The scientist Baruch Blumberg, Nobel Prize in medicine in 1976 for discovering the hepatitis B virus and first director of the NASA Astrobiology Institute, has died at 85 years of age, as a result of a heart attack, the space agency said in a statement.

Apparently, Blumberg suffered a heart attack on Tuesday, April 5, while attending a conference on lunar research at the NASA Ames Research Center, in Moffett Filed, California.

The scientist, who won the Nobel Prize in Medicine in 1976 for discovering the hepatitis B virus and later the vaccine for the disease, shared his award with Dr. Carleton Gajdusek for his work on the origin and spread of viral infectious diseases.

Daniel Goldin, who was director of NASA between 1992 and 2001, and was a personal friend of the scientist, regretted his loss and assured that Blumberg "He has saved lives through his research on the hepatitis B virus".

People With Chronic Hepatitis B Often Do Not Know It (November 2019).

Le scientifique Baruch BlumbergLe prix Nobel de médecine en 1976 pour la découverte du virus de l'hépatite B et premier directeur de l'Institut d'astrobiologie de la NASA est décédé à l'âge de 85 ans des suites d'une crise cardiaque, a annoncé l'agence spatiale dans un communiqué.

Apparemment, Blumberg a subi une crise cardiaque le mardi 5 avril, alors qu’il assistait à une conférence sur la recherche lunaire au Centre de recherche Ames de la NASA, à Moffett Filed, en Californie.

Le scientifique, lauréat du prix Nobel de médecine en 1976 pour avoir découvert le virus de l'hépatite B puis du vaccin contre la maladie, a partagé son prix avec le Dr Carleton Gajdusek pour ses travaux sur l'origine et la propagation des maladies infectieuses virales.

Daniel Goldin, directeur de la NASA entre 1992 et 2001 et ami personnel du scientifique, a regretté sa perte et a assuré que Blumberg "Il a sauvé des vies grâce à ses recherches sur le virus de l'hépatite B".

The live vaccine completely protected rats from Zika virus. (Août 2019).