Thanks to the advances that have taken place in the field of genetics and, in particular, in the field of cytogenetics - which deals with the study of chromosomes - now many hematological neoplasms, such as acute myeloid and lymphoid leukemias, leukemias chronic lymphatics or myelodysplastic syndromes, can be diagnosed with methods that are based on the genetic alterations that these pathologies present.

The progress made in the cytogenetic techniques Not only have they facilitated the detection of malignant hemopathies, but they have also made it possible to identify the various types of genetic alterations involved in the most aggressive blood cancer and, in this way, be able to adjust the treatment of affected patients, improving the prognosis of the disease.

The advance of cytogenetic techniques has made it possible to identify the different types of genetic alterations involved in the most aggressive blood cancer, which allows adjusting the treatment and improving the prognosis of the disease.

Currently, two cytogenetic techniques are used to diagnose an important group of malignant hemopathies: the Conventional Cytogenetics with G bands, with which genetic alterations of great magnitude are analyzed at the chromosomal level, explains Dr. Blanca Espinet, coordinator of the Group. Spanish Cooperative of Hematological Cytogenetics of the Spanish Society of Hematology and Hemotherapy-, and the Fluorescent In Situ Hybridization (FISH) technique, with which smaller genetic alterations can be observed in specific areas.

The expert points out, however, that there are still difficulties in diagnosing certain types of blood cancer that do not manifest any alteration that can be identified by cytogenetic techniques, but it is expected that the new techniques, which allow deciphering the human genome complete, contribute to solve this challenge.

Dr. Espinet also trusts that a deeper knowledge of the genetic and molecular mechanisms involved in the development of hematological malignancies will facilitate the design of new medicines more effective in the treatment of these neoplasms.

More information at: www.gcecgh.org

Source: Spanish Cooperative Group of Hematological Cytogenetics (GCECGH) of the Spanish Society of Hematology and Hemotherapy (SEHH)

Advances in Treatments of Blood Cancers (including Immunotherapy) (November 2019).

Grâce aux progrès réalisés dans le domaine de la génétique et en particulier dans celui de la cytogénétique - qui concerne l’étude des chromosomes - de nombreux néoplasmes hématologiques, tels que les leucémies aiguës myéloïdes et lymphoïdes, les leucémies lymphatiques chroniques ou syndromes myélodysplasiques, peuvent être diagnostiqués avec des méthodes basées sur les altérations génétiques que ces pathologies présentent.

Les progrès réalisés dans le techniques cytogénétiques Ils ont non seulement facilité la détection des hémopathies malignes, mais ils ont également permis d'identifier les différents types d'altérations génétiques impliquées dans les cancers du sang les plus agressifs et ainsi de pouvoir ajuster le traitement des patients atteints, améliorant ainsi le pronostic du cancer du sang. maladie

L'avancée des techniques cytogénétiques a permis d'identifier les différents types d'altérations génétiques impliquées dans les cancers du sang les plus agressifs, ce qui permet d'ajuster le traitement et d'améliorer le pronostic de la maladie.

Actuellement, deux techniques cytogénétiques sont utilisées pour diagnostiquer un groupe important d'hémopathies malignes: la cytogénétique conventionnelle avec bandes G, avec laquelle des altérations génétiques de grande ampleur sont analysées au niveau chromosomique, explique le Dr Blanca Espinet, coordinatrice du groupe. Coopérative espagnole de cytogénétique hématologique de la société espagnole d'hématologie et d'hémothérapie et de la technique d'hybridation fluorescente in situ (FISH), avec laquelle de plus petites altérations génétiques peuvent être observées dans des zones spécifiques.

L’expert souligne cependant qu’il reste difficile de diagnostiquer certains types de cancer du sang ne présentant aucune altération pouvant être identifiée par des techniques cytogénétiques, mais il est prévu que les nouvelles techniques permettant de déchiffrer la génome humain compléter, contribuer à résoudre ce défi.

Le Dr Espinet espère également qu’une connaissance plus approfondie des mécanismes génétiques et moléculaires impliqués dans le développement des hémopathies malignes facilitera la conception de nouveaux médicaments. des médicaments plus efficace dans le traitement de ces néoplasmes.

Plus d'informations sur: www.gcecgh.org

Source: Groupe coopératif espagnol de cytogénétique hématologique (GCECGH) de la Société espagnole d'hématologie et d'hémothérapie (SEHH)

Le cancer du sein du diagnostic au traitement loco-régional (Août 2019).