Children with chronic inflammation of the middle ear may experience changes in their sense of taste, changes that may be directly related to childhood obesity, as reported in a study by Kyung Hee University in Seoul (South Korea), published in the 'Archives of Otolaryngology-Head & Neck Surgery' magazine.

The researchers, led by Il Ho Shin, conducted a study to evaluate the association between the taste threshold in patients with chronic otitis media with effusion (OMCE) -a persistent inflammation of the middle ear, in which the effusion fluid is retained in the middle ear cavity - and the relationship with the body mass index (BMI). The authors considered that changes in taste functioning could occur in children with OMCE and that such changes could be associated with body weight.

The researchers measured the taste thresholds of 42 children with OMCE, to whom they inserted a small plastic tube into the eardrum to keep the ear half ventilated, and those of a control group of 42 children without OMCE. Four standard taste solutions (sugar, salt, citric acid and quinine hydrochloride) were used for the test. The results showed that children with chronic otitis media with effusion had a significantly higher body mass index than those in the control group. The results of the tests showed that the taste thresholds of the front of the tongue were higher in children with OMCE than in those of the control group.

The chemical taste tests indicated that the thresholds for salty and sweet tastes were elevated in the children of the OMCE group. The thresholds of bitter and acid taste were also in some sense higher in the otitis media group but these differences were not statistically significant. After knowing the results, the authors concluded that the findings suggest an association between changes in taste and a higher body mass index in pediatric patients with OMCE.

. Source: EUROPE PRESS

Autyzm - piękniejszy umysł (November 2019).

Les enfants présentant une inflammation chronique de l'oreille moyenne peuvent connaître des altérations de leur sens du goût, des changements pouvant être directement liés à l'obésité chez les enfants, selon une étude de l'Université Kyung Hee de Séoul (Corée du Sud) publiée dans le magazine 'Archives of Otolaryngology-Head & Neck Surgery'.

Les chercheurs, dirigés par Il Ho Shin, ont mené une étude pour évaluer l'association entre le seuil de goût chez les patients atteints d'otite moyenne chronique avec épanchement (OMCE) - une inflammation persistante de l'oreille moyenne, dans laquelle le liquide de l'épanchement est retenu. la cavité de l'oreille moyenne - et la relation avec l'indice de masse corporelle (IMC). Les auteurs ont estimé que des changements dans le fonctionnement du goût pourraient survenir chez les enfants atteints d'OMCE et que de tels changements pourraient être associés au poids corporel.

Les chercheurs ont mesuré les seuils gustatifs de 42 enfants atteints d'OMCE, auxquels ils ont inséré un petit tube en plastique dans le tympan pour maintenir l'oreille à moitié ventilée, ainsi que de ceux d'un groupe témoin de 42 enfants sans OMCE. Quatre solutions gustatives standard (sucre, sel, acide citrique et chlorhydrate de quinine) ont été utilisées pour le test. Les résultats ont montré que les enfants atteints d'otite moyenne chronique avec épanchement avaient un indice de masse corporelle significativement plus élevé que ceux du groupe témoin. Les résultats des tests ont montré que les seuils gustatifs du devant de la langue étaient plus élevés chez les enfants atteints d'OMCE que chez ceux du groupe témoin.

Les tests de dégustation ont révélé que les seuils de goût salé et sucré étaient élevés chez les enfants du groupe OMCE. Les seuils de goût amer et acide étaient également plus élevés dans le groupe des otites moyennes, mais ces différences n'étaient pas statistiquement significatives. Après avoir pris connaissance des résultats, les auteurs ont conclu que les résultats suggèrent une association entre des changements de goût et un indice de masse corporelle plus élevé chez les patients pédiatriques atteints d'OMCE.

. Source: EUROPE PRESSE

Die 5 Biologischen Naturgesetze - Die Dokumentation (Août 2019).