Alcohol is a toxic substance that harms the body, and an abuse of its consumption is associated with the appearance of more than 60 diseases. Alcohol addiction is, in fact, a serious social and health problem in Spain, since it is estimated that 60 percent of people over 16 consume alcohol regularly In our country, also 60 percent of adolescents between 14 and 18 years old admit to having been drunk at some time, and it is considered that more than 5% of Spaniards are risk drinkers, because they consume an excessive amount of alcohol.

Alcoholism has been, precisely, one of the topics that have been discussed during the National Congress that the Spanish Society of Internal Medicine (SEMI) has recently held in the Canary Islands, because this pathology can be studied and treated in the field of Internal Medicine . And is that excessive and chronic alcohol consumption affects a large number of organs and body systems, triggering various diseases, such as cirrhosis, hepatic steatosis, pancreatitis, neurological problems and cardiovascular disorders (arrhythmias, hypertension ...).

The Dr. Javier Laso, coordinator of the Alcohol and Alcoholism Working Group of the SEMI, warning that young people and adolescents who usually consume alcohol in the form of binge-eating, what is known by the English term binge drinking, are especially vulnerable to the effects of this toxic, and those most likely to develop alcohol dependence are those who begin drinking at an earlier age.

Chronic alcoholism and malnutrition

Another serious problem associated with the abuse of alcohol for years is undoubtedly malnutrition, which is estimated to affect a third of alcoholic patients admitted to a hospital. The greater the daily intake of alcohol and the longer it is consumed (for example, more than 200 g / day over 20 years), the worse the patient's nutritional status, which is also directly related to the deterioration of alcohol. the family, social and work relationships of the patient that normally causes alcoholism, and which results in inadequate life habits and a deficient and unbalanced diet.

Young people who usually consume alcohol in the form of binge eating, which is known as 'binge drinking', are the most susceptible to developing alcohol dependence

A European study, the Vintage Report, has investigated The impact of alcohol consumption in people over 65, because it is a population group that especially affects nutritional problems, and has found that alcohol negatively affects the nutrition of the elderly, causing them a deficit of B vitamins and other micronutrients.

A moderate and responsible consumption of alcohol, however, can be healthy. Thus, according to data from a study led by researchers from the Hospital Clínic de Barcelona, ​​called PREDIMED (Prevention with Mediterranean Diet), the daily intake of 10 grams of alcohol (equivalent to a beer) in women and 20 grams (two rods) ) in men, as long as this consumption is accompanied by a Mediterranean diet, exerts a preventive action against cardiovascular diseases.

Source: Spanish Society of Internal Medicine (SEMI)

Binge Drinking (November 2019).

L'alcool est une substance toxique qui nuit à l'organisme. L'abus de sa consommation est associé à l'apparition de plus de 60 maladies. L’alcoolisme est en réalité un grave problème social et de santé en Espagne, puisqu’il est estimé que 60% des personnes de plus de 16 ans consomment de l'alcool régulièrement Dans notre pays, 60% des adolescents âgés de 14 à 18 ans admettent également avoir été ivres à un moment donné et on estime que plus de 5% des Espagnols sont des buveurs à risque, car ils consomment une quantité excessive d'alcool.

L'alcoolisme a été précisément l'un des sujets discutés récemment lors du Congrès national organisé récemment par la Société espagnole de médecine interne (SEMI) aux îles Canaries, car cette pathologie peut être étudiée et traitée dans le domaine de la médecine interne. . Et c’est que la consommation excessive et chronique d’alcool affecte un grand nombre d’organes et de systèmes du corps, provoquant diverses maladies, telles que la cirrhose, la stéatose hépatique, la pancréatite, des problèmes neurologiques et des troubles cardiovasculaires (arythmies, hypertension, etc.).

Le Dr. Javier Laso, coordinateur du groupe de travail sur l’alcoolisme et l’alcoolisme de la SEMI, avertissant que les jeunes et les adolescents qui consomment habituellement de l’alcool sous forme de frénésie alimentaire, terme connu sous le terme anglais consommation excessive d'alcool, sont particulièrement vulnérables aux effets de cette substance toxique, et les personnes les plus susceptibles de développer une dépendance à l'alcool sont celles qui commencent à boire plus tôt.

Alcoolisme chronique et malnutrition

Un autre problème grave lié à l'abus d'alcool pendant des années est sans aucun doute la malnutrition, qui toucherait un tiers des patients alcooliques admis à l'hôpital. Plus la consommation quotidienne d’alcool est importante et longue, (par exemple, plus de 200 g / jour sur 20 ans), plus l’état nutritionnel du patient se dégrade, ce qui est également directement lié à la détérioration de l’alcool. les relations familiales, sociales et professionnelles du patient qui causent normalement de l'alcoolisme et qui entraînent des habitudes de vie inadéquates et un régime alimentaire déficient et déséquilibré.

Les jeunes qui consomment habituellement de l'alcool sous forme de frénésie alimentaire, appelé «beuverie», sont les plus susceptibles de développer une dépendance à l'alcool.

Une étude européenne, le Vintage Report, a enquêté sur L'impact de la consommation d'alcool chez les personnes de plus de 65 ans, parce qu’il s’agit d’un groupe de la population qui affecte particulièrement les problèmes nutritionnels et a constaté que l’alcool avait des effets néfastes sur l’alimentation des personnes âgées, ce qui leur causait un déficit en vitamines B et autres micronutriments.

Une consommation modérée et responsable d'alcool peut cependant être saine. Ainsi, selon les données d’une étude menée par des chercheurs de l’Hôpital Clínic de Barcelone, appelée PREDIMED (Prévention de la diète méditerranéenne), la consommation quotidienne de 10 grammes d’alcool (équivalent à une bière) chez les femmes et de 20 grammes (deux tiges) ) chez les hommes, tant que cette consommation est accompagnée d'un régime méditerranéen, exerce une action préventive contre les maladies cardiovasculaires.

Source: Société espagnole de médecine interne (SEMI)

Les effets et risques de l'alcool expliqué par le psy (Août 2019).