Limiting the action of chemotherapy to cancer cells, avoiding damaging those that are healthy, it was considered a utopia only a few years ago, but science is getting closer and closer to this goal. The study 'Emilia', which has just been presented at the Congress of the American Society of Medical Oncology, shows that a new drug - the T-DM1-, is capable of introducing a chemotherapy '10,000 times more powerful 'than the one traditionally used - known as emtansine (DM1) -, in tumor cells.

This chemotherapy, despite its great effectiveness against cancer, had to stop using because it was very toxic. The T-DM1 uses a monoclonal antibody -Biological drugs that can be targeted to specific targets-, trastuzumab, to reach the malignant cells present in the development of positive HER-2 tumors, a type of breast cancer with a poor prognosis.

The real importance of the new treatment lies in the possibility of using extremely powerful chemotherapy against cancer cells, without causing side effects or damaging the patient's healthy tissues

The study involved more than 1,000 women with a positive HER-2 tumor who had relapsed, and treatment with the new drug improved disease-free survival, which went from 6.4 months to 9.6 months and, in addition, the patients did not suffer side effects associates

The new therapy would only be applicable to cancer cells with membrane receptors, such as those that characterize HER-2 positive tumors, but experts point out that the real importance of the new treatment lies in the possibility of successfully fighting cancer tumors. using extremely potent chemotherapy against cancer cells, without causing side effects or damaging the patient's healthy tissues.

New trials are under way to combine the drug with other monoclonal antibodies, and it will also be tested as the first treatment in patients with positive HER-2 breast tumors before the possible relapse occurs, precisely to prevent the cancer from reappearing. It is expected that Genetech, the company that has developed the new drug, will request authorization at the end of this year.

Cancer Treatment: Chemotherapy (November 2019).

Limiter l'action de la chimiothérapie à cellules cancéreusesPour éviter d’endommager ceux qui sont en bonne santé, cela était considéré comme une utopie il ya seulement quelques années, mais la science se rapproche de plus en plus de cet objectif. L’étude «Emilia», qui vient d’être présentée au congrès de la Société américaine d’oncologie médicale, montre qu’un nouveau médicament, le T-DM1-, est capable d'introduire une chimiothérapie «10 000 fois plus puissante» que celle utilisée traditionnellement - connue sous le nom d'émtansine (DM1) - dans les cellules tumorales.

Cette chimiothérapie, malgré sa grande efficacité contre le cancer, a dû cesser d'être utilisée car très toxique. Le T-DM1 utilise un anticorps monoclonal -Les médicaments biologiques pouvant être ciblés sur des cibles spécifiques-, le trastuzumab, pour atteindre les cellules malignes présentes dans le développement de tumeurs HER-2 positives, un type de cancer du sein de mauvais pronostic.

La véritable importance du nouveau traitement réside dans la possibilité d'utiliser une chimiothérapie extrêmement puissante contre les cellules cancéreuses, sans provoquer d'effets secondaires ni endommager les tissus sains du patient.

L’étude a impliqué plus de 1 000 femmes présentant une tumeur positive HER-2 qui avaient rechuté et le traitement par le nouveau médicament a amélioré la survie sans maladie, qui est passée de 6,4 mois à 9,6 mois. les patients n'ont pas souffert effets secondaires associés

Le nouveau traitement ne serait applicable qu'aux cellules cancéreuses dotées de récepteurs membranaires, telles que celles caractérisant les tumeurs HER-2 positives, mais les experts soulignent que la véritable importance de ce nouveau traitement réside dans la possibilité de lutter efficacement contre les tumeurs cancéreuses. utilisant une chimiothérapie extrêmement puissante contre les cellules cancéreuses, sans provoquer d'effets secondaires ni endommager les tissus sains du patient.

De nouveaux essais sont en cours pour associer le médicament à d'autres anticorps monoclonaux. Ce médicament sera également testé en tant que premier traitement chez les patientes présentant une tumeur du sein HER-2 positive avant la survenue d'une éventuelle rechute, précisément pour empêcher le cancer de réapparaître. Genetech, la société qui a mis au point le nouveau médicament, devrait demander une autorisation à la fin de cette année.

Guerison et traitement: votre corps - Bras douloureux et lymphœdèmes - 5/5 (Août 2019).