A study conducted in the United States has shown that there is a cause-and-effect relationship between sleep apnea, a condition characterized by repeated interruptions of oxygen flow to the lungs while the patient is asleep, and the development of minimal cognitive impairment (MCD).

DCM - and the loss of memory it implies - had always been considered a condition inexorably linked to the process of aging, and even episodes in which the person is unable to remember a name, or the place where he has saved an object, for example, are called 'senile lapses'.

The successive interruptions of breathing caused by apnea can reduce oxygen levels in the patient's brain, which results in structural changes in the brain and alters the cerebral microcirculation. Therefore, recent research seeks to clarify the possible link between the lack of oxygenation suffered by the brain of people with apnea, and the development of memory disorders.

In five years, 45% of women who had apnea had developed minimal cognitive impairment, compared to 31.1% of those who did not have any respiratory problems

In the North American study, 300 elderly women participated who did not have memory problems at the beginning of the investigation. However, a third of these women did have a breathing disorder during sleep, which the researchers established in 15 or more episodes of apnea or hypopnea for each hour of sleep.

The authors of the work monitored the volunteers for five years and found that 45% of those with apnea had developed DCM, compared to 31.1% of those without breathing problems.

Although certain pathologies such as Alzheimer's disease, Parkinson's disease or amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, can cause central sleep apnea -an uncommon variety of apnea-, Dr. Diego García Borreguero, president of the Spanish Sleep Society, explains that this study shows that respiratory disorders are 'the cause, and not the effect of cognitive decline'.

Experts point out that apnea should be considered a risk factor to develop cognitive deterioration and that, therefore, it is essential that the diagnosis of apnea is made as soon as possible, because a proper apnea treatment would reduce the chances of the patient develop cognitive impairment.

Source: Spanish Dream Society

The Relationship Between Sleep Apnea and Cardiovascular Disease (November 2019).

Une étude menée aux États-Unis a montré qu'il existait une relation de cause à effet entre l'apnée du sommeil, affection caractérisée par des interruptions répétées du flux d'oxygène vers les poumons lorsque le patient dormait, et le développement de déficience cognitive minimale (MCD).

Le DCM - et la perte de mémoire qu’il implique - a toujours été considéré comme une condition inexorablement liée au processus de vieillissement, et même les épisodes dans lesquels la personne est incapable de se souvenir d'un nom, ou l'endroit où il a sauvegardé un objet, par exemple, sont appelés «fautes séniles».

Les interruptions respiratoires successives causées par l'apnée peuvent réduire les niveaux d'oxygène dans le cerveau du patient, ce qui entraîne des modifications structurelles dans le cerveau et modifie la microcirculation cérébrale. Par conséquent, des recherches récentes cherchent à clarifier le lien possible entre le manque d'oxygénation du cerveau des personnes souffrant d'apnée et le développement de troubles de la mémoire.

En cinq ans, 45% des femmes apnées avaient développé une déficience cognitive minimale, contre 31,1% de celles ne présentant aucun problème respiratoire.

Dans l'étude nord-américaine, 300 femmes âgées ont participé sans avoir de problèmes de mémoire au début de l'enquête. Cependant, un tiers de ces femmes avaient un trouble de la respiration pendant le sommeil, que les chercheurs ont établi lors de 15 épisodes d'apnée ou d'hypopnée ou plus pour chaque heure de sommeil.

Les auteurs du travail ont suivi les volontaires pendant cinq ans et ont constaté que 45% des apnées avaient développé un DCM, contre 31,1% des personnes sans problèmes respiratoires.

Bien que certaines pathologies telles que la maladie d'Alzheimer, la maladie de Parkinson ou la sclérose latérale amyotrophique puissent provoquer une apnée centrale du sommeil - une variété d'apnées peu commune-, explique le Dr Diego García Borreguero, président de la Société espagnole du sommeil, Une étude montre que les troubles respiratoires sont «la cause et non l'effet du déclin cognitif».

Les experts soulignent que l'apnée doit être considérée comme un facteur de risque de détérioration cognitive et qu'il est donc essentiel que le diagnostic de l'apnée soit posé dès que possible, car un traitement approprié de l'apnée réduirait les chances du patient. développer une déficience cognitive.

Source: Société de rêve espagnole

Trous de mémoire ? L'apnée du sommeil est peut-être responsable (Août 2019).