Following a diet low in saturated fats and low glycemic index seems to modulate the risk of developing dementia, a disease that ends up becoming Alzheimer's, although changing these eating patterns may not protect those who already suffer from cognitive difficulties. This is demonstrated by a study developed by American researchers and published this June in Archives of Neurology.

Previous research had already suggested the existence of links between diet and cognitive ability, according to the authors of this last work. The health situations in which those affected present insulin resistance (The inability of the body to use insulin effectively) -like obesity, type 2 diabetes, cardiovascular disease, or high cholesterol levels-have been associated with "pathological brain aging."

However, studies conducted on specific foods had not found conclusive evidence of the existence of an influence on Alzheimer's risk. "Thus," the authors write, "a more promising approach to the study of dietary factors in Alzheimer's may involve the use of dietary interventions complete, with greater ecological validity, and preserve the nutritional environment in which the consumption of fat and carbohydrate occurs ".

The results of the study could show that dietary interventions are not as effective in late stages of cognitive decline

The team of Jennifer L. Bayer-Carter, of the Veterans Affairs Puget Sound Health Care System, in Seattle, set out to compare a diet rich in saturated fats and simple carbohydrates -associated with type 2 diabetes and insulin resistance- with a diet low in saturated fats and simple carbohydrates. The interventions were called HIGH and LOW, respectively.

The authors of the study evaluated the effects of these two diets on 20 healthy older adults and 29 older adults who suffered mild amnestic cognitive impairment (aMCI), which means that they experienced some memory problems. Advanced aMCI is often considered a precursor to Alzheimer's.

In a randomized controlled trial that lasted four weeks, a total of 24 participants followed the HIGH diet and another 25 the LOW diet. The researchers studied the behavior of these participants with memory test, as well as their levels of biomarkers -The biological substances indicative of Alzheimer's-, such as insulin, cholesterol, blood glucose levels, blood lipid levels and components of cerebrospinal fluid (CSF).

The results of the study were different for the group that had aMCI and for the group of healthy participants. In the latter group, the LOW diet reduced some of Alzheimer's CSF biomarkers, as well as their total cholesterol levels. However, among individuals such as aMCI, the LOW diet increased the levels of these biomarkers.

The LOW diet improved the behavior in delayed visual memory tests, both in healthy participants and those with impaired memory, but did not affect the scores in other cognitive indicators.

These results indicate that "for healthy adults, the HIGH diet moved the CSF biomarkers in a direction that may characterize a pre-symptomatic Alzheimer's state." The authors believe that the different results obtained in participants with aMCI could demonstrate that dietary interventions are not as effective in late stages of cognitive decline.

"The therapeutic effects of a long-term dietary intervention could be a promising avenue of exploration," the researchers write, adding that, in addition, "identifying the pathophysiological changes that underlie the effects of diet can reveal important therapeutic targets that can to be modulated through directed dietary or pharmacological interventions ".

Reducing Alzheimer’s Disease Risk Video – Brigham and Women’s Hospital (November 2019).

Suivre un régime pauvre en graisses saturées et en index glycémique bas semble moduler le risque de développer une démence, une maladie qui finit par devenir la maladie d'Alzheimer, bien que modifier ces schémas alimentaires ne protège pas forcément ceux qui souffrent déjà de troubles cognitifs. Ceci est démontré par une étude développée par des chercheurs américains et publiée ce mois de juin dans Archives de neurologie.

Des recherches antérieures avaient déjà suggéré l'existence de liens entre le régime alimentaire et les capacités cognitives, selon les auteurs de ce dernier travail. Les situations sanitaires dans lesquelles les personnes touchées présentent résistance à l'insuline (Incapacité de l'organisme à utiliser efficacement l'insuline) - l'obésité, le diabète de type 2, les maladies cardiovasculaires ou un taux de cholestérol élevé - ont été associés à un "vieillissement cérébral pathologique".

Toutefois, les études menées sur des aliments spécifiques n’ont pas permis de conclure de manière concluante à une influence du risque de maladie d’Alzheimer. "Ainsi," écrivent les auteurs, "une approche plus prometteuse de l'étude des facteurs alimentaires dans la maladie d'Alzheimer pourrait impliquer l'utilisation de interventions diététiques complet, avec une plus grande validité écologique, et de préserver l’environnement nutritionnel dans lequel se déroule la consommation de graisses et de glucides ".

Les résultats de l'étude pourraient montrer que les interventions diététiques ne sont pas aussi efficaces aux derniers stades du déclin cognitif

L'équipe de Jennifer L. Bayer-Carter, du système de santé Puget Sound d'Anciens Combattants, à Seattle, a tenté de comparer un régime alimentaire riche en graisses saturées et en glucides simples, associé au diabète de type 2 et à la résistance à l'insuline. avec un régime alimentaire faible en graisses saturées et en glucides simples. Les interventions ont été appelées HIGH et LOW, respectivement.

Les auteurs de l'étude ont évalué les effets de ces deux régimes sur 20 adultes âgés en bonne santé et 29 adultes âgés présentant une déficience cognitive amnésique légère (AMCI), ce qui signifie qu'ils ont eu des problèmes de mémoire. Advanced aMCI est souvent considéré comme un précurseur de la maladie d’Alzheimer.

Dans un essai contrôlé randomisé d'une durée de quatre semaines, 24 participants au total ont suivi le régime HIGH et 25 autres le régime LOW. Les chercheurs ont étudié le comportement de ces participants avec test de mémoire, ainsi que leurs niveaux de biomarqueurs -Les substances biologiques indicatrices de la maladie d'Alzheimer-, telles que l'insuline, le cholestérol, les taux de glucose dans le sang, les taux de lipides dans le sang et les composants du liquide céphalorachidien (LCR).

Les résultats de l'étude étaient différents pour le groupe qui avait une MCI et pour le groupe de participants en bonne santé. Dans ce dernier groupe, le régime LOW a réduit certains biomarqueurs de la maladie d'Alzheimer, le LCR, ainsi que leur taux de cholestérol total. Cependant, chez des individus tels que l'aMCI, le régime LOW a augmenté les niveaux de ces biomarqueurs.

Le régime LOW a amélioré le comportement lors des tests de mémoire visuelle différée, à la fois chez les participants en bonne santé et ceux ayant une mémoire altérée, mais n'a pas affecté les scores des autres indicateurs cognitifs.

Ces résultats indiquent que "pour les adultes en bonne santé, le régime HIGH" a déplacé les biomarqueurs du LCR dans une direction qui pourrait caractériser un état d'Alzheimer pré-symptomatique ". Les auteurs estiment que les différents résultats obtenus chez les participants atteints d'une MCI pourraient démontrer que les interventions diététiques ne sont pas aussi efficaces aux derniers stades du déclin cognitif.

"Les effets thérapeutiques d'une intervention alimentaire à long terme pourraient être une piste d'exploration prometteuse", écrivent les chercheurs, ajoutant que "l'identification des modifications physiopathologiques sous-jacentes aux effets de l'alimentation peut révéler d'importantes cibles thérapeutiques à moduler par des interventions diététiques ou pharmacologiques dirigées ".

Un cardiologue fait des révélations fracassantes sur les vraies causes des maladies cardiaques (Août 2019).