A new study, conducted by North American researchers, has confirmed the results of previous research, which revealed that adults who suffer from attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) are more likely to suffer addictions, their economic level is lower and they divorce more. than the rest of the population, which puts them at greater risk of social exclusion.

The research, which has been published in the Archives of General Psychiatry, is, until now, the largest follow-up study in time for children diagnosed with ADHD while they were still in school. To carry out the study, 135 white, middle-class males were selected, who were detected hyperactivity and attention deficit in 1970. They began to be controlled by the authors of the study when they were 18 years old, and were compared with another group. of the same age and conditions, who had not had problems during their school years.

Among adults who had been diagnosed with ADHD in childhood there were more cases of divorce, drug addiction and antisocial behavior

When the men of both groups turned 41, they answered some questions about how their life had progressed. The data revealed that children who had been diagnosed with ADHD left school, on average, 2.5 years earlier, and only 4% of them attended higher education compared to 29% of those in the control group.

There were also wage differences between both groups: an average of 134,000 euros in the control group, compared to 73,000 euros on average in those diagnosed with ADHD. A third of the latter, in addition, had been in prison at some time in their lives, three times as many cases as in the control group. The researchers note that they also found more cases of divorce, drug addiction and antisocial behavior among hyperactive people.

Based on a very small sample of the population, the study does not clarify why these patients are more at risk of suffering addictions, although, as explained by Rachel Klein, professor of child and adolescent psychiatry at New York University Langone Medical Center in New York (United States). ), the impulsivity that characterizes people with ADHD makes them more prone to the consumption of addictive substances.

Although ADHD currently has no cure, it is possible to keep the symptoms under control with a hyperactivity treatment that combines medications and behavioral therapy. Klein points out that the important thing is to intervene as soon as there are signs of antisocial behavior, and to maintain the treatment of these children, attending to their specific needs, both in the educational environment and in the family environment, to prevent the disorder from continuing to cause problems. when you reach adulthood.

Understanding Girls with ADHD (November 2019).

Une nouvelle étude, menée par des chercheurs nord-américains, a confirmé les résultats de recherches antérieures, qui ont révélé que les adultes souffrant du trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention (TDAH) sont plus susceptibles de souffrir de dépendances, que leur niveau économique est faible et qu'ils divorcent davantage. que le reste de la population, ce qui les expose davantage à l’exclusion sociale.

La recherche, qui a été publiée dans les Archives de psychiatrie générale, est jusqu'à présent la plus grande étude de suivi réalisée à temps pour les enfants atteints de TDAH alors qu'ils étaient encore à l'école. Pour mener à bien cette étude, 135 hommes de race blanche appartenant à la classe moyenne ont été détectés. Ils ont été détectés en 1970. Ils ont commencé à être contrôlés par les auteurs de l'étude à l'âge de 18 ans et ont été comparés à un autre groupe. du même âge et des mêmes conditions, qui n’avaient pas eu de problèmes pendant leurs années scolaires.

Parmi les adultes chez qui on avait diagnostiqué le TDAH dans l'enfance, il y avait plus de cas de divorce, de toxicomanie et de comportement antisocial

Lorsque les hommes des deux groupes ont eu 41 ans, ils ont répondu à quelques questions sur l'évolution de leur vie. Les données ont révélé que les enfants chez qui on avait diagnostiqué un TDAH avaient quitté l'école, en moyenne, deux ans et demi plus tôt et que 4% seulement d'entre eux fréquentaient l'enseignement supérieur, contre 29% de ceux du groupe témoin.

Il y avait aussi des différences de salaires entre les deux groupes: une moyenne de 134 000 euros dans le groupe témoin, comparée à 73 000 euros en moyenne chez ceux ayant reçu un diagnostic de TDAH. En outre, un tiers de ces derniers ont été emprisonnés à un moment de leur vie, soit trois fois plus que dans le groupe témoin. Les chercheurs notent qu'ils ont également constaté davantage de cas de divorce, de toxicomanie et de comportement antisocial chez des personnes hyperactives.

Basée sur un très petit échantillon de la population, l’étude ne précise pas pourquoi ces patients risquent davantage de souffrir de dépendance, bien que, comme l’a expliqué Rachel Klein, professeur de psychiatrie pour enfants et adolescents au Centre médical Langone de l’Université de New York à New York (États-Unis). ), l’impulsivité qui caractérise les personnes atteintes de TDAH les rend plus sujettes à la consommation de substances addictives.

Bien que le TDAH n’ait actuellement pas de traitement curatif, il est possible de maîtriser les symptômes grâce à un traitement de l’hyperactivité associant médicaments et thérapie comportementale. Klein souligne que l'important est d'intervenir dès qu'il y a des signes de comportement antisocial et de maintenir le traitement de ces enfants, répondant à leurs besoins spécifiques, à la fois dans l'environnement éducatif et dans l'environnement familial, pour éviter que la maladie ne continue à causer des problèmes. quand tu atteins l'âge adulte.

ZEITGEIST : MOVING FORWARD 時代の精神 日本語字幕 CC版 (Août 2019).