Mammography is a very effective test to diagnose breast cancer in the early stages, but the diagnosis could be simplified thanks to a new test - a simple blood test - developed in the UK by a team of researchers from Cancer Research UK ', the' Imperial College of London 'and the' University of Leicester '.

The new test is based on identifying in the blood of the patients markers in the DNA which are indicative of the presence of breast cancer, and according to scientists who have created it could also serve to detect other types of neoplasms such as lung cancer.

The first results with the new test to detect breast cancer suggest that it could be more accurate even than mammography

The first studies with this test have yielded positive results, suggesting that it could be more accurate even than mammography. To confirm this, the researchers will begin a trial involving 500 women included in a breast cancer screening program. They will obtain blood samples from the volunteers to compare them with those of patients who have been diagnosed and the pathology, in order to check whether the markers detected in the DNA of the latter can be associated with the presence of the disease.

If this new trial is successful, scientists will conduct further research to find out if the test could be used as a reliable method to detect breast cancer early in middle-aged or elderly women.

As explained by Dr. Jacqui Shaw of the University of Leicester, who is one of the authors of the finding, this test, if confirmed its effectiveness, could also be used to determine which are the most appropriate and effective drugs for each cancer tumor subtype of breast, and to check if the treatment is giving results.

Looking for Cancer in a Blood Test (November 2019).

La mammographie est un test très efficace pour diagnostiquer le cancer du sein à un stade précoce, mais le diagnostic pourrait être simplifié grâce à un nouveau test - un simple test sanguin - mis au point au Royaume-Uni par une équipe de chercheurs de Cancer Research UK. ',' Imperial College of London 'et' University of Leicester '.

Le nouveau test est basé sur l’identification dans le sang des patients des marqueurs de la ADN qui indiquent la présence d'un cancer du sein et, selon les scientifiques qui l'ont créé, pourraient également servir à détecter d'autres types de néoplasmes tels que le cancer du poumon.

Les premiers résultats du nouveau test de détection du cancer du sein suggèrent qu'il pourrait être plus précis même que la mammographie.

Les premières études avec ce test ont donné des résultats positifs, suggérant qu'il pourrait être plus précis même que la mammographie. Pour confirmer cela, les chercheurs vont commencer un essai impliquant 500 femmes incluses dans un programme de dépistage du cancer du sein. Ils obtiendront des échantillons de sang des volontaires pour les comparer avec ceux des patients diagnostiqués et de la pathologie, afin de vérifier si les marqueurs détectés dans l'ADN de celui-ci peuvent être associés à la présence de la maladie.

Si cette nouvelle étude aboutit, les scientifiques mèneront des recherches supplémentaires pour déterminer si le test pourrait être utilisé comme méthode fiable pour détecter le cancer du sein à un stade précoce chez les femmes d'âge moyen ou âgées.

Comme l'a expliqué le Dr Jacqui Shaw de l'Université de Leicester, l'un des auteurs de la découverte, ce test, s'il était confirmé de son efficacité, pourrait également être utilisé pour déterminer les médicaments les plus appropriés et les plus efficaces pour chaque sous-type de cancer. du sein et de vérifier si le traitement donne des résultats.

euronews science - Un test porteur d'espoir pour le dépistage des cancers (Août 2019).