Practicing physical exercise on a regular and supervised basis could help people suffering from anorexia nervosa to improve their self-esteem and self-image, as well as reduce their emotional problems and facilitate their adaptation to the feedback treatments.

These are the conclusions, at least, of a study carried out by scientists from the Polytechnic University of Madrid, the European University and the Niño Jesús University Children's Hospital in Madrid.

Excessive exercise is one of the causes of anorexia nervosa and is related to a worse prognosis of this condition. But in previous studies it had been observed that the practice of supervised physical exercise produced benefits in the health of these patients.

The severe malnutrition that people with this disorder present causes many health disorders, including muscle atrophy, which also decreases their level of strength. Thus, a training to improve strength could be very suitable for them. Especially taking into account that the energy expenditure that it causes is less than what would be produced by doing aerobic exercises, and that a double objective is achieved, since it also favors the density of bone mass.

Researchers conducted a study to test the effectiveness of low-intensity strength training - two sessions a week for three months - on the muscle power, body mass and functional capacity of a group of 22 young people, whose ages ranged between 13 and 15 years old.

The training program was well tolerated by the participants, and did not have negative effects on their health nor did it cause significant losses of body mass. In addition, the authors of the work indicated that this training did not alter the patient's ability to gain or maintain weight, which means that its clinical application could be viable.

EUROPE PRESS

Bulimia and Binge Eating in Teens: What We Know and What To Do (November 2019).

L'exercice physique régulier et supervisé pourrait aider les personnes souffrant d'anorexie mentale à améliorer leur estime de soi et leur image de soi, à réduire leurs problèmes émotionnels et à faciliter leur adaptation aux traitements de rétroaction.

Telles sont au moins les conclusions d'une étude réalisée par des scientifiques de l'Université polytechnique de Madrid, de l'Université européenne et de l'Hôpital universitaire pour enfants Niño Jesús de Madrid.

L'exercice excessif est l'une des causes de l'anorexie mentale et est lié à un pire pronostic de cette maladie. Mais dans des études précédentes, il avait été observé que la pratique de l'exercice physique supervisé avait des effets bénéfiques sur la santé de ces patients.

La malnutrition sévère que présentent les personnes atteintes de ce trouble provoque de nombreux troubles de la santé, notamment une atrophie musculaire, qui diminue également leur force. Ainsi, un entraînement pour améliorer la force pourrait très bien leur convenir. Surtout en tenant compte du fait que la dépense énergétique qu'elle engendre est inférieure à celle que produiraient des exercices d'aérobic, et qu'un double objectif est atteint, dans la mesure où cela favorise également la densité de la masse osseuse.

Les chercheurs ont mené une étude visant à tester l'efficacité de l'entraînement en force à basse intensité - deux séances par semaine pendant trois mois - sur la puissance musculaire, la masse corporelle et la capacité fonctionnelle d'un groupe de 22 jeunes, d'âge entre 13 et 15 ans.

Le programme de formation a été bien toléré par les participants et n’a pas eu d’effets négatifs sur leur santé ni sur la perte de masse corporelle. En outre, les auteurs du travail ont indiqué que cette formation ne modifiait pas la capacité du patient à prendre du poids ou à le maintenir, ce qui signifie que son application clinique pourrait être viable.

EUROPE PRESSE

8 astuces MINCEUR | Comment perdre du poids sainement et sans régime ? (Août 2019).