Atopic dermatitis (AD), a chronic, recurrent inflammatory skin disease of hereditary nature, has tripled in the last 30 years, and affects 5-15% of the Spanish population, reaching 20% ​​in the case of children, the most affected by this disorder.

The doctors Mª Ángeles Navarro and Lidia Jáuregui, specialists in pediatrics and dermatology, affirm that the stress generated by the Western lifestyle, the pollution of the cities, the environmental variations that are taking place in recent times, and the early exposure to pollens, mites or allergens, are among the main causes of such a significant increase.

One of the most important factors that determine the degree of affectation of the patient is the age when the disease appears:

  • Infant up to two years of age: the lesions appear on the cheeks and extend through the chin, neck and forehead, and through the scalp, although this is less frequent. If it is an intense outbreak, it can also reach the thorax and extremities (arms and legs).
  • Up to ten years old: the lesions are maintained in the body and extremities. The eruptions or eczema they are dry plaques in the folds of the extremities (of the elbow and behind the knees), also in the backs of the hands, and sometimes even around the mouth.
  • In the adolescent and adult: It appears in the folds of the elbow and behind the knees, on the back of the hand, on the wrists, and on the groin. They are very dry lesions and cause a lot of itching.

Advice for self-care of atopic dermatitis

The doctors Navarro and Jáuregui advise that patients with atopic dermatitis maximize self-care, especially during times of the year when temperature changes are sudden and frequent. Some tips from these specialists are:

  • Avoid very hot environments with low humidity, such as those produced by hot air heaters inside buildings or automobiles, since they dry out the skin, which increases the itching. The recommended room temperature is 18ºC, with a humidity of 50%.
  • Do not wear too much warm clothing or wool clothes, as this could trigger an outbreak of atopic dermatitis.
  • Do not do intense physical exercise, because the sweat increases the sensation of itching and this encourages scratching.
  • Apply to the skin specific lotions and moisturizers that do not contain irritants - no perfumes, no dyes or preservatives ... - and that do include natural active ingredients rich in essential fatty acids and microplate. This reduces the risk of overinfection and protects the skin, strengthening its barrier function, reducing the sensation of itching and irritation that occur in atopic skin.

Source: STADA Consumer Health

Eczema, Immunity and the Skin Microbiome - Heidi Kong (November 2019).

La dermatite atopique (DA), une dermatose inflammatoire chronique et récurrente de nature héréditaire, a triplé au cours des 30 dernières années et touche 5 à 15% de la population espagnole, atteignant 20% le cas des enfants, les plus touchés par ce trouble.

Les docteurs Mª Ángeles Navarro et Lidia Jáuregui, spécialistes en pédiatrie et en dermatologie, affirment que le stress engendré par le mode de vie occidental, la pollution des villes, les variations environnementales observées ces derniers temps et l'exposition précoce à pollens, acariens ou allergènes, sont parmi les principales causes de cette augmentation significative.

L’un des facteurs les plus importants qui déterminent le degré d’affectation du patient est l’âge auquel la maladie apparaît:

  • Enfant de moins de deux ans: les lésions apparaissent sur les joues et s'étendent à travers le menton, le cou et le front, ainsi que sur le cuir chevelu, bien que cela soit moins fréquent. S'il s'agit d'une poussée intense, elle peut aussi atteindre le thorax et les extrémités (bras et jambes).
  • Jusqu'à dix ans: les lésions sont maintenues dans le corps et les extrémités. Les éruptions ou eczéma ce sont des plaques sèches dans les plis des extrémités (du coude et derrière les genoux), également dans le dos des mains et parfois même autour de la bouche.
  • Chez l'adolescent et l'adulte: Il apparaît dans les plis du coude et derrière les genoux, sur le dos de la main, sur les poignets et sur l’aine. Ce sont des lésions très sèches et provoquent beaucoup de démangeaisons.

Conseils pour soigner soi-même la dermatite atopique

Les médecins Navarro et Jáuregui conseillent aux patients atteints de dermatite atopique d'optimiser leurs soins, en particulier pendant les périodes de l'année où les changements de température sont brusques et fréquents. Quelques conseils de ces spécialistes sont:

  • Évitez les environnements très chauds et peu humides, tels que ceux produits par les réchauffeurs d'air chaud à l'intérieur des bâtiments ou des automobiles, car ils assèchent la peau, ce qui augmente les démangeaisons. La température ambiante recommandée est de 18ºC, avec une humidité de 50%.
  • Ne portez pas trop de vêtements chauds ou de laine, cela pourrait déclencher une épidémie de dermatite atopique.
  • Ne faites pas d’exercice physique intense, car la transpiration augmente la sensation de démangeaisons, ce qui favorise les rayures.
  • Appliquez sur la peau des crèmes et des hydratants qui ne contiennent pas d'irritants - sans parfum, sans colorant ni conservateur ... - et qui incluent des principes actifs naturels riches en acides gras essentiels et en microplaque. Cela réduit les risques de surinfection et protège la peau, renforçant ainsi sa fonction de barrière, réduisant la sensation de démangeaisons et d'irritations survenant sur les peaux atopiques.

Source: STADA Santé du consommateur

Traitement Eczema ★★★ 10 Remèdes Naturels Contre L’eczéma (Août 2019).