An outbreak of meningitis in Chile, which has cost the lives of at least seven people, has caused an increase in the demand for vaccines against this infectious disease. In fact, the government of this country has just launched a campaign to vaccinate all children aged between 9 months and 5 years, which are considered the main risk group.

The Chilean Minister of Health, Jaime Mañalich, has assured that 1.9 million vaccines have already been acquired against the strain of meningococcal meningitis W-135 -Responsible for this outbreak, and that will be administered free of charge to children who are in that age group.

The government of Chile has launched a campaign to vaccinate all children aged between 9 months and 5 years, considered the main risk group

Chile is one of the countries of Latin America - along with Argentina, Brazil and Uruguay - where the incidence of meningitis is higher, but this outbreak of bacterial meningitis stands out because of its aggressiveness and because, so far this year, They have confirmed 99 cases of infected people throughout the country, while between 2007 and 2011 an average of 90 cases were detected.

Although health officials want to continue extending vaccination from January as a preventive measure, they believe that the population should not be alarmed because an epidemic outbreak of meningitis, according to the definition of the Center for Disease Studies in the United States, implies that more ten cases per hundred thousand inhabitants, which has not happened in Chile, despite the fact that an increase in the number of cases has been detected with respect to other years.

In addition to the prophylaxis offered by the vaccine, health professionals have insisted that other effective preventive measures be taken, such as washing hands frequently and ventilating houses and other enclosed spaces. They also recommend that parents be alert and consult the doctor if their children have symptoms such as headache and high fever.

February 2019 ACIP Meeting - Meningococcal Vaccines (November 2019).

Une épidémie de méningite au Chili, qui a coûté la vie à au moins sept personnes, a entraîné une augmentation de la demande de vaccins contre cette maladie infectieuse. En fait, le gouvernement de ce pays vient de lancer une campagne visant à vacciner tous les enfants âgés de 9 mois à 5 ans, considérés comme le principal groupe à risque.

Le ministre chilien de la Santé, Jaime Mañalich, a assuré que 1,9 million de vaccins avaient déjà été acquis contre la souche de méningite à méningocoques W-135 - Responsable de cette éclosion, qui sera administrée gratuitement aux enfants de ce groupe d'âge.

Le gouvernement du Chili a lancé une campagne de vaccination de tous les enfants âgés de 9 mois à 5 ans, considéré comme le principal groupe à risque

Le Chili est l’un des pays d’Amérique latine - avec l’Argentine, le Brésil et l’Uruguay - où l’incidence de la méningite est plus élevée, mais cette épidémie de méningite bactérienne se distingue par son agressivité et par le fait Ils ont confirmé 99 cas de personnes infectées dans tout le pays, tandis qu'entre 2007 et 2011, 90 cas en moyenne ont été détectés.

Bien que les responsables de la santé souhaitent prolonger la vaccination à partir de janvier à titre préventif, ils estiment toutefois que la population ne doit pas s’inquiéter, car une épidémie de méningite, selon la définition du Center for Disease Studies aux États-Unis, implique que dix cas pour cent mille habitants, ce qui n’est pas arrivé au Chili, en dépit du fait qu’un nombre croissant de cas a été détecté par rapport aux autres années.

En plus de la prophylaxie offerte par le vaccin, les professionnels de la santé ont insisté pour que d’autres mesures préventives efficaces soient prises, telles que le lavage fréquent des mains et la ventilation des maisons et autres espaces clos. Ils recommandent également aux parents de rester vigilants et de consulter leur médecin si leurs enfants présentent des symptômes tels que maux de tête et fièvre élevée.

Niger: une épidémie de méningite fait plus de 100 morts (Août 2019).