Several international studies have shown that there is a relationship between exposure to solar radiation and the appearance of some cataracts, a condition that is characterized by the loss of transparency of the lens and, therefore, decreases the visual capacity.

According to the experts, in addition, exposing oneself to the sun without adequate protection can also cause the development of tumors, such as skin cancer, on the eyelids, and other problems such as conjunctival degeneration or corneal irritations.

Exposure to the sun without adequate protection can also lead to the development of tumors such as skin cancer on the eyelids, conjunctival degeneration, or corneal irritations.

The cataracts affect mainly people of advanced ages - it is estimated that 70% of patients are older than 75 years - and corticals, in which an association with solar radiation has been found, account for 20% of all the cases of cataracts.

Eduardo Eiroa, president of the College of Opticians-Optometrists of Galicia has warned that the increase in solar radiation at this time of year poses a risk to the health of the eyes and can cause long-term damage. For this reason, specialists insist on the need to protect the eyes with sunglasses that offer all the guarantees, since those that do not have the appropriate filters are not enough.

This expert warns that special care should be taken with children and to prevent them from staying outdoors in the hours of greatest radiation, and to try to use sunglasses as soon as possible. Also, remember that you also have to protect yourself on cloudy days, since ultraviolet radiation is more intense on a cloudy day.

Victor M. Villegas, M.D. discusses radiation retinopathy (November 2019).

Plusieurs études internationales ont montré qu'il existait une relation entre l'exposition au rayonnement solaire et l'apparition de certaines cataractes, affection caractérisée par la perte de transparence de la lentille et, par conséquent, par une diminution de la capacité visuelle.

Selon les experts, s’exposer au soleil sans protection adéquate peut également provoquer le développement de tumeurs, telles que le cancer de la peau, des paupières, ainsi que d’autres problèmes tels que la dégénérescence de la conjonctive ou les irritations de la cornée.

Une exposition au soleil sans protection adéquate peut également entraîner le développement de tumeurs telles qu'un cancer de la peau sur les paupières, une dégénérescence de la conjonctive ou des irritations de la cornée.

Les cataractes touchent principalement les personnes d'un âge avancé - on estime que 70% des patients ont plus de 75 ans - et les corticales, chez lesquelles une association avec le rayonnement solaire a été trouvée, représentent 20% de l'ensemble des cas. les cas de cataracte.

Eduardo Eiroa, président du Collège des opticiens-optométristes de Galice, a averti que l’augmentation du rayonnement solaire en cette période de l’année pose un risque pour la santé des yeux et peut causer des dommages à long terme. Pour cette raison, les spécialistes insistent sur la nécessité de protéger les yeux avec des lunettes de soleil offrant toutes les garanties, car celles qui ne disposent pas des filtres appropriés ne suffisent pas.

Cet expert signale qu’il faut prendre des précautions particulières avec les enfants, les empêcher de rester à l’extérieur pendant les heures les plus exposées aux radiations et essayer d’utiliser des lunettes de soleil dès que possible. N'oubliez pas non plus que vous devez également vous protéger les jours nuageux, car les rayons ultraviolets sont plus intenses les jours nuageux.

Hiroshima, Tchernobyl, Fukushima... Les morts du nucléaire - Énergie#9 (Août 2019).