Experts point out that 30% of Spanish young women and adolescents are smokers, which poses a "flattering" future if there is no cultural change.

According to recent research, it is estimated that by 2015 lung cancer affects more than 5,000 women in Spain. "This type of tumor is increasing among Spanish women because, mainly, the more they smoke (more cigarettes or more), the greater the risk of suffering it," said Dr. Pilar Garrido, head of the Medical Oncology Section of the Hospital Ramón y Cajal of Madrid, member of the Board of Directors of the SEOM and the GECP, within the framework of the 5th Conference 'Oncological Milestones: The Best of 2010', an initiative for Residents and Youth Attachés that has the auspices of the Spanish Society of Medical Oncology (SEOM) and with the collaboration of AstraZeneca.

"Lung cancer is the only tumor whose mortality continues to increase among Spanish women," said the specialist, who said that, since the mid-1990s, lung cancer mortality has increased by 2% compared to that of rest of tumors that have descended. "This is mainly due to the rising consumption of tobacco in this group, which reaches up to 30% in young women and adolescents, a percentage higher than the European average and to continue this way we have a very unflattering future," he added.

In the opinion of Dr. Garrido, "women are not at all aware of the effects of smoking and are very confused when they think that lung cancer is a disease of men." Therefore, he argued, "it is necessary a cultural change in our society and transmit to the entire population that tobacco only hurts."

On the other hand, regarding the new advances, this oncologist highlighted a consideration: "the treatment will not be the same for all patients. The objective is to know the predominant alteration in each patient and to treat it in a specific way, that is, to try to make the therapeutic approach as individualized as possible ".

How childhood trauma affects health across a lifetime | Nadine Burke Harris (November 2019).

Les experts soulignent que 30% des jeunes femmes et des adolescents espagnols sont des fumeurs, ce qui représente un avenir "flatteur" s'il n'y a pas de changement culturel.

Selon des recherches récentes, on estime qu'en 2015, le cancer du poumon affecte plus de 5 000 femmes en Espagne. "Ce type de tumeur est en augmentation chez les femmes espagnoles car, principalement, plus elles fument (plus de cigarettes ou plus), plus le risque de le devenir est grand", a déclaré la Dre Pilar Garrido, chef de la section d'oncologie médicale du Hôpital Ramón y Cajal de Madrid, membre du conseil d’administration de la SEOM et du GECP, dans le cadre de la 5e conférence «Jalons oncologiques: le meilleur de 2010», une initiative pour les résidents et jeunes attachés parrainée par le Société espagnole d'oncologie médicale (SEOM) et avec la collaboration d'AstraZeneca.

"Le cancer du poumon est la seule tumeur dont la mortalité continue d'augmenter chez les femmes espagnoles", a déclaré le spécialiste, qui a expliqué que depuis le milieu des années 1990, la mortalité par cancer du poumon a augmenté de 2% par rapport à celle des femmes espagnoles. reste des tumeurs qui sont descendues. "Cela est principalement dû à la consommation croissante de tabac dans ce groupe, qui atteint jusqu'à 30% chez les jeunes femmes et les adolescentes, un pourcentage supérieur à la moyenne européenne. Pour continuer dans cette voie, nous avons un avenir peu flatteur", a-t-il ajouté.

De l'avis du Dr Garrido, "les femmes ne sont pas du tout conscientes des effets du tabagisme et sont très confuses lorsqu'elles pensent que le cancer du poumon est une maladie qui affecte les hommes". Par conséquent, a-t-il déclaré, "il est nécessaire que la société subisse un changement culturel et transmette à l'ensemble de la population que le tabac ne fait que du mal".

Par ailleurs, concernant les nouvelles avancées, cet oncologue a mis en exergue une considération: "le traitement ne sera pas le même pour tous les patients. L’objectif est de connaître l’altération prédominante chez chaque patient et de la traiter de manière spécifique, c’est-à-dire d’essayer de rendre l’approche thérapeutique aussi individualisée que possible ".

Sicko (Sous-titres Français & Anglais - French & English Subtitles) (Août 2019).