Thyroid disorders are underdiagnosed in Spain, according to experts in the field, and between 25 and 50% of people who suffer from any of these diseases do not know.

This has been pointed out by Dr. Lluís Vila, coordinator of the working group of Iodine deficiency and thyroid dysfunction, at the inaugural press conference of the 53rd Congress of the Spanish Society of Endocrinology and Nutrition (SEEN) held this week in Santiago de Compostela.

Dr. Lluís Vila has insisted on the need to raise awareness in society about the consequences that this type of pathology can have, and during the International Thyroid Week, which has been held in parallel to the congress, a tent has been placed in the Paseo de la Alameda Compostelana, to inform about the thyroid gland and about the adequate consumption of iodine.

It is a pathology that especially affects pregnant women, and it is recommended that women "get screened before they become pregnant"

According to Dr. Vila explained, it is a pathology that affects pregnant women especially, so it is recommended that women "be screened before becoming pregnant."

He has also emphasized the importance of iodine in nutrition for thyroid function. In this regard, he stressed that in the last ten years has been a "positive change" in the child population of Galicia, and has advanced that they are finalizing a study, conducted in Spain with about 3,000 children, which has been observed that iodine levels among the youngest are "quite correct" compared to those of a decade ago. "There has been a qualitative leap," he has sentenced.

Obesity alert in Spain

On the other hand, the president of the organizing committee of the congress and professor of the University of Santiago, Felipe Casanueva, has warned about the seriousness of the prevalence of obesity among the Spanish population, with an average rate of 28%, which implies eight million people, and that has a lower incidence among those under 45 years and a higher rate in older people.

Casanueva has been convinced that "in a moment the politicians will be convinced that it is a silent emergency", since the figures are enormously worrying "and has warned that in the child population the incidence" is very high ".

The specialist has pointed out that the highest rate of obesity is presented by the Mediterranean countries -between which Spain is included-, which is why he has advocated "convincing" the population that there is a "huge problem" and why the authorities put in place "structured plans to tackle the problem".

In this line, Dr. Casanueva recalled that obesity also contributes to increase the number of patients with diabetes, pathology that is related to obesity in 90% of cases, as specified.

Thyroid problems - most common thyroid problems, symptoms and treatment (November 2019).

Les troubles thyroïdiens sont sous-diagnostiqués en Espagne, selon les experts du domaine, et entre 25 et 50% des personnes atteintes de ces maladies ne le savent pas.

Le Dr Lluís Vila, coordinateur du groupe de travail du Carence en iode et dysfonctionnement thyroïdien, lors de la conférence de presse inaugurale du 53e Congrès de la Société espagnole d’endocrinologie et de nutrition (SEEN) qui s’est tenue cette semaine à Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle.

Le Dr Lluís Vila a insisté sur la nécessité de sensibiliser la société aux conséquences que ce type de pathologie peut avoir, et lors de la Semaine internationale de la thyroïde, organisée parallèlement au congrès, une tente a été installée Paseo de la Alameda Compostelana, pour informer sur la glande thyroïde et sur la consommation adéquate d'iode.

C'est une pathologie qui affecte particulièrement les femmes enceintes et il est recommandé que les femmes "subissent un test de dépistage avant de devenir enceintes".

Selon le Dr Vila, c'est une pathologie qui affecte particulièrement les femmes enceintes, il est donc recommandé que les femmes "subissent un dépistage avant de devenir enceintes".

Il a également souligné l'importance de l'iode dans la nutrition pour la fonction thyroïdienne. À cet égard, il a souligné qu'au cours des dix dernières années, la population infantile de Galice avait constitué un "changement positif" et avait avancé qu'elle finalisait actuellement une étude menée en Espagne auprès de 3 000 enfants environ. les niveaux d'iode chez les plus jeunes sont "tout à fait correct" par rapport à ceux d'il y a dix ans. "Il y a eu un saut qualitatif", a-t-il condamné.

Alerte à l'obésité en Espagne

De son côté, le président du comité organisateur du congrès et professeur à l'Université de Santiago, Felipe Casanueva, a mis en garde sur la gravité de la prévalence de l'obésité parmi la population espagnole, avec un taux moyen de 28%, ce qui implique huit millions de personneset qui a une incidence plus faible chez les moins de 45 ans et un taux plus élevé chez les personnes âgées.

Casanueva a été convaincu qu '"dans un instant, les politiciens seront convaincus qu'il s'agit d'une urgence silencieuse", car les chiffres sont extrêmement inquiétants "et a averti que l'incidence chez les enfants est" très élevée ".

Le spécialiste a souligné que le taux d'obésité le plus élevé est présenté par les pays méditerranéens - entre lesquels l'Espagne est incluse -, raison pour laquelle il a préconisé de "convaincre" la population qu'il existe un "problème énorme" et pourquoi les autorités mettre en place des "plans structurés pour faire face au problème".

Dans cette optique, le Dr Casanueva a rappelé que l'obésité contribuait également à augmenter le nombre de patients diabétiques, pathologie liée à l'obésité dans 90% des cas, comme spécifié.

Curación con Aminoácidos, por Adolfo Pérez Agustí (Septembre 2019).