The F.C. Barcelona announced yesterday in a brief press release that the 31-year-old French defender, Eric Abidal, I suffered a tumor in the liver that will be urgently operated this Thursday by Dr. Josep Fuster Obregon at the BarnaClínic, Hospital Clinic group in Barcelona. Detected during the routine tests to which the entire Barcelona team is subjected, it will be necessary to wait for the biopsy to know the degree of severity of the tumor and the consequent procedure to treat it. What does seem clear is that the Frenchman will miss the remainder of the season.

The club blaugrana has not explained the origin of the tumor, but has hastened to request "maximum respect for the right to privacy" of the player. In addition, he has proposed to hobbies that want to send a message of support through the social network twitter that uses the motive '#animsabidal'. A few hours after the news was known, there were many signs of encouragement sent by players from rival clubs.

Other footballers, such as the Bulgarian Lubo Penev or the goalkeepers Sergio Aragoneses, Mono Burgos or the Spanish team José Francisco Molina, already had a cancer before and they returned to play after recovering satisfactorily.

Photography: Mutari

Abidal shares photo of his cousin in hospital in response to liver allegations (November 2019).

Le F.C. Barcelone a annoncé hier dans un communiqué de presse que le défenseur français âgé de 31 ans, Eric AbidalJ'ai eu une tumeur au foie qui sera opérée de manière urgente jeudi par le Dr Josep Fuster Obregon du groupe de cliniques hospitalières BarnaClínic de Barcelone. Détecté lors des tests de routine auxquels toute l'équipe de Barcelone est soumise, il faudra attendre la biopsie pour connaître le degré de gravité de la tumeur et la procédure de traitement à suivre. Ce qui semble clair, c'est que le Français va rater le reste de la saison.

Le club blaugrana n'a pas expliqué l'origine de la tumeur, mais s'est empressé de demander "le maximum de respect pour le droit à la vie privée" du joueur. En outre, il a proposé aux hobbies qui souhaitent envoyer un message de soutien via le réseau social Twitter qui utilise le motif "#animsabidal". Quelques heures après l'annonce de la nouvelle, de nombreux signes d'encouragement ont été envoyés par les joueurs de clubs rivaux.

D'autres footballeurs, comme le Bulgare Lubo Penev ou les gardiens de but Sergio Aragoneses, Mono Burgos ou l'équipe espagnole José Francisco Molina, avaient déjà eu un cancer auparavant et ils sont revenus au jeu après une récupération satisfaisante.

Photographie: Mutari

Eric Abidal opéré d'une tumeur au foie (Lyon) (Août 2019).