A new virus that causes an acute respiratory syndrome with kidney failure, and that is similar to SARS, a form of pneumonia that presents with severe respiratory distress that can lead to death, has been detected in a healthy adult in Doha (Qatar) ), which manifested the first signs of the disease at the beginning of September.

The man was transferred to the United Kingdom, where the HPA - Health Protection Agency of the United Kingdom - analyzed a sample of the patient in which the new virus was identified, which was later compared with a virus extracted from lung tissue of another patient from Saudi Arabia who died after being admitted to the hospital. The researchers observed a 99.5% affinity between both samples.

The new virus is from the same family as the one that causes SARS, which in 2003 was identified as a new disease by the WHO, and infected thousands of people around the world

The new virus comes from the same family as the virus that causes SARS, which in 2003 was identified as a new disease by the World Health Organization (WHO). SARS infected thousands of people around the world, and around 800 died from its cause, so each new outbreak of an infectious disease similar to this triggers health alarms and, at this time, the WHO is collecting information on the virus to define the possible consequences that could have on public health.

Although at the moment only two affected are known, the WHO has asked the health authorities of the various countries to remain alert and suspect the possible presence of the virus in people with symptoms such as acute respiratory distress accompanied by fever above 38 ° C and cough, especially if they have recently traveled to Saudi Arabia.

Novel Coronavirus -- What Clinicians and Laboratorians Should Know (November 2019).

Un nouveau virus causant un syndrome respiratoire aigu avec insuffisance rénale et similaire au SRAS, une forme de pneumonie entraînant une détresse respiratoire grave pouvant entraîner la mort, a été détecté chez un adulte en bonne santé à Doha (Qatar) ), qui a manifesté les premiers signes de la maladie début septembre.

L'homme a été transféré au Royaume-Uni, où la HPA - Agence de protection de la santé du Royaume-Uni - a analysé un échantillon du patient dans lequel le nouveau virus a été identifié, qui a ensuite été comparé à un virus extrait de tissu pulmonaire. d’un autre patient d’Arabie saoudite décédé après son admission à l’hôpital. Les chercheurs ont observé une affinité de 99,5% entre les deux échantillons.

Le nouveau virus appartient à la même famille que celui qui cause le SRAS, qui a été identifié en 2003 comme une nouvelle maladie par l'OMS et qui a infecté des milliers de personnes dans le monde.

Le nouveau virus provient de la même famille que le virus qui cause le SRAS, qui avait été identifié en 2003 comme une nouvelle maladie par l'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS). Le SRAS a infecté des milliers de personnes dans le monde et près de 800 personnes en sont mortes. Ainsi, chaque nouvelle épidémie de maladie infectieuse semblable à celle-ci déclenche des alarmes sanitaires et, à l'heure actuelle, l'OMS collecte des informations sur: le virus pour définir les conséquences possibles sur la santé publique.

Bien que l'on ne connaisse pour l'instant que deux personnes affectées, l'OMS a demandé aux autorités sanitaires des différents pays de rester vigilantes et de suspecter la présence possible du virus chez des personnes présentant des symptômes tels qu'une détresse respiratoire aiguë accompagnée d'une fièvre supérieure à 38 ° C. toux, surtout s’ils ont récemment voyagé en Arabie saoudite.

Un virus "moins transmissible, moins virulent" que le SRAS (Août 2019).