A recent study conducted by a group of researchers at the University of Rochester, in the United States, has shown that people who are happily married live longer than those who are single after undergoing surgery. coronary bypass.

The information, which has been collected by Health Psychology in its digital version, it reveals that married people (both men and women) who undergo this type of surgery have three times the chance of living 15 years after the intervention, than those who are single.

Harry Reis, professor of psychology at the University of Rochester, and one of the authors of the study, explains that the effect of a successful marriage is essential after the bypass, and influences both survival and quitting smoking, or control other factors that increase the risk of suffering complications, such as high blood pressure or obesity.

Marriage, however, does not affect women and men equally. According to the study, in males, marriage is generally associated with higher survival rates and, at a higher level of satisfaction, greater survival. In the case of women, the quality of the relationship is more important. Thus, for them, unhappy marriages practically do not have any advantage when it comes to increasing their survival, while if they are satisfied with their relationship, their survival rate almost quadruples.

High survival rates after a bypass after 15 years

The study authors evaluated 225 patients who had undergone a bypass between 1987 and 1990, and asked them to describe how satisfied they were in their marriage one year after surgery. The research took into account adjust parameters such as sex, age, mood, culture, tobacco consumption, and other aspects that influence the survival rate of cardiovascular diseases.

Even less happy married men in their marriage had a survival rate of 60%, notably better than single men, which only reached 36%

83% of the women who declared themselves happily married were alive 15 years after the intervention, compared to 28% of the women whose marriage was not happy and 27% of the unmarried women. As for men satisfied with their married life, 83% had survived, but those less happy in their marriage had a good survival rate: 60%, notably better than single men, which only reached 36% .

Kathleen King, professor emeritus of the Faculty of Nursing at the University of Rochester, and lead author of the article, says the study reveals how important relationships are for both sexes, and that the support provided by the spouse, coupled with other habits Healthy lifestyles such as physical exercise and smoking cessation are vital for long-term survival when suffering from cardiovascular disease. In addition, according to the expert, marriage itself is a motivation for people to take better care of themselves and wish to survive.

Depression and its treatment (November 2019).

Une étude récente menée par un groupe de chercheurs de l’Université de Rochester, aux États-Unis, a montré que les personnes heureusement mariées vivent plus longtemps que celles qui sont célibataires après une intervention chirurgicale. pontage coronaire.

Les informations collectées par Psychologie de la santé dans sa version numérique, il révèle que les personnes mariées (hommes et femmes) qui subissent ce type de chirurgie ont trois fois plus de chances de vivre 15 ans après l'intervention que celles qui sont célibataires.

Harry Reis, professeur de psychologie à l'Université de Rochester et l'un des auteurs de l'étude, explique que l'effet d'un mariage réussi est essentiel après le contournement et qu'il influence à la fois la survie et l'abandon du tabac, ou le contrôle. d'autres facteurs qui augmentent le risque de souffrir de complications, telles que l'hypertension artérielle ou l'obésité.

Le mariage, cependant, n'affecte pas les femmes et les hommes de manière égale. Selon l’étude, chez les hommes, le mariage est généralement associé à des taux de survie plus élevés et, à un niveau de satisfaction plus élevé, à une plus grande survie. Dans le cas des femmes, la qualité de la relation est plus importante. Ainsi, pour eux, les mariages malheureux n’ont pratiquement aucun avantage pour augmenter leur survie, alors que s’ils sont satisfaits de leur relation, leur taux de survie quadruplera presque.

Taux de survie élevé après un pontage après 15 ans

Les auteurs de l'étude ont évalué 225 patients ayant subi un pontage entre 1987 et 1990 et leur ont demandé de décrire leur degré de satisfaction dans leur mariage un an après la chirurgie. La recherche a pris en compte des paramètres d'ajustement tels que le sexe, l'âge, l'humeur, la culture, la consommation de tabac et d'autres facteurs qui influent sur le taux de survie des maladies cardiovasculaires.

Même les hommes mariés moins heureux dans leur mariage avaient un taux de survie de 60%, nettement supérieur à celui des hommes célibataires, qui n'atteignait que 36%.

Quinze pour cent des femmes qui se sont déclarées mariées heureusement étaient en vie 15 ans après l'intervention, contre 28% des femmes dont le mariage n'était pas heureux et 27% des femmes non mariées. Pour ce qui est des hommes satisfaits de leur vie conjugale, 83% avaient survécu, mais ceux qui étaient moins heureux en couple avaient un bon taux de survie: 60%, nettement mieux que les hommes célibataires, qui ne représentaient que 36% .

Kathleen King, professeur émérite de la faculté des sciences infirmières de l'Université de Rochester et auteur principal de l'article, affirme que l'étude révèle l'importance des relations entre les hommes et les femmes, et que le soutien fourni par le conjoint, associé à d'autres habitudes Des modes de vie sains tels que l'exercice physique et l'abandon du tabac sont essentiels à la survie à long terme en cas de maladie cardiovasculaire. En outre, selon l'expert, le mariage est en soi une motivation pour que les personnes prennent mieux soin de elles-mêmes et souhaitent survivre.

Les Liaisons Dangereuses de Pierre Choderlos de Laclos - Livre audio 1, SOUS-TITRES (Août 2019).