShoe"

Cela dure deux ans. Il est basé sur la création d'un nouveau matériau en cuir utilisant comme base des alliages à mémoire de forme. De cette façon, ils veulent pouvoir personnaliser les chaussures pour le client dans le magasin.

Ainsi, des mesures de base des pieds seront prises et dans le magasin, la forme de la chaussure sera façonnée en modifiant ce textile intelligent situé dans la partie supérieure.

Avec l'aide d'un nouveau, il s'adaptera à la géométrie des pieds de chaque femme.

Six autres partenaires participent au projet, aux côtés de l'IBV, tels que la société Calana d'Alicante, coordinatrice du projet, la société valencienne Industrias del Curtido S.A. (Incusa), les sociétés françaises Texinov et Nimesis, la société anglaise Surfgen et l’Institut britannique de recherche sur les technologies des matériaux (Matri).

L’Institut de biomécanique de Valence sera chargé de la coordination technique du projet et mènera, entre autres, une étude visant à déterminer "quelles sont les zones du pied les plus susceptibles de subir des surpressions et, par conséquent, les zones de la chaussure coupée dans lequel nous devons accorder plus d'attention au cours de l'enquête pour atteindre les objectifs du projet ".

Maladies podiatriques

En particulier, l'hallux valgus, couramment appelé oignon, est la déformation du pied la plus répandue et touche une femme sur cinq à l'âge adulte. C'est une déformation du gros orteil ou du premier doigt qui produit une proéminence latérale de l'os.

Parmi les causes qui déterminent son apparence, les facteurs héréditaires sont les plus influents, bien qu'ils puissent également apparaître en raison de rhumatismes ou d'autres maladies du pied (pieds plats, cavités).

Les femmes sont plus sujettes aux oignons que les hommes. Cela s'explique par le fait que les talons hauts (à partir de 4 cm) peuvent aggraver l'oignon, ainsi que les chaussures trop étroites à l'avant-pied (à l'arrière de la chaussure).

Cette pathologie, ainsi que d'autres telles que les orteils en marteau, les orteils en griffe, les métatarsalgies et les ongles incarnés prend naissance dans l'avant-pied et est principalement causée par l'utilisation prolongée de chaussures inadéquates, en raison du manque de correspondance entre la morphométrie du pied et de la chaussure ".

10 CHOSES DONT VOUS IGNOREZ TOTALEMENT L’UTILITÉ (Août 2019).