In developed countries, the Back pain affects more than 70 percent of the population at some point in their lives, and lower back problems are the main cause of health care demand in adults, causing an annual cost equivalent to 1.7% of the Gross Domestic Product.

More than 70% of the costs generated by low back pain are also attributed to chronic patients (those who suffer back pain for more than three months) despite the fact that they represent less than 20% of the total.

Dr. Francisco M. Kovacs, president of the Kovacs Foundation and co-author of the study, affirms that most of these costs are due to the decrease in the activity of those affected, especially to sick leave, which highlights the importance of prevent or reduce the disability of those affected.

Due to the high prevalence of back complaints and their consequences, a group of Spanish researchers has carried out a study, recently published in the journal Pain Medicine, to determine the influence of the psychological factors about the degree of disability caused by these pathologies. 52 doctors and psychologists of the Kovacs Foundation, several Universities, and 123 patients treated in Units of Pain of nine Spanish hospitals participated in this study.

Previous research had found that the disability generated by low back pain was directly associated with feelings such as fear and catastrophism, that is, those patients who dramatized their situation, suffered a more limiting pain

Dr. Jenny Moix, lead author of the study and professor of psychology at the Autonomous University of Barcelona, ​​explained that previous research had found that the disability generated by back pain was directly associated with feelings such as fear and catastrophism, is say, that those patients who dramatized their situation, suffered a more limiting pain.

In other studies it has been observed that, in addition, cultural factors influence psychological factors and, for example, studies conducted with Spanish patients showed that some of these factors, such as avoidance behavior, catastrophism or even fear, did not produce no relevant effect on them.

Research with Spanish patients has shown that the level of anxiety presented by these patients is the only psychological factor that is related to the degree of disability caused by back pain. But understanding this level of anxiety, as Professor Moix explains, as anxious as an individual (trait of his personality) and not as anxiety that can show in a particular situation or time.

Dr. Kovacs points out that, according to the data obtained, new studies are needed to check whether back pain and the resulting disability "is worse in those patients with more anxious personalities" and if, if so, establish targeted treatments To reduce the anxiety of those patients, it would also improve their pain and the disability they suffer.

Source: Kovacs Foundation

10 Types of Pain That Are Directly Linked To Your Emotions (November 2019).

Dans les pays développés, le mal de dos affecte plus de 70% de la population à un moment de leur vie et les problèmes de bas du dos sont la principale cause de la demande de soins de santé chez les adultes, entraînant un coût annuel équivalent à 1,7% du produit intérieur brut.

Plus de 70% des coûts engendrés par les douleurs lombaires sont également attribués aux patients chroniques (ceux qui souffrent de maux de dos depuis plus de trois mois) alors qu'ils représentent moins de 20% du total.

Dr. Francisco M. Kovacs, président de la Fondation Kovacs et co-auteur de l'étude, affirme que la plupart de ces coûts sont dus à la diminution de l'activité des personnes affectées, notamment les congés de maladie, ce qui souligne l'importance de prévenir ou réduire le handicap des personnes touchées.

En raison de la forte prévalence des maux de dos et de leurs conséquences, un groupe de chercheurs espagnols a réalisé une étude récemment publiée dans la revue Médecine de la douleur, pour déterminer l’influence de la facteurs psychologiques sur le degré d'incapacité causée par ces pathologies. 52 médecins et psychologues de la Fondation Kovacs, de plusieurs universités et 123 patients traités dans les unités de traitement de la douleur de neuf hôpitaux espagnols ont participé à cette étude.

Des recherches antérieures avaient montré que l'invalidité générée par la douleur au bas du dos était directement associée à des sentiments tels que la peur et le catastrophisme, c'est-à-dire que les patients qui dramatisaient leur situation souffraient d'une douleur plus réductrice.

Jenny Moix, auteur principal de l’étude et professeur de psychologie à l’Université autonome de Barcelone, a expliqué que des recherches antérieures avaient montré que le handicap généré par le mal de dos était directement associé à des sentiments tels que la peur et le catastrophisme. dire que les patients qui ont dramatisé leur situation ont subi une douleur plus limitante.

Dans d'autres études, il a été observé que des facteurs culturels influaient sur des facteurs psychologiques. Par exemple, des études menées auprès de patients espagnols ont montré que certains de ces facteurs, tels que le comportement d'évitement, le catastrophisme ou même la peur, ne produisaient aucun effet pertinent sur eux.

Des recherches menées auprès de patients espagnols ont montré que le niveau d'anxiété présenté par ces patients est le seul facteur psychologique lié au degré d'invalidité provoqué par le mal de dos. Mais comme l'explique le professeur Moix, il est important de comprendre ce niveau d'anxiété aussi anxieux qu'un individu (trait de sa personnalité) et non comme l'anxiété pouvant se manifester dans une situation ou à un moment donnés.

Le Dr Kovacs souligne que, selon les données obtenues, de nouvelles études sont nécessaires pour vérifier si le mal de dos et l'invalidité qui en résulte "s'aggravent chez les patients aux personnalités plus anxieuses" et, le cas échéant, la mise en place de traitements ciblés. Réduire l’anxiété de ces patients permettrait également d’améliorer leur douleur et leur handicap.

Source: Fondation Kovacs

Les ondes scalaires, les ondes qui soignent (Août 2019).