The director of the Institute of Biomedicine of Seville (IBIS) and Professor of Medical Physiology and Biophysics of the University of Seville, José López, who has spoken on the last day of the Summer Course at the University of Malaga (UMA) 'Discovering the brain ', has addressed neurodegenerative diseases, among which Parkinson's and Alzheimer's have stood out, and has stated that although "it is very difficult to get a cure to eradicate these diseases", yes "it will be possible to improve the quality of life of patients, as well as their longevity. "

In the case of Alzheimer's disease, the expert has indicated that the research "has not yet achieved therapeutic approaches as efficient and positive as in Parkinson's," although "it is expected that in the next 15 years there will be very important advances."

The ignorance of the causes that cause these neurodegenerative diseases is "one of the reasons why we still do not have more effective therapies", according to the director of the IBIS, assuring that from this research institute the search for these reasons is prioritized, that allow to make "better pharmacological tools".

Transplanting new cells that "compensate or perform the functions of cells already destroyed by Parkinson's disease" is an alternative that "is already being investigated"

In this regard, López highlighted the cell therapies, which aim to transplant new cells that "compensate or make the functions of cells already destroyed by the disease", as future alternatives that "are already being investigated and tested through clinical tests on animals."

The expert in Physiology has affirmed that IBIS research groups have found mother cells located in the neck and located in the carotid body, which can be used for future therapies against Parkinson's. However, the application of these therapeutic methods to patients is still "very difficult", as López emphasized, since the evolution of these therapies is "slow and complicated" due to the "numerous stages of testing and control at the that they must submit. "

On the other hand, Lopez considers physical exercise and healthy eating as "fundamental" to delay the evolution of Parkinson's disease, and has indicated that "there is no unequivocal demonstration" to ensure the usefulness of antioxidant drugs to slow progress of this disease.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

Alternative Therapies in Parkinson's Disease (November 2019).

Le directeur de l'Institut de biomédecine de Séville (IBIS) et professeur de physiologie médicale et de biophysique de l'Université de Séville, José López, qui a pris la parole le dernier jour du cours d'été de l'Université de Malaga (UMA) 'À la découverte du cerveau ", a abordé les maladies neurodégénératives, parmi lesquelles Parkinson et Alzheimer se sont démarquées, et a déclaré que" bien qu'il soit très difficile de trouver un traitement curatif pour éradiquer ces maladies ", oui" il sera possible d'améliorer la qualité de la vie des patients, ainsi que leur longévité ".

Dans le cas de la maladie d'Alzheimer, l'expert a indiqué que la recherche "n'avait pas encore abouti à des approches thérapeutiques aussi efficaces et positives que dans la maladie de Parkinson", bien que "des progrès très importants soient attendus dans les 15 prochaines années".

L'ignorance des causes de ces maladies neurodégénératives est "l'une des raisons pour lesquelles nous ne disposons toujours pas de traitements plus efficaces", a déclaré le directeur de l'IBIS, assurant que la recherche de ces raisons est prioritaire, qui permettent de fabriquer de "meilleurs outils pharmacologiques".

La greffe de nouvelles cellules qui "compensent ou remplissent les fonctions de cellules déjà détruites par la maladie de Parkinson" est une alternative "déjà à l'étude"

À cet égard, López a souligné le thérapies cellulaires, qui visent à transplanter de nouvelles cellules qui "compensent ou fabriquent les fonctions de cellules déjà détruites par la maladie", en tant que futures alternatives qui "font déjà l'objet d'études et de tests par le biais d'essais cliniques sur des animaux".

L’expert en physiologie a affirmé que les groupes de recherche IBIS avaient découvert cellules mères situé dans le cou et dans le corps carotidien, qui peut être utilisé pour de futurs traitements contre la maladie de Parkinson. Cependant, l'application de ces méthodes thérapeutiques aux patients reste "très difficile", comme l'a souligné López, dans la mesure où l'évolution de ces thérapies est "lente et compliquée" en raison des "nombreuses étapes de test et de contrôle au qu'ils doivent soumettre. "

Pour Lopez, l’exercice physique et une alimentation saine sont également «fondamentaux» pour retarder l’évolution de la maladie de Parkinson et ont indiqué qu ’« il n’ya pas de démonstration non équivoque »pour garantir l’utilité des médicaments antioxydants pour ralentir les progrès. de cette maladie.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

Soigner avec des Cellules Souches ! - In Cellulo #9 (Août 2019).