A better coordination of the health system of each autonomous community would save a thousand people each year suffering an acute myocardial infarction (AMI), as explained by experts gathered last Wednesday at a press conference organized by the Spanish Society of Cardiology (SEC) to present the latest developments in the treatment of AMI in Spain.

The most recommended technique for the treatment of acute myocardial infarction, provided that it is performed under the appropriate conditions and quickly, is the primary angioplasty. This technique treats the obstruction of the coronary artery by aspiration of the thrombus and the implantation of a 'stent' (a kind of metal mesh) that resolves the underlying narrowness.

If the health system is well coordinated, from emergency medical systems, hospital and extra-hospital emergency services, coronary and intensive care units, to cardiologists and interventional cardiologists, the patient could arrive in time to be practiced this technique. On the contrary, if this treatment is not available, the infarcted person should be treated with fibrinolysis (intravenous administration of thrombolytics), thus reducing the efficacy by 35%, and increasing the risk of major bleeding.

If the patient manages to be operated on with a primary angioplasty at the appropriate time, his chances of survival are 95%

In this sense, the speed of response is key in the prognosis of this pathology that affects 70,000 Spaniards every year, of which, although 40,000 arrive alive at the hospital, 15% of the latter can not survive. In the words of the president of the SEC, Dr. Carlos Macaya, "time is very important, so at the moment when the individual or relatives believe that it can be a heart attack, for that intense pain, they should take contact with out-of-hospital emergency services to be diagnosed as soon as possible ".

Such is the importance of the time that if the patient manages to be operated on with a primary angioplasty at the appropriate time, his chances of survival are 95%. "If more than 90 or 120 minutes go by, the benefits of angioplasty are lost because all the cells related to the occluded artery will have died and the infarction will have been completed," explains Macaya.

Differences by communities

The doctors have highlighted the enormous variability that exists between the different autonomous communities Spanish hospitals in terms of access to primary angioplasty. In this way, those that already have a healthcare network established for the treatment of IAM, such as Navarra, Murcia, Galicia, Catalonia and the Balearic Islands, have a better response and have managed to carry out, each of them, more than 300 interventions per million inhabitants in the last year, reaching 410 in the case of Navarra. By contrast, the Valencian Community is the community in which fewer angioplasties per million inhabitants were made in 2010, with 122, followed by Asturias, Andalusia and Aragon.

To remedy this variability, cardiologists have presented during the press conference the initiative 'Stent for life', promoted from the European Society of Cardiology (ESC) and supported by the SEC, which aims to give access to primary angioplasty to the greatest number of patients through the implementation of network reperfusion programs for the treatment of acute myocardial infarction.

Experts say that "it is very important that all autonomous communities have a structure that allows patients with AMI to have access to primary angioplasty practiced early, because experience shows (taking the case of Catalonia as an example) that a network reperfusion program can reduce by 5% in absolute value cases of mortality in people who have suffered a heart attack, which would mean, at the state level, 972 lives saved every year".

Despite everything, according to data from the National Registry of Activity in Interventional Cardiology, Spain has increased by 79.2% the number of primary angioplasties performed in the last ten years, from 2,149 in 2000 to 10,339 in 2010.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

Coronary Angioplasty Surgery | Balloon Angioplasty | Nucleus Health (November 2019).

Une meilleure coordination du système de santé de chaque communauté autonome permettrait de sauver chaque année un millier de personnes souffrant d'un infarctus aigu du myocarde (IAM), comme l'ont expliqué des experts réunis mercredi dernier lors d'une conférence de presse organisée par le Société espagnole de cardiologie (SEC) présenter les derniers développements en matière de traitement des IAM en Espagne.

La technique la plus recommandée pour le traitement de l'infarctus aigu du myocarde, à condition qu'elle soit réalisée dans les conditions appropriées et rapidement, est la suivante: angioplastie primaire. Cette technique traite l'obstruction de l'artère coronaire par aspiration du thrombus et implantation d'un «stent» (une sorte de treillis métallique) qui résout l'étroitesse sous-jacente.

Si le système de santé est bien coordonné, qu'il s'agisse de systèmes médicaux d'urgence, de services d'urgence hospitaliers et extra-hospitaliers, d'unités de soins coronariens et de soins intensifs, de cardiologues ou de cardiologues d'intervention, le patient pourrait arriver à temps pratiqué cette technique. Au contraire, si ce traitement n’est pas disponible, la personne infarctue doit être traitée avec fibrinolyse (administration intraveineuse de thrombolytiques), ce qui réduit l'efficacité de 35% et augmente le risque d'hémorragie majeure.

Si le patient est opéré d'une angioplastie primaire au moment opportun, ses chances de survie sont de 95%.

En ce sens, la rapidité de réponse est essentielle dans le pronostic de cette pathologie qui touche chaque année 70 000 Espagnols, dont 40 000 arrivent vivants à l’hôpital, mais 15% de ceux-ci ne peuvent pas survivre. Pour le président de la SEC, le Dr Carlos Macaya, "le temps est très important, donc au moment où la personne ou ses proches pensent qu'il peut s'agir d'une crise cardiaque, ils doivent prendre tout contact avec les services d’urgence extra-hospitaliers doit être diagnostiqué dans les meilleurs délais ".

Telle est l’importance du moment où, si le patient parvient à subir une angioplastie primitive au moment opportun, ses chances de survie sont de 95%. "Si plus de 90 ou 120 minutes s'écoulent, les avantages de l'angioplastie sont perdus, car toutes les cellules liées à l'artère obstruée seront mortes et l'infarctus sera terminé", explique Macaya.

Différences par communautés

Les médecins ont souligné l'énorme variabilité qui existe entre les différents communautés autonomes Hôpitaux espagnols en termes d’accès à l’angioplastie primaire. Ainsi, ceux qui disposent déjà d'un réseau de soins de santé pour le traitement de l'IAM, tels que Navarre, Murcie, Galice, Catalogne et les Baléares, ont une meilleure réponse et ont réussi à effectuer chacun plus de 300 interventions. par million d’habitants la dernière année, atteignant 410 dans le cas de la Navarre. En revanche, la Communauté de Valence est la communauté dans laquelle moins d'angioplasties par million d'habitants ont été enregistrées en 2010, avec 122, suivies des Asturies, de l'Andalousie et d'Aragon.

Pour remédier à cette variabilité, les cardiologues ont présenté lors de la conférence de presse l’initiative «Stent for life», promue du Société européenne de cardiologie (ESC) et soutenu par la SEC, qui vise à donner accès au plus grand nombre de patients à l'angioplastie primaire par la mise en œuvre de programmes de reperfusion en réseau pour le traitement de l'infarctus aigu du myocarde.

Selon les experts, "il est très important que toutes les communautés autonomes disposent d'une structure permettant aux patients atteints d'un IAM d'avoir accès à l'angioplastie primaire pratiquée à un stade précoce, car l'expérience montre (en prenant comme exemple le cas de la Catalogne) programme de reperfusion en réseau peut réduire de 5% en valeur absolue les cas de mortalité des personnes ayant subi une crise cardiaque, ce qui signifierait, au niveau de l’Etat, 972 vies sauvées chaque année".

Malgré tout, selon les données du registre national des activités de cardiologie interventionnelle, l’Espagne a augmenté de 79,2% le nombre d’angioplasties primitives pratiquées au cours des dix dernières années, passant de 2 149 en 2000 à 10 339 en 2010.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

Best of ESC Congress 2012 recording (Août 2019).