In Spain, more than seven million people suffer from osteoarthritis, a rheumatic disease that, according to experts estimate, will double its incidence in the coming years due, among other causes, to the progressive aging of the population.

Dr. Alejandro Tejedor, in charge of coordinating the Rheumatology Group of the semFYC (Spanish Society of Family and Community Medicine), points out that this condition is the cause of one in seven consultations in Primary Care and that it significantly affects the quality of life of patients, leading to cause, in the most severe cases, temporary or permanent disability.

The diagnosis of osteoarthritis is based on clinical observation, and it uses imaging tests such as x-rays, MRIs or ultrasounds to confirm the lesion, which can take years to develop without symptoms, so research is currently being done to find markers biological factors that facilitate the early diagnosis of the disease.

The treatment of osteoarthritis is focused on alleviating the discomfort, since there is still no cure, but an appropriate therapy allows those affected to continue with their daily activities practically without suffering limitations

The treatment of this pathology is symptomatic, focused on alleviating the discomfort it causes, since there is still no cure, but an appropriate therapy allows those affected to continue with their daily activities practically without suffering limitations. In fact, specialists believe that about half of patients will need medications to improve symptoms.

There are several drugs available to treat osteoarthritis, such as non-steroidal anti-inflammatories (which can be taken in pills or applied locally in cream) and analgesics, to reduce pain, opioids used when the discomfort is very intense, and a type of natural substances, the chondroprotectors, which exert a beneficial action on the cartilage, slowing down the degenerative progression in the affected joints and decreasing the pain.

Another option, indicated in those people suffering from severe osteoarthritis and to whom pharmacological treatments have not served to control pain, consists of a surgical intervention, repair or replacement surgery v There is also a surgical alternative for those who suffer from severe osteoarthritis and to which pharmacological treatments have not served to control pain or present an important limitation, which hinders or prevents them from carrying out daily activities or interferes with their rest.

Hip Joint Pain – Here’s why you may not need replacement (November 2019).

En Espagne, plus de sept millions de personnes souffrent d'arthrose, une maladie rhumatismale qui, selon les estimations des experts, doublera son incidence dans les années à venir, en raison, entre autres, du vieillissement progressif de la population.

Le Dr Alejandro Tejedor, responsable de la coordination du groupe de rhumatologie de la semFYC (Société espagnole de médecine familiale et communautaire), souligne que cette maladie est à l'origine d'une consultation sur sept en soins primaires et qu'elle affecte de manière significative la qualité des soins. la vie des patients, entraînant dans les cas les plus graves une invalidité temporaire ou permanente.

Le diagnostic de l'arthrose est basé sur des observations cliniques et s'appuie sur des tests d'imagerie tels que rayons X, IRM ou échographies pour confirmer la lésion, processus qui peut prendre des années à se développer sans symptômes. Des recherches sont donc en cours pour trouver des marqueurs. facteurs biologiques qui facilitent le diagnostic précoce de la maladie.

Le traitement de l'arthrose est axé sur l'atténuation de l'inconfort, puisqu'il n'existe toujours pas de traitement curatif, mais un traitement approprié permet aux personnes concernées de poursuivre leurs activités quotidiennes pratiquement sans subir de limitations.

Le traitement de cette pathologie est symptomatique et vise à soulager l’inconfort qu’elle provoque, car il n’existe toujours pas de traitement curatif, mais un traitement approprié permet aux personnes concernées de poursuivre leurs activités quotidiennes pratiquement sans subir de limitations. En fait, les spécialistes estiment qu'environ la moitié des patients auront besoin de médicaments pour améliorer leurs symptômes.

Il existe plusieurs médicaments disponibles pour traiter l'arthrose, tels que les anti-inflammatoires non stéroïdiens (qui peuvent être pris en comprimés ou appliqués localement dans la crème) et les analgésiques, pour réduire la douleur, les opioïdes utilisés lorsque l'inconfort est très intense. Parmi les substances naturelles, les chondroprotecteurs exercent une action bénéfique sur le cartilage, en ralentissant la progression dégénérative des articulations touchées et en atténuant la douleur.

Une autre option, indiquée chez les personnes souffrant d'arthrose sévère et pour qui les traitements pharmacologiques n'ont pas permis de contrôler la douleur, consiste en une intervention chirurgicale, une réparation ou un remplacement chirurgical v. Il existe également une alternative chirurgicale pour ceux qui souffrent arthrose sévère et pour laquelle les traitements pharmacologiques n'ont pas permis de maîtriser la douleur ou de présenter une limitation importante qui les empêche ou l'empêche de mener à bien des activités quotidiennes ou qui perturbe leur repos.

Los pies: Descodificación biológica por Mª Dolores Porras (Août 2019).