Researchers are still looking for effective methods that can alleviate Parkinson's symptoms. In one of those studies, carried out by the McGill University Health Center of Canada, they have proven that caffeine could help to control the involuntary movements suffered by these patients.

In the study, a group of patients with Parkinson's was divided into two, half was given a placebo and the other half was given three weeks of 200 milligrams of caffeine daily, and 400 mg of the three next weeks.

The effects of this study on caffeine and Parkinson's have been only "marginal", so they recommend it simply as a "supplement to the medication"

The researchers used caffeine to study how it affected sleepiness. It is already known that this substance temporarily reduces fatigue and increases alertness. By acting on the central nervous system and the cardiovascular system, the experts analyzed how their consumption influenced the most common motor symptoms of the disease, from muscle stiffness to lack of balance, to slowness of movement or tremors.

The results indicated that individuals who had received caffeine managed to improve their symptoms on a scale of five points with respect to the others. However, researchers have indicated that the effects have been only "marginal", so they recommend it simply as a "supplement to the medication", either through coffee or tea.

Source: 'Neurology' magazine

Coffee And Parkinson's Disease - Is Caffeine Good or Bad? (November 2019).

Les chercheurs sont toujours à la recherche de méthodes efficaces pour soulager les symptômes de Parkinson. Dans l'une de ces études, menées par le Centre universitaire de santé McGill, il a été prouvé que la caféine pouvait aider à contrôler les mouvements involontaires de ces patients.

Dans l’étude, un groupe de patients atteints de la maladie de Parkinson a été divisé en deux, la moitié recevant un placebo, l’autre moitié recevant trois fois 200 mg de caféine par jour et 400 mg des trois prochaines semaines.

Les effets de cette étude sur la caféine et la maladie de Parkinson n'ont été que "marginaux", ils la recommandent donc simplement comme "supplément au médicament".

Les chercheurs ont utilisé la caféine pour étudier ses effets sur la somnolence. On sait déjà que cette substance réduit temporairement la fatigue et augmente la vigilance. En agissant sur le système nerveux central et le système cardiovasculaire, les experts ont analysé l'influence de leur consommation sur les symptômes moteurs de la maladie les plus courants, de la raideur musculaire au manque d'équilibre, à la lenteur des mouvements ou aux tremblements.

Les résultats ont indiqué que les personnes ayant reçu de la caféine ont réussi à améliorer leurs symptômes sur une échelle de cinq points par rapport aux autres. Cependant, les chercheurs ont indiqué que les effets n’étaient que "marginaux", ils le recommandent donc simplement comme "complément au médicament", que ce soit par le café ou le thé.

Source: Magazine 'Neurologie'

Dossier Parkinson : Prévention - Conseils Retraite Plus (Septembre 2019).