The results of the study MAP.3, which have been presented recently at the Annual Meeting on Breast Cancer in San Antonio (United States), show that administering exemestano as a preventive treatment to healthy women who have risk factors to develop breast cancer significantly reduces the chances of suffering this condition.

The study, which was conducted with the participation of 4,560 women from the United States, Europe and Canada (of which 432 were Spanish), began in 2004 and had the purpose of verifying to what extent the incidence of this type of cancer decreased with the administration, to women considered high risk, of an aromatase inhibitor drug.

This therapy could prevent the appearance of around 7,000 cases of breast cancer each year in Spain

The exemestano was able to reduce by 65% ​​the possibilities of suffering the disease. The main coordinator of the MAP.3 in Spain, Dr. José Enrique Alés, estimates that, in our country alone, the appearance of around 7,000 cases of breast cancer each year could be prevented and affirms that, in addition, the study has shown that the treatment is safe and that it can therefore be applied to many women who need it.

The researchers took into account various parameters to evaluate the impact that exemestane had on the quality of life of the participants in the study, such as their sexual activity, their menopausal symptoms, their pain, their mental health ... and they found no appreciable differences between the who took exemestane and those who were part of the placebo group.

The study lasted three years and, in the case of Spanish women (with a mean of 60 years of age), 32 women in the placebo group developed the disease, compared to 11 of those who were receiving exemestane. Experts believe that the results achieved allow us to trust that this therapy can serve to better control the disease in women with a high risk of recurrence, and prevent its occurrence in those with a genetic predisposition towards this type of tumors.

Source: GEICAM

Breast Cancer Chemotherapy (November 2019).

Les résultats de l'étude MAP.3, qui ont été présentés récemment à la réunion annuelle sur le cancer du sein à San Antonio (États-Unis), montrent que l'administration exemestano en tant que traitement préventif pour les femmes en bonne santé qui ont des facteurs de risque de développer un cancer du sein réduit considérablement les risques de souffrir de cette maladie.

L’étude, qui a été menée avec la participation de 4 560 femmes originaires des États-Unis, d’Europe et du Canada (dont 432 espagnoles), a débuté en 2004 et visait à vérifier dans quelle mesure l’incidence de ce type de cancer avait diminué lors de l’administration, aux femmes considérées à haut risque, d’un médicament inhibiteur de l’aromatase.

Cette thérapie pourrait prévenir l’apparition d’environ 7 000 cas de cancer du sein chaque année en Espagne.

L'exemestano a pu réduire de 65% les possibilités de souffrir de la maladie. Le Dr José Enrique Alés, coordinateur principal du MAP.3 en Espagne, estime que rien que dans notre pays, l’apparition de quelque 7 000 cas de cancer du sein chaque année pourrait être prévenue et affirme que, de plus, que le traitement est sans danger et qu’il peut donc être appliqué à de nombreuses femmes qui en ont besoin.

Les chercheurs ont pris en compte divers paramètres pour évaluer l’impact de l’exémestane sur la qualité de vie des participants à l’étude, tels que leur activité sexuelle, leurs symptômes ménopausiques, leur douleur, leur santé mentale ... et ils n’ont relevé aucune différence appréciable entre les deux groupes. qui ont pris l'exémestane et ceux qui faisaient partie du groupe placebo.

L'étude a duré trois ans et, dans le cas des femmes espagnoles (âgées en moyenne de 60 ans), 32 femmes du groupe placebo ont développé la maladie, contre 11 de celles qui recevaient de l'exémestane. Les experts estiment que les résultats obtenus nous permettent de croire que cette thérapie peut servir à mieux contrôler la maladie chez les femmes à risque élevé de récidive et à prévenir sa survenue chez celles qui ont une prédisposition génétique à ce type de tumeur.

Source: GEICAM

Cancer du sein : l'alimentation peut-elle prévenir la maladie ? (Septembre 2019).