For the first time in our country, an altruistic donor or 'Good Samaritan' has donated his kidney to a stranger. This fact has also led to a chain of kidney transplants that have been carried out in the Virgen de las Nieves Hospital of Granada and the Puigvert Foundation of Barcelona.

In this chain of interventions a total of six people have participated: the aforementioned 'Good Samaritan', two couples (with one donor and one recipient each) and one last recipient who was on the waiting list of a deceased donor for three years. The six interventions were carried out on April 6 in both hospitals "in just a few hours", between eight in the morning at five in the afternoon of that day, and both the donors and the recipients have already been discharged. They find good health.

The chain began thanks to the disinterested will of a man who decided to donate his kidney to a stranger

The chain began thanks to the disinterested will of a man who decided to donate his kidney to a stranger. In turn, the recipient of that kidney donated his, which was received by another recipient in Granada, and whose partner, in turn, donated his kidney again to a citizen who was on the waiting list in Barcelona. In the case of the two couples, it was the man who received the transplant and the woman who donated one of her kidneys.

The good organization between the ONT, the regional transplant coordinators and the professionals of both hospitals has been key in the good evolution of the operation. For Dr. Matesanz, the great "advantage" is that "those who have traveled have been the organs", and not the donors or recipients.

The figure of the good Samaritan

The beginning of this chain would not have been possible without the generosity of the 'Good Samaritan' donor, a figure approved in 2010 by the ONT and the communities to encourage kidney transplantation from living donors, and since its announcement a total of of 35 people, of which 18 have been rejected for various physical or psychological causes.

"Donors are always altruistic, but in this case they are more so since they donate their kidney live to a person they do not know," said Dr. Matesanz, who acknowledges that "he is the man of the day and even of the year." This good Samaritan, of whom it is only known that it is male and religious, he had to pass different recognitions to evaluate his physical and psychic state and to verify that he was "the adequate donor", for which he is asked not to have any health problem and that his action is "voluntary and disinterested".

The 'Good Samaritan' donor, who maintains his anonymity, acknowledges that, in addition to feeling "lighter" after the intervention, he decided to offer this chain of donations live because it seems "a prodigious and fascinating option that gives the life a meaning of joy distributed to others that benefits everyone ".

"Giving, I receive much more than the one I receive," the donor insisted, acknowledging that he made the decision after being "for administrative reasons" in a Latin American prison where organ trafficking was discussed.

The recipient of the last of the transplants has appreciated the "good action" performed by this citizen, who considers "a fantastic person" who "would love to know to thank him", although the law prohibits it. "Now I have projects, I can go out with my husband, I find myself as a normal and free person, and not before," this woman acknowledged.

Do you want to donate?

The ONT has a cross-renal transplant program in which there are a total of 13 attached centers and which can target those kidney patients who need a transplant and have a partner or family member who are willing to donate but are not compatible. So far, a total of 62 couples have registered and four chain transplants have been carried out, all without a 'good Samaritan' donor.

"If the donor does not have any risk factor, the possibility of developing renal failure when staying with a kidney is very low or nonexistent"

In addition, Matesanz points out, the live kidney donation that these chains require, as well as the figure of the 'good samaritan', has a very low risk for the donor. "If the donor does not have any risk factor, not even hypertension or obesity, the possibility of developing kidney failure when staying with a kidney is very low or none," he explained. In fact, he adds, "sometimes they have even greater survival, and not because it's healthy to donate a kidney, but because they're very well-selected people."

Requirements

The living donor kidney transplant is regulated in Spain by the Transplant Act 30/1979, applied by Royal Decree 2070/1999.The Spanish legislation allows the donation in life of an organ, as long as this donation is compatible with life and the function of the organ or part of it is compensated by the organism. These are conditions that occur in living kidney donation. And, although it does not refer to the figure of the 'Good Samaritan', our law allows donation among unrelated people.

As happens in the donation between relatives, it is essential that the altruistic donor or 'good Samaritan' gives his consent in an express, free and disinterested way. As well must be of legal age, be in full faculties and in perfect physical and mental health. For this, it will be evaluated by different health professionals. The ethics committee of the transplant center must also issue a report favorable to the donation.

