What is a sneeze

A sneeze it is a sudden, involuntary and irrepressible expulsion of air, through the nose and mouth, whose cause is the irritation of the nasal mucosa, causing a strong inspiration of air that will pass to the lungs and from which it will be excreted to the outside .

When the air is released through the mouth, it does so in a violent and noisy way at a speed of up to 160 Km / hour.

Actually, sneezing is a Defense mechanism of the respiratory system to be able to eliminate any irritating substance such as dust, pollen, etc.

In the act of sneezing are involved a high variety of muscles that work together and in the right order, such as:

  • Abdominal muscles.
  • Muscles of the chest (the diaphragm).
  • Muscles that control the vocal cords.
  • Muscles of the back of the throat.
  • Muscles of the eyelids (it is very difficult to sneeze with the eyes open).

Why do we say Jesus when we sneeze?

When we sneeze, we have the habit of saying words or phrases that we do not know why, but even so, we keep mentioning them. The reasons must be sought a long time ago, in different civilizations where, in each of them, superstitions existed.

These expressions after each sneeze date back to Roman times: Roman Catholics thought that when a healthy person emitted a sneeze, it was a sign that the body was trying to expel evil spirits from future diseases, so immediately after sneezing , they said all kinds of phrases that invoked happiness, such as "congratulations", "congratulations" ...

But this custom was lost from the year 590, during the reign of Pope Gregory I (540-604). In this period of time plague appeared in Europe, where the sick sneezed quite often. To combat the disease, the Pope ordered to pray constantly Christian prayers invoking Jesus Christ or the virgin, so whenever someone heard the sound of a sneeze should be immediately blessed to prevent the development of the plague. This is how the custom begins that "Jesus" or "health" is still being said when you hear a sneeze. Something that also happens in other languages, such as "bless you" or "God bless you", in English.

A story relates that the Athenian general Xenophon, in the year 400 a. C., intoned a tragic speech inciting his soldiers to accompany him to freedom or death against the Persians. After speaking for an hour, one of his soldiers sneezed, understood as a favorable signal from the gods, thus making Xenophon general, following all his orders.

Between the Egyptians and the Greeks a sneeze was an omen. When it was produced in the afternoon, it was good, whereas if it was sneezed, getting out of bed or table could have negative consequences. If a newborn did it, he considered himself happy.

In Japan, the fact of sneezing twice in a row is a sign that someone is talking about you.

Facts About Sneezing You Probably Did Not Know (November 2019).

Qu'est-ce qu'un éternuement

Un éternuer c'est une expulsion d'air soudaine, involontaire et irrépressible, par le nez et la bouche, qui a pour cause l'irritation de la muqueuse nasale, provoquant une forte inspiration d'air qui passera dans les poumons et d'où il sera excrété vers l'extérieur .

Lorsque l'air est libéré par la bouche, il le fait de manière violente et bruyante à une vitesse pouvant atteindre 160 km / heure.

En fait, éternuer est un mécanisme de défense de l'appareil respiratoire pour pouvoir éliminer toute substance irritante telle que poussière, pollen, etc.

L'éternuement implique une grande variété de muscles qui travaillent ensemble et dans le bon ordre, tels que:

  • Muscles abdominaux.
  • Muscles de la poitrine (le diaphragme).
  • Muscles qui contrôlent les cordes vocales.
  • Muscles du fond de la gorge.
  • Muscles des paupières (il est très difficile d'éternuer les yeux ouverts).

Pourquoi dit-on Jésus quand on éternue?

Lorsque nous éternuons, nous avons l'habitude de dire des mots ou des phrases dont nous ne savons pas pourquoi, mais malgré cela, nous continuons à les mentionner. Les raisons doivent être recherchées il y a longtemps, dans différentes civilisations où, dans chacune d'elles, il existait des superstitions.

Ces expressions après chaque éternuement remontent à l'époque romaine: les catholiques pensaient que lorsqu'une personne en bonne santé émettait un éternuement, c'était un signe que le corps essayait d'expulser les mauvais esprits des maladies futures, donc immédiatement après éternuer , ils ont dit toutes sortes de phrases qui invoquaient le bonheur, telles que "félicitations", "félicitations" ...

Mais cette coutume a été perdue à partir de l'année 590, sous le règne du pape Grégoire Ier (540-604). A cette époque, la peste est apparue en Europe, où les malades éternuent assez souvent. Pour lutter contre la maladie, le pape a ordonné de prier constamment des prières chrétiennes invoquant Jésus-Christ ou la vierge, ainsi chaque fois que quelqu'un entendait le son d'un éternuement, il devrait être immédiatement béni pour empêcher le développement de la peste. C’est ainsi que commence la coutume selon laquelle on entend toujours "Jésus" ou "la santé" lorsque vous entendez un éternuement. Quelque chose qui se passe également dans d'autres langues, telles que "bless you" ou "que Dieu vous bénisse", en anglais.

Une histoire raconte que le général athénien Xénophon, en l'an 400 a. C., entonna un discours tragique incitant ses soldats à l'accompagner vers la liberté ou la mort contre les Persans. Après avoir parlé pendant une heure, l'un de ses soldats éternua, compris comme un signal favorable des dieux, rendant ainsi Xénophon général en suivant tous ses ordres.

Entre les Égyptiens et les Grecs, éternuer était un présage. Quand c'était produit l'après-midi, c'était bon, alors que si on éternuait, sortir du lit ou de la table pourrait avoir des conséquences négatives. Si un nouveau-né le faisait, il se considérait heureux.

Au Japon, le fait d'éternuer deux fois de suite est un signe que quelqu'un parle de vous.

ATTENTION : La planète va ÉTERNUER - Sois pas si bêêête #41 (Août 2019).