A clinical trial has tested a drug that was originally developed for the treatment of cancer in patients with progeria - a disease that affects children and causes premature aging - with satisfactory results.

Progeria is a deadly disease that is also known as Progeria syndrome of Hutchinson-Gilford (SPHG) and whose cause, discovered in 2003, is a genetic mutation that generates the progerin protein, responsible for the appearance of the pathology.

Children born with this mutation age and die early-the average age of death is 13 years-because progeria accelerates the onset of cardiovascular diseases that normally affect adults from 60 or 70 years but that , in this case, they occur in children of five years, who can suffer from a myocardial infarction to a stroke.

Children with Progeria showed significant improvement in several aspects such as weight gain, skeletal rigidity and, above all, in their cardiovascular system

The drug used in the study, which involved 28 children from 16 countries, and whose results have been published in 'Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences', is a farnesyl transferase inhibitor (IFT) called lonafarnib. Progerin prevents cells from carrying out their functions normally, and for this purpose uses a molecule called 'farnesyl group' that binds to this protein. IFTs have the ability to block the binding of the 'farnesyl group' to progerin.

The research was developed in the Clinical and Translational Studies Unit of the Boston Children's Hospital, where children IFT lonafarnib was administered orally twice a day, and subjected to various tests and periodic tests to check its evolution, for two years. and a half.

The scientists found that the minors showed significant improvement in several aspects such as weight gain - thanks to the increase in muscle and bone mass - skeletal stiffness - which reached normal levels after the therapy - and, above all, in their system cardiovascular (improved vascular wall density and arterial stiffness was reduced by 35%).

The results of the study open a path of hope in the treatment of progeria and, since progerin also increases naturally with the age of people, continuing to investigate the effect of IFT on this protein will help to better understand the process of aging in humans, as well as cardiovascular diseases associated with age.

Source: Progeria Research Foundation (PRF)

First-ever Therapy to Demonstrate Survival Benefit in Progeria (November 2019).

Un essai clinique a testé un médicament initialement mis au point pour le traitement du cancer chez les patients atteints de progeria - une maladie qui affecte les enfants et provoque un vieillissement prématuré - avec des résultats satisfaisants.

La progeria est une maladie mortelle connue également sous le nom de Syndrome de Progeria de Hutchinson-Gilford (SPHG) et dont la cause, découverte en 2003, est une mutation génétique qui génère la protéine progérine, responsable de l’apparition de la pathologie.

Les enfants nés avec cet âge de mutation et meurent prématurément - l'âge moyen du décès est de 13 ans - car la progéria accélère l'apparition de maladies cardiovasculaires qui affectent normalement les adultes de 60 à 70 ans, mais , dans ce cas, ils surviennent chez les enfants de cinq ans, qui peuvent souffrir d’un infarctus du myocarde à un accident vasculaire cérébral.

Les enfants atteints de Progeria ont montré une amélioration significative dans plusieurs aspects tels que la prise de poids, la rigidité du squelette et, surtout, leur système cardiovasculaire.

Le médicament utilisé dans l'étude, auquel ont participé 28 enfants de 16 pays et dont les résultats ont été publiés dans "Actes de l'Académie nationale des sciences", est un inhibiteur de la farnésyl transférase (IFT) appelé lonafarnib. La progérine empêche les cellules de s'acquitter normalement de leurs fonctions et utilise à cet effet une molécule appelée «groupe farnésyle» qui se lie à cette protéine. Les IFT ont la capacité de bloquer la liaison du «groupe farnésyle» à la progérine.

La recherche a été développée au sein de l'unité d'études cliniques et translationnelles du Boston Children's Hospital, où les enfants IFT lonafarnib ont été administrés oralement deux fois par jour, et soumis à divers tests et tests périodiques pour en vérifier l'évolution, pendant deux ans. et demi

Les scientifiques ont constaté que les mineurs présentaient une amélioration significative sur plusieurs aspects, tels que la prise de poids - grâce à l'augmentation de la masse musculaire et osseuse - la raideur du squelette - qui a retrouvé un niveau normal après le traitement - et surtout, leur système cardiovasculaire (réduction de 35% de la densité de la paroi vasculaire et de la rigidité artérielle).

Les résultats de l'étude ouvrent une voie d'espoir dans le traitement de la progéria et, comme la progérine augmente aussi naturellement avec l'âge des personnes, continuer à étudier l'effet de l'IFT sur cette protéine aidera à mieux comprendre le processus. du vieillissement chez l'homme, ainsi que des maladies cardiovasculaires associées à l'âge.

Source: Fondation de recherche Progeria (PRF)

Médicaments dangereux : réactions des patients (Août 2019).