Today, April 25, it commemorates the World Malaria Day, a disease to which half of the world's population is exposed, some 3.5 billion people, as the World Health Organization (WHO) has warned today. The malaria or malaria causes about 800,000 deaths each year. Most people at risk and affected live in the poorest countries on earth.

For this reason, WHO has called for stronger efforts to effectively control the disease, and for new donors to join the World Alliance Against Malaria.

Malaria is caused by a parasite called Plasmodium, which is transmitted through the bite of infected mosquitoes and, once in the human body, multiplies in the liver and then infects red blood cells.

Between the most frequent symptoms of the disease are fever, headaches and vomiting, which usually appear between 10 and 15 days after the bite of the mosquito. If left untreated, malaria can endanger the patient's life in a short time, as it alters the blood supply to vital organs.

One of the main problems faced by health systems is that in many areas of the world the parasites have become resistant to some of the existing antimalarial treatments. For this reason, more and more, it is proposed to spread a fast and effective treatment with combinations of medications based on artemisinin, use of mosquito nets impregnated with insecticide by people at risk and the fumigation of the closed spaces with insecticides of residual action, in order to control the mosquito vectors.

Source: WHO / EP

Genetic Engineering and Diseases – Gene Drive & Malaria (November 2019).

Aujourd'hui, le 25 avril, il commémore le Journée mondiale du paludisme, une maladie à laquelle environ la moitié de la population mondiale est exposée, soit 3,5 milliards de personnes, comme l’a prévenu l’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) aujourd’hui. Le paludisme ou paludisme provoque environ 800 000 décès chaque année. La plupart des personnes à risque et touchées vivent dans les pays les plus pauvres de la planète.

Pour cette raison, l’OMS a appelé à des efforts plus soutenus pour lutter efficacement contre la maladie et à l’inclusion de nouveaux donateurs dans l’Alliance mondiale contre le paludisme.

Le paludisme est causé par un parasite appelé Plasmodium, qui se transmet par la piqûre d'un moustique infecté et qui, une fois dans le corps humain, se multiplie dans le foie et infecte ensuite les globules rouges.

Parmi les symptômes les plus fréquents de la maladie sont de la fièvre, des maux de tête et des vomissements, qui apparaissent généralement entre 10 et 15 jours après la piqûre du moustique. S'il n'est pas traité, le paludisme peut mettre rapidement la vie du patient en danger, car il modifie l'apport sanguin aux organes vitaux.

L'un des principaux problèmes auxquels sont confrontés les systèmes de santé est que, dans de nombreuses régions du monde, les parasites sont devenus résistants à certains traitements antipaludiques existants. Pour cette raison, de plus en plus, il est proposé d’étendre un traitement rapide et efficace avec combinaisons de médicaments à base d'artémisinine, utilisation de moustiquaires imprégné d’insecticide par les personnes à risque et le fumigation des espaces fermés avec des insecticides d'action résiduelle, afin de contrôler les vecteurs moustiques.

Source: OMS / EP

Kenya : sur la piste du Paludisme (Cycle, symptômes, prévention) [English sub] (Août 2019).