Specialists from around the world have come together in Barcelona with the aim of designing a research strategy aimed at curing the type I diabetes, which affects especially children and adolescents, using new cell, gene and immune therapies.

Type I diabetes is an autoimmune and chronic pathology, which is characterized by an abnormal functioning of the pancreas, which has as a consequence that this organ does not produce insulin, a hormone that serves for the body to obtain energy from food.

Philippe Halban, president of the European Foundation for the Study of Diabetes, said that, in five years, you could get the pancreas renewed, for example. Now the main objective is to establish the 'Barcelona Agenda', which is intended to involve, in addition to active researchers, also young people, with a new perspective involving experts in cellular and gene therapy and immunology.

Ulf Smith, president of the European Association for the Study of Diabetes, stressed that the main objective at present is the cure of type I diabetes, whose management, based on insulin, prevents the death of the patient, but not the serious side effects caused by this disease, such as blindness, coronary disorders, "> Kidney failure, stroke, injuries to the extremities that can lead to amputations and complications in pregnancy.">

The specialists gathered at the event explain that the research tries to improve the available treatments, and that it is also very important to find new alternative therapies for diabetes.

PCH Type 1 Children - What is Diabetes (November 2019).

Des spécialistes du monde entier se sont réunis à Barcelone dans le but de concevoir une stratégie de recherche visant à guérir la diabète de type I, qui affecte particulièrement les enfants et les adolescents, en utilisant de nouvelles thérapies cellulaires, géniques et immunitaires.

Le diabète de type I est une pathologie auto-immune et chronique qui se caractérise par un fonctionnement anormal du pancréas, qui a pour conséquence que cet organe ne produit pas d'insuline, une hormone qui permet au corps de tirer de l'énergie des aliments.

Philippe Halban, président de la Fondation européenne pour l'étude du diabète, a déclaré que, dans cinq ans, le pancréas pourrait être renouvelé, par exemple. L’objectif principal est maintenant d’établir le «programme de Barcelone», qui vise à impliquer, outre les chercheurs actifs, les jeunes également, avec une nouvelle perspective impliquant des experts en thérapie cellulaire et génique et en immunologie.

Ulf Smith, président de l'Association européenne pour l'étude du diabète, a souligné que l'objectif principal à l'heure actuelle est de guérir le diabète de type I, dont la gestion, à base d'insuline, prévient la mort du patient, mais pas la effets secondaires graves causés par cette maladie, tels que cécité, troubles coronaires, "> Insuffisance rénale, accident vasculaire cérébral, blessures aux extrémités pouvant entraîner amputations et complications pendant la grossesse.">

Les spécialistes réunis lors de l'événement ont expliqué que la recherche visait à améliorer les traitements disponibles et qu'il était également très important de trouver de nouvelles thérapies alternatives pour le diabète.

Soignez tous les diabètes en 20 minutes ! - www.regenere.org (Septembre 2019).