The fear of feeling pain - which is known as algiophobia-, can end up causing as much disability to the patient as the pain itself, according to the experts of the Spanish Society for the Study of Anxiety and Stress (SEAS), who offer on their website different advice to overcome this fear and explain what to do to escape pain.

Among the disorders associated with fear of pain are the 'kinesiofobia', Which is that the person is afraid to move because he believes that this can cause harm. According to a recent investigation that has published Behavior Research Therapy, the problem is that this avoidance of movement is an important risk factor for disability in patients with chronic musculoskeletal pain.

The 'cognifobia'Is another alteration associated with the fear of pain presented in this case by patients suffering from headache frequently. Due to the fear they feel for the appearance of headache, these patients avoid performing cognitive tasks and voluntarily decrease the effort required to carry them out, with the aim of trying to reduce the risk of suffering a headache or, at least, not to intensify their symptoms .

Evade yourself from pain with virtual reality

The use of virtual reality games in 3D is one of the techniques recommended by SEAS specialists to 'forget' pain. As explained by Julia Vidal, psychologist responsible for the Area of ​​Pain of this Society, the use of virtual reality allows the patient to fix their attention elsewhere, which in this case could be a game, so that the brain is distracted, since this body is incapable of attending intensely to two things at the same time.

The positive influence exerted by virtual reality on the decrease in the perception of pain has been proven in several studies. Last year the journal 'Studies in Health Technology and Informatics' published a study carried out by the University of Barcelona in which it was observed that participants who were distracted by the use of virtual reality - and especially if they interacted with the program - reported a less intense perception of pain.

In a study conducted by the University of Barcelona it was observed that participants who were distracted by the use of virtual reality reported a less intense perception of pain

Recently, a virtual reality system called 'Isla calma', developed by the company Nesplora, has just been presented in Spain. It serves to distract patients when they undergo procedures that are bothersome or when it is usual to be afraid of them. pain, as with some medical treatments, minor surgery, certain diagnostic tests, and so on.

This program, which lasts three hours, allows patients to interact with a relaxing scene - there are eight in total - using 3D glasses and a wireless controller. The use of this software is especially recommended during dental treatments, interventions performed with local anesthesia, during the performance of painful or painful diagnostic tests, such as a biopsy, as well as in pain units and for patients who follow chronic treatments.

Source: Spanish Society for the Study of Anxiety and Stress (SEAS)

Stateline Quiz Bowl Season 4 Finale (November 2019).

La peur de ressentir la douleur - qui est connu comme algiophobia-, peut causer au patient autant d'incapacités que la douleur elle-même, selon les experts de la Société espagnole pour l'étude de l'anxiété et du stress (SEAS), qui offrent sur leur site Web différents conseils pour surmonter cette peur et expliquer que faire pour échapper à la douleur

Parmi les troubles associés à la peur de la douleur figurent leskinésiofobie«C’est-à-dire que la personne a peur de bouger parce qu’elle pense que cela peut causer un préjudice. Selon une enquête récente qui a publié Thérapie de recherche comportementaleLe problème est que l’évitement de la mobilité est un facteur de risque important d’invalidité chez les patients souffrant de douleurs musculo-squelettiques chroniques.

Le 'cognifobie«Une autre altération est-elle associée à la peur de la douleur présentée dans ce cas par des patients souffrant de maux de tête fréquents. En raison de la crainte qu’ils éprouvent pour l’apparition de maux de tête, ces patients évitent d’effectuer des tâches cognitives et diminuent volontairement l’effort nécessaire pour les exécuter, dans le but de réduire le risque de souffrir de maux de tête ou, du moins, de ne pas intensifier leurs symptômes. .

Évitez la douleur avec la réalité virtuelle

L'utilisation de jeux de réalité virtuelle en 3D est l'une des techniques recommandées par les spécialistes de SEAS pour «oublier» la douleur. Comme l'explique Julia Vidal, psychologue responsable du domaine de la douleur de cette société, l'utilisation de la réalité virtuelle permet au patient de fixer son attention ailleurs, ce qui pourrait dans ce cas être un jeu, de sorte que le cerveau soit distrait, cet organe est incapable d'assister intensément à deux choses en même temps.

L'influence positive de la réalité virtuelle sur la diminution de la perception de la douleur a été démontrée dans plusieurs études. L'année dernière, la revue 'Studies in Health Technology and Informatics' a publié une étude réalisée par l'Université de Barcelone dans laquelle il était observé que les participants qui étaient distraits par l'utilisation de la réalité virtuelle - et en particulier s'ils interagissaient avec le programme - ont signalé une perception moins intense de la douleur.

Dans une étude menée par l'Université de Barcelone, il a été observé que les participants distraits par l'utilisation de la réalité virtuelle signalaient une perception moins intense de la douleur.

Récemment, un système de réalité virtuelle appelé «Isla calma», développé par la société Nesplora, vient d'être présenté en Espagne afin de distraire les patients qui subissent des procédures pénibles ou qui ont peur d'en avoir peur. la douleur, comme dans le cas de certains traitements médicaux, de petites interventions chirurgicales, de certains tests de diagnostic, etc.

Ce programme, d’une durée de trois heures, permet aux patients d’interagir avec une scène relaxante - il y en a huit au total - avec des lunettes 3D et une télécommande sans fil. L'utilisation de ce logiciel est particulièrement recommandée lors de traitements dentaires, d'interventions sous anesthésie locale, lors de tests de diagnostic douloureux ou douloureux, tels qu'une biopsie, ainsi que dans les unités de traitement de la douleur et les patients suivis de traitements chroniques.

Source: Société espagnole pour l'étude de l'anxiété et du stress (SEAS)

Ondes cérébrales - Battements binaural ondes Alpha, Theta and Delta. Relaxation et sommeil (Août 2019).