The prevalence of celiac disease in childhood It is five times higher than that of the adult population. The frequency of CD in children is 1.3% (1/77), compared to 0.3% (1/357) among adults, according to a study carried out in collaboration between the Sant Joan de Déu Hospital, the Mútua de Terrassa Hospital and the University of Barcelona, ​​in which members of the Spanish Society of Clinical Biochemistry and Molecular Pathology (SEQC) participated, published in the scientific journal Alimentary Pharmacology and Therapeutics.

This is the first study of the prevalence of celiac disease in the scientific literature, and the cross-sectional sample of participants in the same, 4,230 people between 1 and 80 years, is representative of the composition by age and sex of the general population of Catalonia.

Dr. Carme Farré, member of the Spanish Society of Clinical Biochemistry and Molecular Pathology (SEQC) and co-author of the study, points out that "the possible causes of this dramatic drop in prevalence with age are difficult to explain, especially if we consider the permanent character of the disease ".

Celiac disease is characterized by autoimmune alteration of the small intestine triggered by some non-digestible gluten peptides, which occurs in genetically predisposed people. Gluten is a viscoelastic mass, insoluble in water, which is part of the reserve proteins of cereals: wheat, rye, barley and others. The disease can be detected by its typical clinical symptoms, such as diarrhea and abdominal distension, or by the presence of specific antibodies in patients in risk groups, such as those with a first-degree family history, patients with type 1 diabetes, Down syndrome, etcetera.

At the moment it is not possible to prevent this condition, due to ignorance of the environmental and genetic factors that, together with the gluten of the diet and the profile of genetic susceptibility, provoke the inadequate response of the intestinal immune system. However, a well-diagnosed celiac who maintains a gluten-free diet will have a normal intestinal function and will not require medication or nutritional supplements, nor will it present associated complications.

Currently, a major multicenter study is underway, funded by the European Community (www.preventcd.com) to investigate the influence of dietary history on the prevention of celiac disease. "It is being investigated," Dr. Farré explains, "if the administration of small amounts of gluten in infants can induce the immune system to 'learn' to tolerate this protein. This process, called 'desensitization' or 'induction of tolerance', is applied in genetically susceptible children (genetic markers DQ2 and / or DQ8 positive), relatives of celiac patients. The results of this project will be very valuable for knowledge and innovation in the management of the disease. "

Source: Spanish Society of Clinical Biochemistry and Molecular Pathology (SEQC)

Does your Child have Celiac Disease? (November 2019).

Le prévalence de la maladie coeliaque dans l'enfance Il est cinq fois plus élevé que celui de la population adulte. La fréquence de la MC chez les enfants est de 1,3% (1/77), contre 0,3% (1/357) chez les adultes, selon une étude réalisée en collaboration avec l'Hôpital Sant Joan de Déu, le L’hôpital Mútua de Terrassa et l’Université de Barcelone, auxquels ont participé des membres de la Société espagnole de biochimie clinique et de pathologie moléculaire (SEQC), ont été publiés dans la revue scientifique Alimentaire Pharmacology and Therapeutics.

Il s’agit de la première étude de la prévalence de la maladie cœliaque dans la littérature scientifique. L’échantillon transversal des participants, 4 230 personnes âgées de 1 à 80 ans, est représentatif de la composition par âge et par sexe de la population générale de La Catalogne

Le Dr Carme Farré, membre de la Société espagnole de biochimie clinique et de pathologie moléculaire (SEQC) et co-auteur de l’étude, souligne que "les causes possibles de cette chute spectaculaire de la prévalence avec l’âge sont difficiles à expliquer, surtout si caractère permanent de la maladie ".

La maladie cœliaque est caractérisée par altération auto-immune de l'intestin grêle déclenchée par certains peptides de gluten non digestibles, qui survient chez les personnes génétiquement prédisposées. Le gluten est une masse viscoélastique, insoluble dans l’eau, qui fait partie des protéines de réserve des céréales: blé, seigle, orge et autres. La maladie peut être détectée par ses symptômes cliniques typiques, tels que la diarrhée et la distension abdominale, ou par la présence d'anticorps spécifiques chez les patients des groupes à risque, tels que ceux avec antécédents familiaux au premier degré, les patients atteints de diabète de type 1, Syndrome de Down, etc.

Pour le moment, il est impossible de prévenir cette maladie en raison de la méconnaissance des facteurs environnementaux et génétiques qui, combinés au gluten du régime alimentaire et au profil de susceptibilité génétique, provoquent une réponse inadéquate du système immunitaire intestinal. Cependant, un coeliaque bien diagnostiqué qui maintient un régime sans gluten aura une fonction intestinale normale et n'aura pas besoin de médicaments ni de suppléments nutritionnels, ni de complications associées.

Une vaste étude multicentrique est actuellement en cours, financée par la Communauté européenne (www.preventcd.com) pour étudier l’influence des antécédents alimentaires sur la prévention de la maladie cœliaque. "Des recherches sont en cours", explique le Dr Farré, "si l'administration de petites quantités de gluten à des nourrissons peut amener le système immunitaire à" apprendre "à tolérer cette protéine. Ce processus, appelé «désensibilisation» ou «induction de tolérance», est appliqué chez les enfants génétiquement prédisposés (marqueurs génétiques DQ2 et / ou DQ8 positifs), membres de la famille de patients atteints de maladie cœliaque. Les résultats de ce projet seront très précieux pour la connaissance et l’innovation dans la gestion de la maladie. "

Source: Société espagnole de biochimie clinique et de pathologie moléculaire (SEQC)

La rando un pas sans gluten à Ploemel le 22 04 2018 (Août 2019).