Gout is increasing its incidence in developed countries, and experts attribute it to an inadequate diet and pathologies related to the aging of the population. This rheumatic disease affects approximately one percent of adults, a figure that reaches up to six percent when it comes to men over 70 years old, according to the results of a study conducted in the United States.

During the celebration of the XLI National Congress of the Spanish Society of Nephrology, Dr. José Luño, head of the Nephrology Service of the Gregorio Marañón Hospital in Madrid, has pointed out that young people do not follow an adequate diet and this, together with other factors such as sedentary lifestyle, obesity, and excessive consumption of alcohol, increase possibilities of developing gout.

Gout attacks can leave sequelae, such as damage to bones and joints, or the appearance of bumps around the joints

Gout occurs when the levels of uric acid in the organism they are very high and this is prolonged in time, either by an increase in their production or because it is not eliminated correctly. The disease manifests itself with the sudden and painful inflammation of the big toe, although it can also occur in other areas of the foot, such as the ankle, or in the hands, knees ...

It is common for gout attacks to recur once a patient has suffered one, and that new seizures affect a greater number of joints. Over time, the attacks leave sequels, such as damage to bones and joints, which can be deformed and reduced functionality, pain, or the appearance of bumps around the joints, which are known as tophi. In addition, the continued excess of uric acid, the hyperuricemia, may cause the appearance of kidney stones.

Treatment for hyperuricemia

A medicine recently approved in Spain to treat chronic hyperuricaemia, febuxostat, has been presented at the congress, which has proven its effectiveness in the trials carried out by decreasing and maintaining uric acid levels in most patients treated below 6.0 mg / dl, significantly reducing attacks of gout and tophi.

Dr. Luño has assured that it is a very effective medicine and well tolerated by patients, and that it can exert a positive action in those patients with renal failure.

Source: COM HEALTH

What's Going on with Gout? (November 2019).

La goutte augmente son incidence dans les pays développés et les experts l’attribuent à une alimentation inadéquate et à des pathologies liées au vieillissement de la population. Selon les résultats d'une étude réalisée aux États-Unis, cette maladie rhumatismale touche environ 1% des adultes, chiffre pouvant atteindre 6% chez les hommes de plus de 70 ans.

Au cours de la célébration du XLI Congrès national des Société Espagnole de NéphrologieJosé Luño, chef du service de néphrologie de l'hôpital Gregorio Marañón de Madrid, a souligné que les jeunes ne suivaient pas un régime alimentaire adéquat, ce qui, associé à d'autres facteurs tels que le mode de vie sédentaire, l'obésité et la consommation excessive possibilités de développer la goutte.

Les attaques de goutte peuvent laisser des séquelles, telles que des lésions des os et des articulations ou l'apparition de bosses autour des articulations.

La goutte se produit lorsque les niveaux de l'acide urique dans l'organisme, ils sont très élevés et cela se prolonge dans le temps, soit par une augmentation de leur production, soit parce qu'ils ne sont pas éliminés correctement. La maladie se manifeste par une inflammation soudaine et douloureuse du gros orteil, bien qu'elle puisse également se produire dans d'autres zones du pied, telles que la cheville, les mains, les genoux ...

Il est courant que les crises de goutte se reproduisent une fois qu'un patient en a subi une, et que de nouvelles crises épileptiques touchent un plus grand nombre d'articulations. Au fil du temps, les attaques laissent des séquelles, telles que des lésions des os et des articulations, pouvant entraîner une déformation et une fonctionnalité réduite, une douleur ou l’apparition de bosses autour des articulations. tophi. En outre, l'excès continu d'acide urique, la hyperuricémie, peut provoquer l'apparition de calculs rénaux.

Traitement de l'hyperuricémie

Le febuxostat, un médicament récemment approuvé en Espagne pour traiter l'hyperuricémie chronique, a été présenté au congrès. Son efficacité a été prouvée dans les essais menés en diminuant et en maintenant les taux d'acide urique chez la 6,0 mg / dl, réduisant considérablement les attaques de goutte et de tophi.

Le Dr Luño a assuré qu'il s'agissait d'un médicament très efficace, bien toléré par les patients et qu'il pouvait exercer une action positive chez les patients insuffisants rénaux.

Source: COM SANTÉ

Czego bałbyś się w średniowieczu? Fear in the Middle Ages (EN ES DE FR IT) | Polimaty #98 Dubrovnik (Août 2019).