Throughout this last year, several advances in the diagnosis and treatment of Parkinson's disease have been reported. "Among the most important, the obtaining of dopaminergic neurons from cell reprogramming techniques. This finding opens a great door to investigate the mechanisms of neuronal degeneration and the effectiveness of new drugs, "says Dr. Gurutz Linazasoro, director of the Parkinson's Research Center of the Gipuzkoa Polyclinic of San Sebastian.

In parallel, a study has shown that moderate physical exercise, such as walking eight kilometers a week, reduces the risk of suffering from Parkinson's disease in the future. "Although it may seem inconsequential, the results of the study can help promote healthy lifestyles", continues the specialist.

When analyzing progress towards a possible cure for Parkinson's, Dr. Linazasoro points out that "Curing involves knowing the cause of the disease and this is a very complex issue because genetic and environmental factors are involved that constitute a very difficult puzzle to fit. However, although I do not see the cure very close, there are reasons to be prudently optimistic, since advances in biology depend on advances in technology and, in this sense, they occur at a vertigo speed ".

Source: Spanish Parkinson's Federation

Parkinson's Disease Treatment -- Mayo Clinic (November 2019).

Au cours de cette dernière année, plusieurs progrès dans le diagnostic et le traitement de la maladie de Parkinson ont été rapportés. "Parmi les plus importants, l’obtention de neurones dopaminergiques à partir de techniques de reprogrammation cellulaire. Cette découverte ouvre une grande porte pour étudier les mécanismes de la dégénérescence neuronale et l'efficacité de nouveaux médicaments ", a déclaré le Dr Gurutz Linazasoro, directeur du Centre de recherche sur la maladie de Parkinson de la polyclinique Gipuzkoa de San Sebastian.

En parallèle, une étude a montré qu'un exercice physique modéré, comme marcher huit kilomètres par semaine, réduit le risque de souffrir de la maladie de Parkinson à l'avenir. "Bien que cela puisse sembler sans importance, les résultats de l'étude peuvent aider à promouvoir des modes de vie sains", continue le spécialiste.

Lors de l’analyse des progrès réalisés vers un traitement possible de la maladie de Parkinson, le Dr Linazasoro a souligné que "Pour guérir, il faut connaître la cause de la maladie. Il s’agit d’un problème très complexe, car des facteurs génétiques et environnementaux entrent en jeu et constituent un casse-tête très difficile à résoudre. Cependant, bien que je ne voie pas le traitement très proche, il existe des raisons d’être prudemment optimiste, car les progrès de la biologie dépendent des progrès de la technologie et, en ce sens, ils se produisent à une vitesse vertigineuse ".

Source: Fédération espagnole de Parkinson

Quels traitements contre Parkinson ? (Septembre 2019).