A new study presented during the annual meeting of the American Association for Cancer Research, shows that eating about 150 grams a day of broccoli or others cruciferous plants - such as Brussels sprouts, cauliflower, cabbage, cabbage and turnip - is beneficial for women suffering from breast cancer, and offers additional protection against this disease.

Numerous previous investigations support the healthy properties of sulforaphane -An antioxidant substance that contains broccoli, which is related to the stimulation of the body's natural anti-tumor mechanisms, thus helping to prevent cancer, and is also considered to have a positive effect on the skin and prevents the aging premature skin

Women who ate 150 grams of broccoli or other cruciferous a day were 24% less likely to die from breast cancer, and were 19% less likely to have the disease recur.

Although this study is not the first to advocate the benefits of eating broccoli for breast cancer patients, it is one of the most extensive. The study involved around 5,000 Chinese women who had overcome breast cancer-diagnosed between 2002 and 2006-and who were between the ages of 20 and 75 years.

The researchers divided the patients into five groups, depending on the number of crucifers that included their diet and, after five years of follow-up, they found that the most vegetables of this type ingested -150 grams daily- were 24% less likely to die from breast cancer, and were 19% less likely that the cancer recurred, and up to 58% less likely to die from any other pathology , compared to the group with less cruciferous in their diet (54 grams daily).

The authors of the study also took into account the lifestyle of the participants in the study, as well as other factors that could interfere in the results, such as the age of the patient and the stage of the cancer at the time of diagnosis, the treatment that I had followed, if I practiced exercise, and other characteristics of their diet, among others.

The cancer specialist Aditya Bardia, from Massachusetts General Hospital from Boston, explains that the study does not show that broccoli consumption is solely responsible for these favorable results, because other factors, both dietary and related to the patients' lifestyle, may also be involved. in consideration that the diet own Asian countries is very different from the Western. However, the data deserve to be evaluated in future investigations, in order to determine to what extent the anticancer properties that these vegetables seem to depend on the amount and type of crucifer ingested.

Foods that Prevent Breast Cancer (November 2019).

Une nouvelle étude présentée lors de la réunion annuelle du Association américaine pour la recherche sur le cancer, montre que manger environ 150 grammes par jour de brocoli ou autre plantes crucifères - comme les choux de Bruxelles, le chou-fleur, le chou, le chou et le navet - est bénéfique pour les femmes atteintes d'un cancer du sein et offre une protection supplémentaire contre cette maladie.

De nombreuses études antérieures ont confirmé les propriétés saines de sulforaphane - Une substance antioxydante contenant du brocoli, liée à la stimulation des mécanismes antitumoraux naturels de l'organisme, aidant ainsi à prévenir le cancer, et qui est également considérée comme ayant un effet positif sur la peau et empêchant la vieillissement peau prématurée

Les femmes qui mangeaient 150 grammes de brocoli ou d'un autre crucifère par jour avaient 24% moins de risques de mourir du cancer du sein et 19% moins de risque de récidive.

Bien que cette étude ne soit pas la première à préconiser les avantages de la consommation de brocoli pour les patientes atteintes d'un cancer du sein, elle est l'un des plus complets. L'étude portait sur environ 5 000 Chinoises ayant surmonté leur cancer du sein diagnostiqué entre 2002 et 2006 et âgées de 20 à 75 ans.

Les chercheurs ont divisé les patients en cinq groupes, en fonction du nombre de crucifères qui incluaient leur régime alimentaire. Après cinq ans de suivi, ils ont découvert que le plus les légumes de ce type ingéré -150 grammes par jour - étaient 24% moins susceptibles de mourir du cancer du sein et 19% moins susceptibles que le cancer réapparaisse, et jusqu'à 58% moins susceptibles de mourir de toute autre pathologie , comparé au groupe moins crucifère dans leur régime (54 grammes par jour).

Les auteurs de l'étude ont également pris en compte le mode de vie des participants à l'étude, ainsi que d'autres facteurs susceptibles d'interférer dans les résultats, tels que l'âge du patient et le stade du cancer au moment du diagnostic, J'avais suivi, si je pratiquais l'exercice, et d'autres caractéristiques de leur régime alimentaire, entre autres.

Le spécialiste du cancer Aditya Bardia, de Massachusetts General Hospital de Boston, explique que l'étude ne montre pas que la consommation de brocoli est l'unique responsable de ces résultats favorables, car d'autres facteurs, à la fois alimentaires et liés au mode de vie des patients, peuvent également être impliqués. en considérant que le régime propres pays asiatiques est très différente de la occidentale. Cependant, les données méritent d’être évaluées lors de futures investigations, afin de déterminer dans quelle mesure les propriétés anticancéreuses que ces légumes semblent dépendre de la quantité et du type de crucifère ingéré.

Le brocoli contre le cancer du sein (Août 2019).