Subsequently, the donor will declare before a judge of the civil registry his will to donate a kidney without any condition, in the presence of the doctor who is going to perform the extraction, the hospital transplant coordinator and the doctor who has certified his health status.

As a patient, the only requirements that are required is to suffer from a kidney disease that requires a transplant and to have a partner or a non-compatible donor family member.

Hospitals must be accredited to participate in the kidney transplant program with cross donation. Currently they are and 13 Spanish centers assigned:

  • Hospital Clínic i Provincial de Barcelona.
  • Hospital Doce de Octubre in Madrid.
  • Fundació Puigvert Hospital of Barcelona.
  • Hospital University Complex of A Coruña.
  • University Hospital of Bellvitge, Barcelona.
  • University Hospital of La Paz, Madrid.
  • Virgen de las Nieves Hospital in Granada.
  • Virgen del Rocío Hospital in Seville.
  • Germans Trías i Pujol of Badalona
  • Hospital Puerta del Mar in Cádiz
  • Sant Joan de Deu, from Barcelona
  • Carlos Haya Hospital in Málaga
  • Hospital la Fe de Valencia

Source: EUROPA PRESS / ONT

Kidney Donor Chain (November 2019).

Pour la première fois dans notre pays, un donneur altruiste ou "Bon Samaritain" a fait don de son rein à un étranger. Ce fait a également conduit à une chaîne de greffes de rein qui ont été effectuées dans les Hôpital Virgen de las Nieves de Grenade et la Fondation Puigvert de Barcelone.

Dans cette chaîne d'interventions un total de six personnes ont participé: le «bon samaritain» susmentionné, deux couples (avec un donneur et un receveur chacun) et un dernier receveur inscrit sur la liste d'attente d'un donneur décédé depuis trois ans. Les six interventions ont été effectuées le 6 avril dans les deux hôpitaux "en quelques heures seulement", entre huit heures du matin et cinq heures de l'après-midi de la journée. Les donneurs et les receveurs ont déjà été libérés. Ils trouvent une bonne santé.

La chaîne a commencé grâce à la volonté désintéressée d'un homme qui a décidé de donner son rein à un étranger

La chaîne a commencé grâce à la volonté désintéressée d'un homme qui a décidé de faire don de son rein à un étranger. À son tour, le destinataire de ce rein a fait don du sien, qui a été reçu par un autre destinataire à Grenade, et dont le partenaire, à son tour, a à nouveau fait don de son rein à un citoyen figurant sur la liste d'attente à Barcelone. Dans le cas des deux couples, c'est l'homme qui a reçu la greffe et la femme qui a fait don de l'un de ses reins.

La bonne organisation entre l'ONT, les coordinateurs régionaux de transplantation et les professionnels des deux hôpitaux a été essentielle à la bonne évolution de l'opération. Pour M. Matesanz, le grand "avantage" est que "ceux qui ont voyagé sont les organes" et non les donneurs ou les receveurs.

La figure du bon Samaritain

Le début de cette chaîne n'aurait pas été possible sans la générosité du donneur «Bon Samaritain», un chiffre approuvé en 2010 par l'ONT et les communautés pour encourager la transplantation de rein provenant de donneurs vivants, et depuis son annonce, un total de de 35 personnes, dont 18 ont été rejetées pour diverses causes physiques ou psychologiques.

"Les donneurs sont toujours altruistes, mais dans le cas présent ils le sont davantage puisqu'ils font don de leur rein à une personne qu'ils ne connaissent pas", a déclaré le Dr Matesanz, qui reconnaît qu'il "est l'homme du jour et même de l'année". Ce bon Samaritain, dont on sait seulement qu'il est masculin et religieux, il a dû passer différentes reconnaissances pour évaluer son état physique et psychique et pour vérifier qu'il était "le donneur adéquat", pour lequel il lui était demandé de ne pas avoir de problème de santé et que son action était "volontaire et désintéressée".

Le donateur "Bon Samaritain", qui maintient son anonymat, reconnaît que, en plus de se sentir "plus léger" après l'intervention, il a décidé d'offrir cette chaîne de dons en direct, car il semble "une option prodigieuse et fascinante qui donne la vie un sens de la joie distribué aux autres qui profite à tous ".

