In 2012, the first human trial of a vaccine to combat type I diabetes could be conducted, which would be tested with children and adolescents free of the disease but who presented a significant risk of developing it, as reported by Ramón Gomis, Director of the Biomedical Research Center in the Diabetes Network in Spain.

The vaccine is being developed by the Spanish scientist Pere Santamaria, and his team at the University of Calgary, in Canada.

Scientists have already identified the markers that indicate the potential risk of developing this type of diabetes, so when the vaccine has been completed, we will proceed to evaluate the people most likely to suffer type I diabetes and begin therapy with them.

In principle, it is expected that the vaccine will be administered to children who have an absolute risk of developing the disease in the next three or four years, as explained by Santamaría, who points out that although markers are already known that confirm that a child develop diabetes, not yet used because at this time you can not prevent the disease appears, so knowing that the child will get sick would only cause anguish to their parents.

In children and adolescents, diabetes occurs in ten cases per 100,000 people. The specialist said that it is a sector of the population that arouses much concern about the health problems that diabetes can cause in the future, and that is why it is a challenge to design a vaccine that prevents the onset of the disease.

EUROPE PRESS

JDRF walk raises money to find a cure for Type 1 diabetes (November 2019).

En 2012, le premier essai humain d'un vaccin contre le diabète de type I pourrait être mené. Ce vaccin serait testé sur des enfants et des adolescents indemnes de la maladie mais présentant un risque significatif de le développer, comme l'a rapporté Ramón Gomis. Directeur du centre de recherche biomédicale du réseau du diabète en Espagne.

Le vaccin est actuellement mis au point par le scientifique espagnol Pere Santamaria et son équipe de l’Université de Calgary, au Canada.

Les scientifiques ont déjà identifié les marqueurs indiquant le risque potentiel de développer ce type de diabète. Dès que le vaccin sera terminé, nous procéderons à l'évaluation des personnes les plus susceptibles de souffrir du diabète de type I et commencerons le traitement. avec eux.

En principe, on s'attend à ce que le vaccin soit administré aux enfants présentant un risque absolu de développer la maladie au cours des trois ou quatre prochaines années, comme l'explique Santamaría, qui souligne que, bien que l'on connaisse déjà des marqueurs confirmant qu'un enfant développer un diabète, pas encore utilisé parce qu'à ce moment-là vous ne pouvez pas empêcher la maladie d'apparaître, donc savoir que l'enfant va tomber malade ne ferait que causer de l'angoisse à leurs parents.

Chez les enfants et les adolescents, le diabète survient dans 10 cas sur 100 000 personnes. Le spécialiste a déclaré que c’est un secteur de la population qui suscite beaucoup d’inquiétude quant aux problèmes de santé que le diabète pourrait causer à l’avenir. C’est pourquoi il est difficile de concevoir un vaccin qui prévienne l’apparition de la maladie.

EUROPE PRESSE

Enquête vaccination N°6-Papillomavirus, Hépatites, vaccins hexavalents & mort subite du nourrisson (Septembre 2019).