Circumcision is a practice that Muslims and Jews have traditionally performed for religious reasons, and that has won numerous critics who consider it an unnecessary mutilation to babies who still do not have the capacity to make decisions.

Due to the diversity of opinions among specialists on the risks or benefits of the intervention, it is not usual for it to be used for therapeutic purposes. However, now, experts from the American Pediatric Association recommend circumcision in all newborns in the United States, because they believe that the advantages that can bring are greater than their possible risks or disadvantages. And is that several studies associate circumcision with a lower risk of contracting sexually transmitted diseases, such as HIV, herpes, or urinary tract infections.

Several studies associate circumcision with a lower risk of contracting HIV, herpes or urinary tract infections

The World Health Organization (WHO) and other agencies such as the UN Program against AIDS, had previously advised this practice as an effective measure of prevention against the transmission of HIV. Specifically, in Africa, circumcision programs are already being carried out among men from different countries with the aim of curbing the transmission of the AIDS virus, and three different studies have revealed that circumcision reduces the risk of circumcision by up to 60%. infection in heterosexual men.

At the other extreme is a movement called 'intactivism', which advocates the child's right to physical integrity, and believes that circumcision, regardless of physical risks, can have adverse psychological consequences for the child who, in addition, it deprives him of the right to decide. The detractors of circumcision have come to compare it with the ablation of the clitoris, a mutilation to which girls are subjected in certain religions.

Independently of ideologies and the controversy that provokes the prohibition of a practice that constitutes a religious tradition for some, the American Association of Pediatrics (AAP), which previously remained neutral, has now positioned itself in favor of circumcision, and although believes that the health benefits are not enough to recommend circumcision indiscriminately to all babies, if it justifies access to this practice for those who choose it for their children, and considers that medical insurance, both public and private, they must pay for it.

The AAP is based on the findings of a group of experts who in 2007 conducted an investigation that included more than 1,000 studies on circumcision, and concluded that this practice benefited health by reducing the risk of infection and did not seem to affect Negatively neither the function of the penis nor its sensitivity during sexual intercourse.

How Does Circumcision Affect Your Penis? (November 2019).

La circoncision est une pratique traditionnellement pratiquée par les musulmans et les juifs pour des raisons religieuses. Elle a attiré de nombreux critiques qui considèrent que c'est une mutilation inutile pour les bébés qui n'ont toujours pas la capacité de prendre des décisions.

En raison de la diversité des opinions des spécialistes sur les risques ou les avantages de l’intervention, il n’est pas courant de l’utiliser à des fins thérapeutiques. Cependant, à présent, les experts de l’American Pediatric Association recommandent la circoncision chez tous les nouveau-nés aux États-Unis, car ils estiment que les avantages qu’ils peuvent apporter sont supérieurs à leurs risques ou inconvénients éventuels. Et est-ce que plusieurs études associent la circoncision à un risque moindre de contracter des maladies sexuellement transmissibles, telles que le VIH, l'herpès ou des infections des voies urinaires.

Plusieurs études associent la circoncision à un risque moindre de contracter le VIH, l’herpès ou des infections des voies urinaires

L’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) et d’autres agences telles que le Programme des Nations Unies contre la SIDA, avait précédemment conseillé cette pratique comme mesure efficace de prévention de la transmission du VIH. Plus précisément, en Afrique, des programmes de circoncision sont déjà en cours chez des hommes de différents pays dans le but de freiner la transmission du virus du sida. Trois études différentes ont révélé que la circoncision réduit de 60% le risque de circoncision. infection chez les hommes hétérosexuels.

À l’autre extrémité, un mouvement appelé «intactivisme» défend le droit de l’enfant à l’intégrité physique et estime que la circoncision, quels que soient les risques physiques, peut avoir des conséquences psychologiques néfastes pour l’enfant qui, en outre, cela le prive du droit de décider. Les détracteurs de la circoncision sont venus la comparer à l'ablation du clitoris, une mutilation à laquelle les filles sont soumises dans certaines religions.

Indépendamment des idéologies et de la controverse qui provoque l’interdiction d’une pratique qui constitue une tradition religieuse pour certains, l’American Association of Pediatrics (AAP), qui restait auparavant neutre, s’est positionnée maintenant en faveur de la circoncision. estime que les avantages pour la santé ne suffisent pas pour recommander la circoncision à tous les bébés sans distinction, si cela justifie l'accès de cette pratique à ceux qui la choisissent pour leurs enfants, et considère que l'assurance maladie, à la fois publics et privés, ils doivent payer pour cela.

Le PAA s’appuie sur les conclusions d’un groupe d’experts qui, en 2007, avaient mené plus de 1 000 études sur la circoncision et concluaient que cette pratique était bénéfique pour la santé en réduisant le risque d’infection et ne semblait pas affecter Négativement, ni la fonction du pénis ni sa sensibilité lors des rapports sexuels.

Parlons de masculinités n°1 : La circoncision (Août 2019).