Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis, known as ALS, is a rare disease that affects the neurons that take care of the voluntary muscles, progressively degenerating them and causing the paralysis and atrophy of these muscles.

The ELA, which celebrates on Tuesday, June 21, its International Day, is the third most common neurodegenerative disease, and although there is no clear established profile, it is usually diagnosed to middle-aged patients, who come to the specialist after observing clear signs, such as Falls, disturbances in speech, breathing or swallowing.

Experts warn that in Spain the prevalence of this condition, highly disabling, is higher than in other parts of the world; Each year almost 900 new cases are diagnosed, and the total number of affected people is around 4,000 patients. "In Spain, the prevalence of ALS is higher than in other parts of the world, if the normal is one case per 100,000 inhabitants, here this percentage rises to almost 3 per 100,000," explains the doctor of the Laguna Care Center Hospital to Europa Press. Yolanda Zuriarraín, specialist in the assistance to these patients at the end of her life.

The specialist points out that, in addition, life expectancy is not very long, "the average is two to five years since it is diagnosed", since at this time the affected person loses his ability to move and control the voluntary muscles , affecting mobility of the upper and lower extremities, speech, breathing and swallowing.

"It affects the central nervous system - he explains - what produces a degeneration of the neurons of the cerebral cortex, that gives symptoms of progressive muscle weakness in the form of paralysis, which can spread throughout the body, motor alterations that cause you can not walk, or move your hands, so you can not write, eat, etc., this ends up producing the most acute and fatal, which is a respiratory failure".

In the last 20 years much progress has been made in the knowledge of the disease, and new drugs have been discovered that slow down its progression

Although this loss of faculties is progressive, each case evolves and is different, for this reason and due to the lack of knowledge of its origin, "it is a disease that takes time to be diagnosed". However, it does not affect the cognitive plane, that is, intelligence or reasoning is not altered.

"In the last 20 years much progress has been made in the knowledge of the disease, a little more research has been made at the epidemiological level, and the diagnostic criteria have been synthesized or further specified, and new drugs have been discovered that slow down or make that the disease does not progress so quickly, "Zuriarraín observes.

More resources are needed

Although it is a disease that has no cure, the symptoms can be treated so that patients enjoy the best quality of life possible, and for this it is important the assistance offered by multidisciplinary teams.

"These patients need a lot of psychological and functional help," he explains, and with the creation of these teams "much progress has been made", since "they respect the patient's autonomy in their interventions when providing technical, mechanical aids, which can serve to prolong their quality of life. "

In the opinion of this expert, however, there is still a large deficit in the investigation of this pathology, although there are different lines of work throughout the world, but what the sick people need most is greater and better care. In this sense, Zuriarraín demands more resources, since these patients increasingly need antibiotics, occupational therapy or physiotherapy and, in general, "a specific assistance that can make them want to live". "You have to make an action plan with the patient and give life to his life," he adds.

Source: EUROPE PRESS

Comparative Medicine Team Approach Neurodegenerative Diseases (November 2019).

La sclérose latérale amyotrophique, connue sous le nom de SLA, est une maladie rare qui affecte les neurones qui s’occupent des muscles volontaires, les dégénérant progressivement et provoquant la paralysie et l’atrophie de ces muscles.

La ELA, qui célèbre le mardi 21 juin son anniversaire Journée mondiale, est la troisième maladie neurodégénérative la plus répandue et, bien qu’il n’y ait pas de profil clairement établi, elle est généralement diagnostiquée chez les patients d'âge moyen qui consultent le spécialiste après avoir observé des signes évidents, tels que Chutes, troubles de l'élocution, de la respiration ou de la déglutition.

Les experts avertissent qu’en Espagne, la prévalence de cette maladie, très invalidante, est plus élevée que dans d’autres parties du monde; Chaque année, près de 900 nouveaux cas sont diagnostiqués et le nombre total de personnes touchées est d'environ 4 000 patients. «En Espagne, la prévalence de la SLA est plus élevée que dans d’autres parties du monde. Si la normale est d’un cas pour 100 000 habitants, ce pourcentage monte ici à près de 3 pour 100 000», explique le médecin de l’hôpital Laguna Care Center à Europa Press. Yolanda Zuriarraín, spécialiste de l'assistance à ces patients en fin de vie.

Le spécialiste souligne en outre que l'espérance de vie n'est pas très longue, "la moyenne est de deux à cinq ans à partir du moment où elle est diagnostiquée", car à ce moment-là, la personne touchée perd sa capacité de mouvement et de contrôle des muscles volontaires. , affectant la mobilité des membres supérieurs et inférieurs, la parole, la respiration et la déglutition.

"Cela affecte le système nerveux central - explique-t-il - ce qui provoque une dégénérescence des neurones du cortex cérébral, ce qui donne des symptômes de faiblesse musculaire progressive sous forme de paralysie, qui peut se propager dans tout le corps, ainsi que des altérations motrices vous ne pouvez pas marcher, ni bouger vos mains, de sorte que vous ne pouvez pas écrire, manger, etc., cela finit par produire le plus aigu et le plus fatal, ce qui est un insuffisance respiratoire".

Au cours des 20 dernières années, la connaissance de la maladie a beaucoup progressé et de nouveaux médicaments ont été découverts qui ralentissent sa progression.

Bien que cette perte de facultés soit progressive, chaque cas évolue et est différent, pour cette raison et en raison du manque de connaissance de son origine, "c'est une maladie qui prend du temps à diagnostiquer". Cependant, cela n’affecte pas le plan cognitif, c’est-à-dire que l’intelligence ou le raisonnement ne sont pas altérés.

"Au cours des 20 dernières années, la connaissance de la maladie a beaucoup progressé, un peu plus de recherche a été réalisée au niveau épidémiologique, les critères de diagnostic ont été synthétisés ou précisés, et de nouveaux médicaments ont été découverts qui ralentissent ou ralentissent que la maladie ne progresse pas aussi rapidement ", observe Zuriarraín.

Plus de ressources sont nécessaires

Bien qu’il s’agisse d’une maladie incurable, les symptômes peuvent être traités pour que les patients bénéficient de la meilleure qualité de vie possible. Pour cela, il est important que les équipes multidisciplinaires leur apportent leur aide.

"Ces patients ont besoin de beaucoup d'aide psychologique et fonctionnelle", explique-t-il. Avec la création de ces équipes, "beaucoup de progrès ont été accomplis", car "ils respectent l'autonomie du patient dans ses interventions lorsqu'ils fournissent des aides techniques, mécaniques, servir à prolonger leur qualité de vie ".

De l'avis de cet expert, toutefois, l'investigation de cette pathologie présente toujours un déficit important, même s'il existe différentes lignes de travail dans le monde, mais les personnes les plus nécessiteuses ont besoin de soins plus importants et de meilleure qualité. En ce sens, Zuriarraín demande davantage de ressources, car ces patients ont de plus en plus besoin d'antibiotiques, d'ergothérapie ou de physiothérapie et, en général, "d'une assistance spécifique qui peut leur donner envie de vivre". "Vous devez élaborer un plan d'action avec le patient et donner vie à sa vie", ajoute-t-il.

Source: EUROPE PRESSE

Food as Medicine: Preventing and Treating the Most Common Diseases with Diet (Août 2019).