In case the astigmatism be mild you may not even need treatment. However, most patients will need to wear glasses or contact lenses to correct the defective vision.

In these cases, the type of lens chosen will be the cylindrical in order to match the two focal lines in a single point. If astigmatism is added, as in many cases, some other refractive defect such as myopia or hyperopia, a concave or convex lens, respectively, should be added.

In cases of irregular astigmatism, the correction of the defect will probably require intervention. The choice of the most widespread techniques at present will depend on each case. Today, the most commonly used are corneal incisions, the implantation of toric intraocular lenses and the Excimer laser, the latter being the least invasive and whose results are more predictable and stable.

The operation for the treatment of astigmatism It consists of modifying the curvature of the cornea using a technique known as LASIK (acronym of its name in English: Laser-Assisted in Situ Keratomileusis). This method, which consists of modeling the corneal bed with excimer laser, is fast (it only lasts a few minutes) and is performed under local anesthesia, although it is more expensive and since it involves surgery, it involves certain risks.

In some patients, whose astigmatism is associated with other conditions of the cornea such as keratoconus (a defect of the corneal tissue that causes the cornea to acquire a conical shape), the use of this type of surgery is contraindicated. For these cases, a surgical intervention will be advised to implant intraocular lenses or make corneal incisions.

Astigmatism Explained (November 2019).

Au cas où le astigmatisme être doux, vous n'aurez peut-être même pas besoin de traitement. Cependant, la plupart des patients devront porter des lunettes ou des lentilles cornéennes pour corriger la vision défectueuse.

Dans ces cas, le type de lentille choisi sera cylindrique afin de faire correspondre les deux lignes focales en un seul point. Si de l'astigmatisme est ajouté, comme dans de nombreux cas, un autre défaut de réfraction tel que la myopie ou l'hypermétropie, une lentille concave ou convexe, respectivement, doit être ajouté.

En cas de astigmatisme irrégulier, la correction du défaut nécessitera probablement une intervention. Le choix des techniques les plus répandues dépendra actuellement de chaque cas. Aujourd'hui, les plus couramment utilisées sont les incisions cornéennes, l'implantation de lentilles intraoculaires toriques et le laser Excimer, ce dernier étant le moins invasif et dont les résultats sont plus prévisibles et stables.

Le opération pour le traitement de l'astigmatisme Il consiste à modifier la courbure de la cornée à l'aide d'une technique appelée LASIK (acronyme de son nom en anglais: Keratomileusis in situ assisté au laser). Cette méthode, qui consiste à modéliser le lit cornéen avec un laser excimer, est rapide (elle ne dure que quelques minutes) et est réalisée sous anesthésie locale, bien que plus onéreuse et qu’elle implique une intervention chirurgicale, elle comporte certains risques.

Chez certains patients, l'astigmatisme est associé à d'autres affections de la cornée telles que kératocône (défaut du tissu cornéen qui donne à la cornée une forme conique), l’utilisation de ce type de chirurgie est contre-indiquée. Pour ces cas, une intervention chirurgicale sera conseillée pour implanter des lentilles intraoculaires ou faire des incisions cornéennes.

Docteur Raiss: l'astigmatisme définition & symptômes (Août 2019).