"En donnant, je reçois bien plus que ce que je reçois", a insisté le donateur, reconnaissant qu'il avait pris la décision après avoir été "pour des raisons administratives" dans une prison latino-américaine où le trafic d'organes avait été évoqué.

Le destinataire de la dernière des greffes a apprécié la "bonne action" de ce citoyen, qui considère "une personne fantastique" qui "aimerait savoir le remercier", bien que la loi l'interdise. "Maintenant, j'ai des projets, je peux sortir avec mon mari, je me trouve comme une personne normale et libre, et pas avant", a reconnu cette femme.

Voulez-vous faire un don?

L’ONT dispose d’un programme de transplantation rénale impliquant 13 centres rattachés et pouvant cibler les patients insuffisants rénaux nécessitant une greffe et dont le partenaire ou un membre de la famille accepte de faire un don mais qui ne sont pas compatibles. Jusqu'à présent, 62 couples se sont inscrits et quatre greffes de chaînes ont été effectuées, toutes sans donneur «bon Samaritain».

"Si le donneur n'a aucun facteur de risque, la possibilité de développer une insuffisance rénale lors d'un séjour avec un rein est très faible ou inexistante"

En outre, souligne Matesanz, le don de rein vivant nécessaire à ces chaînes, ainsi que le chiffre du «bon samaritain», présentent un risque très faible pour le donneur. "Si le donneur ne présente aucun facteur de risque, pas même d'hypertension ou d'obésité, la possibilité de développer une insuffisance rénale lors d'un séjour avec un rein est très faible, voire nulle", a-t-il expliqué. En fait, ajoute-t-il, "ils ont parfois une survie encore meilleure, pas parce qu'il est sain de donner un rein, mais parce qu'ils sont très bien choisis".

Les exigences

La greffe de rein de donneur vivant est régie en Espagne par la loi sur les greffes 30/1979, appliquée par le décret royal 2070/1999.La législation espagnole autorise le don dans la vie d’un organe, à condition que ce don soit compatible avec la vie et que la fonction de tout ou partie de l’organe soit compensée par l’organisme. Ce sont des conditions qui surviennent lors d'un don de rein vivant. Et, bien que cela ne se réfère pas à la figure du «bon samaritain», notre loi autorise les dons entre personnes non apparentées.

Comme dans le cas d'un don entre parents, il est essentiel que le donneur altruiste ou «bon samaritain» donne son consentement de manière expresse, libre et désintéressée. Aussi doit être majeur, en pleine faculté et en parfaite santé physique et mentale. Pour cela, il sera évalué par différents professionnels de la santé. Le comité d'éthique du centre de transplantation doit également émettre un rapport favorable au don.

Par la suite, le donneur déclarera devant un juge de l'état civil son intention de donner un rein sans aucune condition, en présence du médecin qui procédera à l'extraction, du coordinateur de la transplantation de l'hôpital et du médecin qui a certifié son état de santé.

En tant que patient, les seules exigences requises sont de souffrir d’une maladie rénale nécessitant une greffe et d’avoir un partenaire ou un membre de la famille du donneur incompatible.

Les hôpitaux doivent être accrédités pour participer au programme de greffe de rein avec dons croisés. Actuellement ils sont et 13 centres espagnols assignés:

  • Hôpital Clinique et Provincial de Barcelone.
  • Hôpital Doce de Octubre à Madrid.
  • Hôpital Fundació Puigvert de Barcelone.
  • Centre hospitalo-universitaire de La Corogne.
  • Hôpital Universitaire de Bellvitge, Barcelone.
  • Hôpital Universitaire de La Paz, Madrid.
  • Hôpital Virgen de las Nieves à Grenade.
  • Hôpital Virgen del Rocío à Séville.
  • Allemands Trías i Pujol de Badalona
  • Hôpital Puerta del Mar à Cadix
  • Sant Joan de Deu, de Barcelone
  • Hôpital Carlos Haya à Málaga
  • Hôpital la Fe de Valencia

Source: EUROPA PRESS / ONT

Joseph Conrad - Au Cœur des ténèbres - Livre audio, Hippocampe (Août 2019).