A study carried out by an international group of scientists has shown that the bats they are carriers of almost all genres of the family of paramyxovirus, responsible for infectious diseases that affect humans such as measles, pneumonia, mumps, influenza or encephalitis.

These mammals, according to the researchers, are the main transmitters of these pathologies and the origin of the infection that causes them, and they could be the reservoir of some paramyxoviruses that due to their genetic characteristics were thought to be peculiar to humans.

Bats have been carriers of these viruses for thousands of years, and infectious agents have been able to evolve in their guests during all this time

To carry out the research, which has identified 60 new species of viruses that affect both humans and animals, the scientists analyzed 10,000 animal samples - blood and organs - in which they observed the presence of a great genetic diversity of paramyxoviruses in all the known species of bats of the world, reason why they conclude that these chiroptera are carriers of the virus for thousands of years, and that the infectious agents have been able to evolve in the bats during all this time.

The presence of these viruses in bats can represent an obstacle to eliminate diseases such as measles or mumps, which in the developed countries are practically eradicated, but which could reappear if reservoirs persist in the animal kingdom, as in this case.

In the course of the investigation, it has also been discovered that two very dangerous viruses - Hendra and Nipah - have caused recent epidemics of deadly encephalitis in Asia and Australia, two areas of the planet where viruses of this type were not expected to be found.

Why do Bats Transmit so many Diseases like Ebola? (November 2019).

Une étude réalisée par un groupe international de scientifiques a montré que le les chauves-souris ils sont porteurs de presque tous les genres de la famille des paramyxovirus, responsables de maladies infectieuses qui affectent les humains telles que la rougeole, la pneumonie, les oreillons, la grippe ou l’encéphalite.

Selon les chercheurs, ces mammifères sont les principaux transmetteurs de ces pathologies et l’origine de l’infection qui les cause, et ils pourraient constituer le réservoir de certains paramyxovirus qui, en raison de leurs caractéristiques génétiques, seraient propres à l’homme.

Les chauves-souris sont porteuses de ces virus depuis des milliers d'années et les agents infectieux ont pu évoluer chez leurs invités pendant tout ce temps.

Pour mener cette recherche, qui a identifié 60 nouvelles espèces de virus qui affectent à la fois les humains et les animaux, les scientifiques ont analysé 10 000 échantillons d’animaux - sang et organes - dans lesquels ils ont observé la présence d’une grande diversité génétique de paramyxovirus chez toutes les espèces de chauves-souris connues dans le monde, par conséquent, ils concluent que ces chiroptères sont porteurs du virus depuis des milliers d'années et que les agents infectieux ont pu évoluer chez les chauves-souris pendant tout ce temps.

La présence de ces virus chez les chauves-souris peut constituer un obstacle à l'élimination de maladies telles que la rougeole ou les oreillons, pratiquement éradiquées dans les pays développés, mais qui pourraient réapparaître si des réservoirs persistent dans le règne animal, comme dans le cas présent.

Au cours de l'enquête, il a également été découvert que deux virus très dangereux - Hendra et Nipah - avaient provoqué de récentes épidémies d'encéphalite mortelle en Asie et en Australie, deux régions de la planète où des virus de ce type n'auraient pas été détectés.

Les parasites et les maladies avec le Prof. Nicolas Fasel (Août 2019).