According to data from a study by the National Center for Oncological Research (CNIO), which have been published in the journal Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS), the antibodies that block the VEGF protein, which are currently used as an anticancer agent, could be used in the future to treat psoriasis, since they have demonstrated their ability to reduce the symptoms of this skin disease, decreasing the thickness and inflammation of the dermis.

For the trial, the scientists used mice, which showed an increase in VEGF, with excessive formation of blood vessels in the skin. They were given anti-VEGF, and a decrease in the symptoms of psoriasis could be observed, showing almost normal skin, as well as a reduction in the number of blood vessels.

Researchers Helia B. Schonthaler and Erwin Wagner, from the CNIO, explained that the skin of the mice had an epidermal architecture very close to normal, and a smaller number of blood vessels, which were also smaller. Therefore, the possibility of using anti-VEGF antibodies as a new treatment for people with psoriasis.

This research may help not only cancer patients, but also people suffering from psoriasis, because antibodies to block VEGF are being used to treat both types of diseases.

Psoriasis: Types, Symptoms, Causes, Pathology, and Treatment, Animation (November 2019).

Selon les données d'une étude du Centre national de recherche oncologique (CNIO) publiées dans la revue Actes de l'Académie nationale des sciences (PNAS), les anticorps qui bloquent la protéine VEGF, qui sont actuellement utilisés en tant qu’agents anticancéreux, pourraient être utilisés à l’avenir pour traiter le psoriasis, car ils ont démontré leur capacité à réduire les symptômes de cette maladie de la peau, en diminuant la épaisseur et inflammation du derme.

Pour l’essai, les scientifiques ont utilisé des souris présentant une augmentation de VEGF, avec formation excessive de vaisseaux sanguins dans la peau. Ils ont reçu un anti-VEGF et une diminution des symptômes du psoriasis a été observée, montrant une peau presque normale, ainsi qu'une réduction du nombre de vaisseaux sanguins.

Les chercheurs Helia B. Schonthaler et Erwin Wagner, du CNIO, ont expliqué que la peau des souris avait une architecture épidermique très proche de la normale et un nombre réduit de vaisseaux sanguins, qui étaient également plus petits. Par conséquent, la possibilité d'utiliser des anticorps anti-VEGF en tant que nouveau traitement pour les personnes atteintes de psoriasis.

Cette recherche pourrait aider non seulement les patients atteints de cancer, mais également les personnes souffrant de psoriasis, car des anticorps anti-VEGF sont utilisés pour traiter les deux types de maladies.

Le jeune est nuisible pour les traitements contre les cancers ou leur prévention (Septembre 2019).