'Amniochip'is the name of a device of Spanish origin that is able to detect up to 150 different genetic syndromes in the baby before it is born. Problems, such as malformations or idiopathic mental retardation, that are not detected with a conventional karyotype. For this he uses genetic chips known as microarray, which have a diagnostic resolution a hundred times more refined than the usual cytogenetic techniques.

Another advantage is that it is able to give reliable results in two days, compared to the three weeks that usually take other techniques to provide results of this type.

However, the procedure required is very similar to that used by the other techniques. A standard amniocentesis is required, the difference is in the amount of amniotic fluid that needs to be obtained, that with the Amniochip is only 8 or 10 milliliters, and that it is subsequently sent to the laboratory for processing.

The experts who have promoted this device point out that it is especially indicated, always under the prescription of the gynecologist, for pregnant women over 35, those couples who may have had cases in their families of genetic syndromes or who have previously suffered spontaneous abortions, and pregnant women with triple positive marker or to which an ultrasound has made them suspect the existence of some type of malformation.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

'Amniochip'est le nom d'un appareil d'origine espagnole capable de détecter jusqu'à 150 syndromes génétiques différents chez le bébé avant sa naissance. Des problèmes, tels que des malformations ou un retard mental idiopathique, qui ne sont pas détectés avec un caryotype conventionnel. Pour cela, il utilise des puces génétiques connues sous le nom de microarray, qui ont une résolution diagnostique cent fois plus raffinée que les techniques cytogénétiques habituelles.

Un autre avantage est qu'il est capable de donner des résultats fiables en deux jours, par rapport aux trois semaines qui nécessitent généralement d'autres techniques pour obtenir des résultats de ce type.

Cependant, la procédure requise est très similaire à celle utilisée par les autres techniques. Une amniocentèse standard est requise. La différence réside dans la quantité de liquide amniotique à obtenir, celle avec l’Amniochip n’est que de 8 ou 10 millilitres et il est ensuite envoyé au laboratoire pour traitement.

Les experts qui ont fait la promotion de ce dispositif soulignent qu'il est particulièrement indiqué, toujours sous ordonnance du gynécologue, pour les femmes enceintes de plus de 35 ans, les couples pouvant avoir eu des cas de syndromes génétiques dans leur famille ou ayant déjà subi des avortements spontanés, et les femmes enceintes atteintes marqueur triple positif ou à qui une échographie leur a fait soupçonner l’existence d’un certain type de malformation.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE